We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in Chatham???? yep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Retro Suites Hotel
Save
You added Retro Suites Hotel to your Saves list
2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
London, Canada
1 review
“in Chatham???? yep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

every thing about this hotel is amazing. friendly, fun, stylish and very clean. we were very impressed with this funky little hotel. only spent one night, but would go again in a heartbeat. felt like a luxury hotel all the way. and free breakfast! you have to check this place out

Room Tip: the pictures on the web site are true. the room we stayed in was picture perfect, just like on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
75
9
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. Did not feel that we were in Chatham! The dinner was fabulous at The Chilled Cork! Rooms very different and entertaining. Service excellent! Definitely will be back!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is one of the most unique hotels a person could ever stay at. Located in Chatham's downtown, the hotel has been completely upgraded and every room has its own special theme. We have stayed here a few times and every room has been excellent. The lower priced rooms are enjoyable and the most expensive rooms are outstanding (we asked to see them). Unbelievable deals on Sunday. Golf deal includes golf and cart for two, driving range, breakfast and room. Check out their web site for room themes and prices. Even the common areas are entertaining with dozens and dozens of unique pictures, locally made furniture, ornaments, etc. Parking available at no cost. A very special place.

Room Tip: Pick a room that has a theme that you like and fits your budget. You can't go wrong. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day event, held partially at Retro Suites. Wonderful historic building, with very modern/quirky interior. Lots of hallways with interesting art, artifacts, etc. Also held a meeting in their boardroom - lovely space and state of the art technology as well. Dinner and breakfasts for @ 80 attendees was well done, staff very helpful and event ran without a hitch. My suite was "The Study" - a great retreat from several very long and busy days onsite. As a professional event planner I can truly say this was a real gem of a place - if your travels take to you Chatham, Retro Suites is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we attended a Chatham wedding. This hotel is totally unique in that each room is different. Do you want a motorcycle room or a library theme. The staff are friendly and parking is close. This is the type of hotel you would expect to find in Toronto or NYC. A must stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A fabulous hotel! Clean, quiet, comfortable with excellent service. Each room has a unique theme. All rooms have extra quiet air conditioning, ultra clean bathrooms and very comfortable queen or king beds. Free long distance calling anywhere in North America, free WIFI, mini fridge, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, microwave and free popcorn plus a coffee maker.
We have traveled far and wide and have never found accommodation that is as nice as the "Retro Suites" hotel. We highly recommend this property if you are planning to stay in the Chatham-Kent area of Ontario

Room Tip: High ceilings; Huge windows; very quiet; excellent decor throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a surprise to find this very unique hotel that has original art and memoribilia everywhere. We were meeting another couple in Chatham and both staying at the Retro. Reservations gave us a great rate and we loved having a round of golf included as well as one breakfast. Our room was the Royal Plantation and was a duplex layout with kitchenette, 1 1/2 baths and a fireplace! Other couple stayed in the sleek, modern styled Manhattan. There were two weddings the three days we stayed and we never heard a sound. Front desk staff were very helpful telling about the hotel and area. We discovered a Classic Car museum associated with the hotel owner in nearby Blenheim and got a discount because we were at the hotel.
Only negative was that trains nearby while not noisey did cause our room to vibrate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retro Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.