We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-run establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kent Motel to your Saves list
Kent Motel
420 Grand Avenue East, Chatham, Ontario N7L 1X2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
new management new rooms
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family-run establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great family-run motel undergoing renovation since the start of the year - I think that's when the new owners took ownership of the property. The motel has a fairly high standard of cleanliness and offers excellent value for money. The family who owns / runs the property take a very keen interest - more than what you would expect in such establishments - in looking after their guests, and are always eager to help. The renovated rooms are very good indeed - I haven't seen any of the old rooms so can't offer any comparisons but the new rooms are very comfortable and clean. From what I understood, the property operates at near-full capacity so clearly the owners must be doing something right!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
2
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

i love to see the little kids working hard along with their parents help revive the the place,which looks better each time i stay
i travel frequently because of my job around this part of ontario ,i sure have all the intentions of staying here and seeing through complete rebuild of the facility ,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my second stay at Kent Motel in Chatham and although it's an old property the current owners (who bought the motel early this year) have started renovating the motel. I stayed in one of the rooms that has been renovated and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room - a huge improvement on what was on offer previously! The room I stayed in had a flat-screen TV and new furniture, which was basic but comfortable. The bathroom also was renovated and had the basic amenities. The owners who are on-site managing the motel and supervising the renovation are very helpful, and take pride in the 'facelift' they have given the motel. Overall, the motel offers very good value for money. I will certainly go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A smelly and dirty place. The property was littered with junk. There were several coats of paint on the surfaces, and not all the layers were intact. When I arrived some guests were sitting in front of their doors in their undershirts. The carpet was dirty. The furniture was old and none of it matched anything.

Was there anything good about thje place? Yes, it was cheap, located close to downtown Chatham which is a charming town, and the owners of the motel seemed to be nice people. I spent a quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humayun Z, Owner at Kent Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our motel. First, I would like to apologize for the uncomfortable stay that you experienced. As you may have noticed, the property is undergoing extensive refurbishment and we have fully renovated and refurbished over 10 rooms including the suite since taking over ownership of this motel in January 2013; we have planned to renovate and refurbish the rest of the rooms by the end of the year, and I am pleased to say that this extensive renovation is scheduled to be complete on time. Regrettably, the room that you were offered wasn't one of the newer rooms for which I apologize; the newer rooms have a superior quality of fixtures and fittings. Please feel free to contact us on humayunzia47@gmail.com ahead of your next trip to Chatham and we would ensure that your stay is comfortable and pleasant, and you do not experience any of the issues you faced during your first stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Humayun Zia
General Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Normally I favor old mom-and-pop motels like this one because the rates are low and the accommodation is satisfactory. But the Kent Motel failed for two big reasons: there was an acrid smell of stale tobacco smoke in my non-smoking room, and I suffered more than a dozen red itchy welts on my legs while staying here that I attribute to bed bug bites.

Apart from that, the bathroom had broken and missing tiles, the shower stall was so small the shower curtain stuck to my wet body, the internet did not work at all for long periods of time (approx a 12 hour period from evening to the next morning), and the smoke detector was lying on top of the microwave.

As is normal for some motels like this, there was no coffee maker in the room and no breakfast was provided.

I was not disturbed by noise at night.

There were no drinking glasses or cups the first night. The sheets were not changed. New towels were provided but the dirty ones were left in a pile on the floor.

I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

On our way East we arrived in the late afternoon in Chatham and followed the Tripadvisor recommendation and booked this motel. From the outside the place looks still a bit scruffy and there was quite a mess in the reception. However the owner is very nice and apologized for the inconvenience are he is fully renovating this place. We got a small, clean room for a very good price. The owner should us an other room that was just re-done. Very good work. If he carries on this way this will become a real fancy place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

under new management this motel is been resuscitated
rooms have been reconstructed and re furnished the construction is going on which will definitely revive it ,good experience with the new owner iwe intend to go back specially with low price which is v attractive

Room Tip: ask for the reconstructed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Motel

Address: 420 Grand Avenue East, Chatham, Ontario N7L 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management motel being fully renovated ,renovated rooms and suites available.Motel sprawled over 1.5 acres on main city road only 2 km from down town and close to golf course. Well appointed rooms and suites.Suites have jacuzi, double bed rooms with tubs. Rooms equipped with fridge, microwave , free local phone, free wifi,latest heat cool combos,coffee makers, flat screen cable tvs and above all dedicated, friendly and welcoming staff who ensure cleanliness and unmatched service to make your stay a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Motel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.