We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap last resort motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Motel

Lotus Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Motel to your Saves list
Lotus Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   823 William Street, Cobourg, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheap last resort motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Only available room for same day on a long weekend. For $75/night you can't expect much but a clean fresh room would be nice. Very tiny queen size bed, comfortable enough and clean sheets. Bring febreeze and/or candles as our room smelled like a wet dog. Wifi was intermittent, lots of cable channels on an old zenith tv. Shower walls was the only thing reno'd in the room, bathroom floor and carpets should be replaced. Comforter had a hole in it and drapes look like they are from 80's. Bring own towels and toiletries - you get 2 little towels and bar of soap even a child couldn't use.
Very close to cobourg beach (5 min) and right next door to McD's, Wendy's and Tim Hortons.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    5
    1
    12
See reviews for
8
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming staff, very reasonable rates makes this a great value. Air conditioning, cable TV and excellent WiFi coverage...very quiet and plenty of hot water...close to Cobourg beach, shopping and 401 highway!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean, Ontario
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were almost frightened off by earlier reviews on this site, but had little choice because of several events in Cobourg. The property is under new ownership and management, and has been extensively renovated and up-dated. Our unit, and its bathroom were clean and tidy, the manager, resident on site, was accommodating and friendly. The bed was comfortable, the room quiet. The A/C worked well, as did the modern flat screen TV and mini fridge. Nearly all the old complaints had been addressed. The only oldish elements of furniture were the two easy chairs, but they were clean and comfortable. The towels were a bit skimpy but there were lots of them with more available on demand. The location is handy to lots of reasonable eating options, faces an attractive park, and can be recommended.

Room Tip: King Bed roms may be smaller but are still quite adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronte, ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Clean room. Good staff. Cold water and it took forever to get warm water. Cable tv was great. Nice and close to fast food and tim hortons. A little noisy on the busy main street. Cobourg downtown is lovely.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnt River,ont
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked 4 rooms for a family reunion for Sept 14 2013.After reading some of the reviews I was somewhat sceptical but had no choice as this was the only place I could get 4 rooms.I was pleasantly surprised on checking in as the rooms,though small,were very clean with lots of towels.Had a comfortable nights sleep.Good location close to the 401,fast food outlets and shopping mall.Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the 2nd summer that we spent a night at the Lotus Motel and were we entirely happy both times. Nice location with both a Wendy's and a Tim Horton's nearby. Friendly staff. Were advised that hot water might be slow to our room - no problem - had lots of hot water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My son's ball team stayed here July 5 and 6, 2013. I would never return, nor would I send my worst enemy there! Upon check in, we were warned that the hot water would take forever to get to our room, as it came from a tank under the office. We were told they weren't sure if there were towels in our room, but if not we could go and ask for some. (that happened to another family, and when they asked for towels the employee started to smell the towels to see if they were clean or dirty in the pile on the washer!) I was actually lucky compared to other families staying there... our room at least smelled like bleach when we entered...however the clean smell was the only thing clean in the room... There were spider webs everywhere, stains on the walls, floors and ceiling (I don't even want to know) and the bathroom tile was literally crumbling and so mildew covered I refused to shower without my shoes on! Our beds were far newer than in other rooms, but the sheets were still stained, and the comforters were thin, smelly and stained as well. I wasn't expecting a 5 star resort, but when my teenage boys could have cleaned better, blindfolded, then I have an issue! Do not stay here... even if they say there are renovated rooms since this review, unless the renovation involved a bulldozer or a hazmat team, stay away!!!

Room Tip: The Best Western down the street looked beautiful... 2 of our ball families managed to switch there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Motel

Address: 823 William Street, Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lotus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Cobourg
Lotus Motel Cobourg, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.