We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful renovations - comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saxony Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saxony Motel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   521 Grand Ave E, Chatham, Ontario N7L 3Z2 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Keswick, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful renovations - comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was in Chatham for a funeral and my family worried about me staying at this motel because of previous reputation. It is under new ownership and has all been renovated - it was so nice that I invited my family to come and see for themselves. They agreed it was beautiful. An excellent job has been done on the renovations - the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TechTravellerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We want our customers to be happy and feel at home. I am very pleased to know that you loved our newly renovated rooms. Thanks for staying with us. Please visit us again if and when your travels bring you to our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Park Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve 12/31/13 because we were too tired to drive through the night back to the States from the Falls.
Well, When he opened the Door , I was pleasantly surprised at the nice furniture and updated decor and cleanliness.

There was a clean microwave, refrigerator, great signal / many cable channels, WIFI included.
FREE Breakfast offered! Muffins, cereal, coffee, fruit, waffles.

The attendant on staff was very nice and brought us extra blankets and even set up the sofa bed for our kid.

The only complaint i have is that the wash cloths were stained badly and should be thrown away if the chlorine didnt clear that up. The pillow cases should also be changed after each guest.

very decent motel. It appears that they updated the place since 2011. Keep up the good work and thank you for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. I will like to congratulate the Saxony Motel's whole team which includes front desk staff , housekeeping and maintenance personnel for doing such an amazing job.. Now, let me address the issues you have raised. The pillow cases are changed every time the guest, checks - out whether it is a short or long stay. We apologise if it was not up to your satisfaction. On Jan 11th,2014, we have added new inventory of wash cloths, fresh pillow cases batches, hand towels and some bath sheets as well too. We really appreciate your input because it pushes us to work even more harder to make this property one of the best in Chatham, ON.I hope that you will stay with us again if your travels brings you to our neighbourhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAUBAUSHENE, ON
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I would like to report that this was a very clean and newly renovated motel, located remotely (about 5 minutes from downtown Chatham, ON) to restaurants, banks, etc.

The staff were very accomodating, and yes the room (We upgraded to jet tub suite) was all newly redone and was remarkably, fresh and clean.

This room was equipped with a bar size fridge and microwave, all in clean and working order also take out available till midnight on a weeknight. The TV was meh, but who really watches TV away from home?

I would definately stay here again, or recommend to future guests!

Lots of thanks from Tom and Eileen (Waubuashene, ON)

Room Tip: Jet tub suite was right beside the rental office, and the jets were a bit noisy, but suited our need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malo_y_Loca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Our team works very hard to satisfy and fulfill most of our guest's requests. Honest reviews really help us grow & push us to make the experience even more better for our guests. Thanks Tom & Eileen for staying with us at Saxony Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I traveled from Detroit to Buffalo and stopped in Chatham ONT Canada for a business call the following morning while my wife remained in the motel room.

This is a family owned motel that is very clean - with well equipped rooms including fridge and microwave and lots of TV stations. Our bedding was new and the bathroom was newly renovated so it was an excellent stay. They offered lots of pastry and good coffee for breakfast, that morning but our diets didn't let us sample the donuts and pastry.

I always hate to bring up pricing, but no matter what the price this was a good motel to visit - and made especially nicer because of their more modestly priced rooms.

Room Tip: There was an on site independent restaurant - didn't try it since we had eaten along the way. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for writing this review . I am very pleased to know that you really loved our room. Please keep writing your honest reviews & we will keep on working hard to make your next stay more comfortable & pleasant. I hope that you will visit us again , when & if your travels bring you to our town. thanks for staying at Saxony Motel in Chatham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have had cause to stay here 6 times in the last year and have had 4 different rooms...The rooms have always been clean and for the most part well maintained. I'm certain that they have been updated recently with furniture purchased from a decent "hotel" All of the rooms I stayed in had a new bathroom and"powder room area", a microwave, a small bar-fridge (for your own brought in food etc..) Don't let the exterior deceive you...although I noticed on my last visit they are working hard to change this as well. The only things I would suggest.. bring your own pillows, on each occasion I have rolled up some clothes because the pillows were so flat and bring your own soap/shampoo (it is supplied but is verrrry cheap) In the end for $50/ night you can't CAN'T go wrong! You get what you pay for, and this is well worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review & for the kind remarks about our room. Now, let me address the issues you have raised. We change our pillows quite often but some of our repeat customers they do not like the newer pillows. So, I would have appreciated if you had mentioned it to us during your stay & then we would have taken care of it , right away without causing any inconvenience to you. We have changed the soaps too, recently. We have changed the exterior of our building & it looks really nice but we are not done yet. Please visit us again whenever your work or travels bring you by and keep sending us, your honest reviews, they help us grow. We are here to make all are guests happy and it is our top priority to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Clean and surprisingly nice rooms for a $50/night roadside motel. Breakfast not-so-great but there's a Timmy's across the road. My only complaint is no clock-radio! Otherwise, this place is a pretty incredible value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eightydays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan K, Owner at Saxony Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am very pleased to know that you liked our room. Our budget does not allow us to put alarm clock in every room this year but we will definitely look into it , in the very near future. Please keep sending your honest reviews to us because that gives us the opportunity to know about our guest's expectations which we would like to take care of as soon as possible. . We are here to make all our guests happy & comfortable. We truly hope that you will visit us soon, if and when your travels, bring you in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Rooms were clean and newly renovated. The staff was a bit creepy. The towels appeared to be clean but there was hair on them. The breakfast was not very good. There was a few blueberry muffins and a couple of bruised apples. Good thing we brought our own raisin bread. Go to Tim Horton's across the road or bring your own!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor1234xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
3.6 mi away
Chatham Travelodge
Chatham Travelodge
#4 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#7 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oaks Inn Hotel, Banquet & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxony Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxony Motel & Restaurant

Address: 521 Grand Ave E, Chatham, Ontario N7L 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saxony Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Saxony Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxony Motel & Restaurant Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing