We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful space and amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Retro Suites Hotel
Save
You added Retro Suites Hotel to your Saves list
2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful space and amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first stay at the Retro Suites Hotel. We loved the inconic, eye-catching touches everywhere we looked. We appreciated the free water, wifi, and breakfast. Our room (airplane theme) was large, well lit and comfortable.

The gentleman at the front desk was helpful and followed up on our requests, assuring us that if we needed anything else, he was happy to help. We are picky travelers so giving this property a 5 star is significant.

We plan to return to a different suite, bring our friends, and explore the city of Chatham!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine. Recommend going online to see what kind of "themed" room tickle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
68
8
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staples ,On
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not too far from home but a nice little get away . The easy rider suite was really cool and it was very nice that everything was included free waters ,free popcorn. There is a lot of different suite to pick from .Go and pick one .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Retro Suites a few weeks ago. We were attending a wedding at the Armouries.
We were able to walk to the wedding venue.
Our Room exceeded our expectations.
The pictures posted on the web site do not reflect how well appointed the rooms are.
Our room was huge. It was also very quiet. The bathroom had double basins, a soaking tub and a walk in shower.
Parking is included. Be sure to ask about the golf package if you're staying there on a weekend.
E & T

Room Tip: Ask about the golf package on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is located in an older building in what I perceived as the old downtown. The lobby is good size decorated with many art pieces Art Deco and also reminiscing of the 40's and 50's. Lady at front desk was real polite and helpful directing us to our room and advising of parking facilities nearby. Our room was a good size with high ceiling nicely decorated in pastel blues and pinkish colors with a big bathroom with the same theme being repeated in there with period yellows. Small fridge, micro wave , plates , wine glasses everything was there. TV was good size. The bed was too soft to my taste but the noise was very limited affording a very quiet night. The included breakfast in the restaurant downstairs gave a couple of good choices. Prior to leaving we asked the man at the front desk for things to do and see on our way to destinations and he gave us advice that proved to be fabulous and took several minutes of his time to help. Great service !! Overall would recommend it to anyone looking for something different than the big chain and providing an European like experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Retro Suites on May 23-24, 2014. We went to a wedding at the Armouries so it was really convenient for us to be at a close walking distance.

We stayed in the Easy Rider room. The room was extremely clean and spacious! Loved the high ceilings and exposed brick. There were lots of great little touches, and the wet bar was awesome, and included a mini fridge, microwave and sink. Nice TV in the room as well. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was very nice as well, no tub but a huge shower. My only complaint about the room was the morning light. There were blinds on the windows but they did not do enough to block out the light- it was extremely bright at 7am. Curtains might be helpful. Other than that the room was great and full of character.

We had no problems finding parking, and the front desk staff was helpful and courteous.

We were able to see a few of the other rooms in the hotel and were also very impressed with them. Love how each room is different- makes you want to come back and stay in a different room.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend others to stay at this hotel- it is truly unique as well as comfortable. Pay the extra money and stay here instead of a shoebox hotel if you need a place to stay in Chatham!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in March upon recommendation and it is a great place! From the moment you walk in all you do is look around at the decor and all small collectables :) very unique style, great! The room was lovely as well, bathroom very new and huge shower cabin. There is a pub in the same building where you can order food, and a mall just 2 min down the road. Gym is not in the hotel, but in the mall building.
Overall great experience and looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I absolutely love everything about this hotel! I stayed in the room called "The Study" - beautifully decorated spacious room with a kitchenette and large bathroom. The room really makes you feel like you are at home rather than in a hotel. The service was excellent, everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. The food at the restuarant was delicious- we had a complimentary breakfast which was "the classic" on the menu.. Holiday Inn and similar hotels give you a complimentary breakfast that is garbage- mostly straight out of a cardboard box. This complimentary breakfast was of the same quality if not better than most breakfast restaurants. I will find excuses to go to Chatham just to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: "The Study" is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retro Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.