We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Not Full So Clerk Volunteered To Reduce Rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Richmond Street, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Hotel Not Full So Clerk Volunteered To Reduce Rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived the clerk volunteered to reduce the rate I booked a few months ago online as hotel not full. The hotel lobby is attractive with a water fall and free breakfast area is large so will be able to get a space. There is a separate video room beside the fitness room. The bathroom lights illuminate well. To change TV channels, you seem to have to go through the menu and move the curser over to "more channels" each time as the up/down channel remote seems to skip channels. The hotel is beside the Convention Centre and a 10 minute drive to restaurants downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear e10750law,

Thank you for writing out a detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the four star rating and hopefully we can get you score us as a five star on your next visit.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next trip into Chatham Kent

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
11
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I guess we know what happened to the Wheels Inn! For those that remember this iconic 'resort'
We stayed here one night in June 2014.

Overall experience
- the booking process was a bit of a challenge as we wanted two rooms which were adjoining. We had to call back a couple of times to ensure the rooms were connected, but all was straighter out in the end

Accomodations
- the room was okay, we didn't have a microwave, and the door to the fridge was broken, but overall the stay was fine

Game room
- I think I know what happened to the old Wheels Inn video games... perhaps an update would be nice

Pool
- did not get a chance to use the pool, but looked nice

Staff
- friendly and helpful

Breakfast
- the breakfast was good and the kids enjoyed the pancake machine. Nice selection of foods.

Room Tip: There is a great Italian restaurant in the area called Mamma Maria's on King Street. Best pizza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Josh D,

Thank you for taking the time to write out your comments about our hotel. I apologize we were not able to make your reservation as easy as you had hoped. We are pretty limited in the number of rooms that connect but irregardless this should not affect the reservation time and efficiency. I have noted your comments about our games, we have updated a couple of games however I will ensure I make our owners aware of your thoughts.
We appreciate your business very much and hope to see you use our property again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were at the hotel for a baseball tournament and I could not get over how accommodating the staff were. We had late night games, so our players were up later than normal. The staff kept the games room open, so they had some time to unwind before they headed to bed. The breakfast was excellent, offering a variety of hot and cold items (and the cinnamon buns were incredible!). We were able to hold a team barbecue outside, and another team also had their barbecue outside as well. The seating areas in the lobby are very comfortable and beautiful. Cannot say enough about how comfortable the beds were. Would definitely stay there and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Deeds 30,

Thank you for the kind words and the five star rating. I will ensure to pass on all your comments to the rest of our team.

We very much appreciate your business and the baseball tournaments business in general, always a good group to work with.

We hope to see you again for your next tournament in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and decided to stay overnight. Knowing Holiday Inns are a very reliable chain for customer service and cleanliness we stayed here. No disappointment! The hotel is very modern, the lobby is clean and inviting. The water wall is a pretty visual feature. Love the two seating areas in the lobby/dining room. Comfortable furniture. We stayed on the third floor, room 316, with one King and pull out bed. Ample room for two and we had 6 adults back for a bit and didn't feel crowded at all.

The room was very clean, all amenities in place. Nice to be able to control the temperature in the room to make it cooler. Agree with another review that the curtains covered the furnace vent preventing good air flow but we just folded the curtains to up on top and it worked like a charm. (Suggestion to trim them to the height of the furnace to avoid having to do this.) It was also nice to have a stand up shower rather than a tub. The shower was clean and glass walls were spotless (kudos to Sue, our guest room attendant, on a fantastic job on the room as a whole). The bed was extremely comfortable and nice to have a choice between labeled soft and firm pillows. Nice to know ahead of time instead of finding out in the morning that there were firm pillows. My only other suggestion would be a few more plugs. We have stayed at some HIs where there are plugs on the lamps on each night stand and it is very handy.

The front desk clerk was very quick and efficient. Didn't talk too much but was helpful in getting us checked in quickly and even found a better rate for our room than what we reserved it at. Awesome bonus, thank you Ronna!

Wi-fi worked like a charm and was speedy. Pass code was given to us right at check-in, no need to ask for it. No problems connecting and logging in on any wireless devices.

Breakfast was pretty standard HI fare, but still good. Seating area was clean and staff was always present ensuring condiments, plates and utensils were stocked and the seating area tidy. Thank you!

As we were only there a short time we did not use the pool or other amenities so cannot comment. We were told of their location on check-in which was nice to know ahead of time and not have to call and ask or search for information ourselves.

We would most definitely stay here again, thank you for a great experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Lori L,

Thank you for the wonderful and very detailed comments. We try to ensure our guests have an excellent stay and we are happy that we you were satisfied with your accommodations and service.

We very much appreciate your business and the five star rating. I will pass on your comments to our team to ensure they see them as well.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms are pleasant and clean. The staff is extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with trying to use their computers. Breakfast in the morning is adequate and is included in the room. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Gail B,

Thank you for the kind words and the four star rating for our property. We strive to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us so we are pleased to see that you have.

We appreciate your business very much and hope to see you use our property when you are in teh Chatham Kent area again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Chatham and had a great time! We would highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast in the morning was great, lots of options. We stayed here and went to Pelee Island for the day. Also visited Uncle Tom's Cabin. Great location for touring the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jill B,

Thank you for the kind words and recommending our hotel. Its great to see that our families travelling are enjoying our hotel as much as our corporate travelers.

We appreciate your business very much and we hope to see you again when you are visiting the Chatham Kent area in the future.

Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped through this location on our way to Toronto. The front desk staff was extremely helpful during our late arrival. Our room was very clean, and the hotel offers free Wi-Fi. The only issue that we had was that the air conditioner is located directly behind the curtains, so it was hard to keep the air circulating when the curtains were closed. As a result, the room stayed very warm. (This isn't the management's fault, but it may be something to keep in mind during future remodels.) Overall, we had a very nice stay and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear underwater337,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write out your experience at our hotel. I will pass along your comments to the employees.

We will look into the issue of the air not circulating properly to see if there is anything we can do at the hotel level to prevent this from happening.

We appreciate your business very much and hopefully we see you on your return trip or the next time you are in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Address: 575 Richmond Street, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.