We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock and Roll Room Rocked!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Retro Suites Hotel
Save
You added Retro Suites Hotel to your Saves list
2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Chatham, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rock and Roll Room Rocked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Retro Suites hotel is a hidden gem. It's specialty themed rooms and it's unique art make it a truly one of a kind stay. Anyone with the love of music would enjoy the special show posters decorating this room. Custom signed instruments adorn the walls. As with every room, there is a kitchen with all that you would need. The huge walk in shower has a great rain shower head. This is one of the rooms with a Juliet balcony.

Room Tip: Go on line and every room is highlighted so you can chose your fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
75
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed for one night only but this is a must-see! Bring a camera as you'd wanna take a picture at every turn. Very good preservation job of the building. Interesting art pieces. It's great to know that a place like this exists in Ontario. The $5 classic breakfast by the hotel is just an added bonus. Home fries has very good texture but a little salty. Coffee was okay but with $5, you cannot go wrong. The room themes all looked very interesting. Rooms were spacious but weird not to have a study table inside the room. The only 2 downside for me was the key card did not always work and there was something itchy about the bed sheet but very comfy bed overall. The hotel is beautiful! Made me wish I knew about this place before I got married. Would definitely come back next time we're in the area!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Every detail was exceptional. Santa Fe room was calming & spacious. Staff was extremely professional and welcoming. Eclectic decor & artwork throughout hotel. Amazing experience. Will definately return.

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme. Select a theme room related to your likes and preferences. Additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first stay at the Retro Suites Hotel. We loved the inconic, eye-catching touches everywhere we looked. We appreciated the free water, wifi, and breakfast. Our room (airplane theme) was large, well lit and comfortable.

The gentleman at the front desk was helpful and followed up on our requests, assuring us that if we needed anything else, he was happy to help. We are picky travelers so giving this property a 5 star is significant.

We plan to return to a different suite, bring our friends, and explore the city of Chatham!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine. Recommend going online to see what kind of "themed" room tickle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staples ,On
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not too far from home but a nice little get away . The easy rider suite was really cool and it was very nice that everything was included free waters ,free popcorn. There is a lot of different suite to pick from .Go and pick one .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Retro Suites a few weeks ago. We were attending a wedding at the Armouries.
We were able to walk to the wedding venue.
Our Room exceeded our expectations.
The pictures posted on the web site do not reflect how well appointed the rooms are.
Our room was huge. It was also very quiet. The bathroom had double basins, a soaking tub and a walk in shower.
Parking is included. Be sure to ask about the golf package if you're staying there on a weekend.
E & T

Room Tip: Ask about the golf package on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is located in an older building in what I perceived as the old downtown. The lobby is good size decorated with many art pieces Art Deco and also reminiscing of the 40's and 50's. Lady at front desk was real polite and helpful directing us to our room and advising of parking facilities nearby. Our room was a good size with high ceiling nicely decorated in pastel blues and pinkish colors with a big bathroom with the same theme being repeated in there with period yellows. Small fridge, micro wave , plates , wine glasses everything was there. TV was good size. The bed was too soft to my taste but the noise was very limited affording a very quiet night. The included breakfast in the restaurant downstairs gave a couple of good choices. Prior to leaving we asked the man at the front desk for things to do and see on our way to destinations and he gave us advice that proved to be fabulous and took several minutes of his time to help. Great service !! Overall would recommend it to anyone looking for something different than the big chain and providing an European like experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retro Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.