We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlawn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlawn Inn to your Saves list
The Woodlawn Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   420 Division Street | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cobourg B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So relaxing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everytime we go to the Woodlawn Inn, we enjoy it more and more. Excellent service, accomodations and food. A cosy, quiet retreat. A quick getaway fromToronto. The owners are always courteous and always ready to make you stay comfortable and relaxing. If you wish a weekend getaway I highly recommend the Woodlawn Inn.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Menatttt

We are happy to hear that you enjoy returning to the Woodlawn again and again!. We are always striving to ensure that all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased that our team was able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
64
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in the Woodlawn for a workshop weekend: our needs were far more complex than the average traveller. We had group meetings, group meals and all around "out of the norm" group needs. All were met with cheerful professionalism by the staff of the Woodlawn.
The accomodations are spotless, the food excellent and the staff happy to oblige.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to exceed expectations and we are happy to hear that we were able to do this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a great find the Woodlawn Inn is. A comfortable little place in the quaint Canadian town of Cobourg. I went to attend a photography workshop run by Richard Martin and the accommodations were perfect for this type of event. We had our own meeting room as well as private dining room. The chef was simply amazing. the food was excellent as was the service. The Woodlawn Inn has it all... comfy rooms, great food, and really nice people!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Don M

Thank you for writing about The Woodlawn Inn and the dining room. I am so pleased that you were comfortable here, and that you enjoyed the photography workshop and enjoyed your meals. Thanks again, and we would be happy to have you back with us, whenever your travel plans bring you to Northumberland County
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from Quebec. They are a member of 'Ontario's Finest Inns & Spa's'. Cobourg's main drag is about 4 blocks away, (10 Mins). The rooms are large and well appointed. We chose the 'couples package' which included dinner, (which was excellent) and a cooked breakfast. We were in room 106 which was located next to the staircase leading to the 2nd floor. Avoid this room!! The 'clump, clump' of patrons going up to their rooms was annoying. They have a nice little private courtyard for relaxing or enjoying a pre-dinner drink. They also have a fully stocked bar room.
Parking is free.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear NewhavenOntario

Thank you for your well written review. We are glad that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip back from Quebec. Sorry that the sounds of other guests were a bother. The next time youplan to return, please call me next time and I'll be happy to make arrangements for you!

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed an evening in a cottage suite for a short getaway. Room was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast is made fresh to order, and service was friendly and warm. Centrally located, a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear kingston007

Thanks for staying with us and I'm glad that you had a terrific time both in your Cottage suite and in the dining room. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. They are so appreciative of our guests comments!

Regards,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful building, on very nice grounds, a short walk away from Cobourg's main street and the wonderful beach.

We stayed in the presidential suite, which was nicely decorated with high ceilings and impeccably clean. The bathroom seemed to be recently renovated and had a lovely slate floor, a large stand up shower and a jetted tub that fit four of us. The bedroom was very stylishly decorated as well.

That being said, the one thing which precludes me from giving them 5 stars is the lack of a crib for people travelling with children. When I booked the reservation, although I ultimately booked through Expedia, I called and informed them we would be travelling with our children ages 2 and 8 months. Though we travel with one playard in which our youngest sleeps, it would have been nice to have a crib/playard available for our older son.

The front desk attendant who checked us in made a most generous offer to help us out, however we ultimately set up an appropriate area for our son to sleep in. When I informed the morning attendant of the lack of a crib, I got the sense that they are not available at the Woodlawn at all. Considering that many people travel with their children, and Cobourg is actually a very family friendly town, it would probably be in their best interest to try and accommodate those travelling with children.

Nevertheless, a lovely little hotel which would suit those looking for a more refined stay in Cobourg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello TorontoANTo!

I'm glad that you had a great time with us recently and thanks so much for your review and your description of the Presidential Suite, and Cobourg's excellent beach! I am sorry that you were given the wrong information by expedia. I will look into what they told you. If you ever need to find out specific details about the inn please call us toll free and we'll be happy to answer all of your questions. We hope to see you soon again at The Woodlawn Inn.

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent a lovely evening in this historic old home..a stopover on our way to Niagara Falls. As it was a holiday weekend I was thankful that they would accept just a Saturday night booking. It was a very hot humid afternoon when we rolled into Coburg...beaches and parking lots downtown were packed, so we drove around exploring the town then headed to the inn to escape the crowds. Here the high ceilings and reliable air conditioning gave us much relief from the heat in our spacious room. We had booked a Superior King and it was truly superior in every way. For once we had enough space to actually open the suitcases on the floor without tripping over them, but it really didn't matter this time as there was also an oversize walk-in closet perfectly designed for this purpose. Rooms 218 and 219 are in their own private corner of the hotel off a private sitting room so we had no noise from other guests in our corridor...just a peaceful night in a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was adequate, but some items were in short supply. After the luxurious accommodations we had been enjoying I found this meal a little simple and underwhelming, compared to other inns where we have stayed. However, because of the on-line deal we had taken advantage of, this accommodation was good value for the money on a very busy holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Janet B

Thank you for your detailed review of the The Woodlawn Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Cobourg and at the inn. I will talk with the kitchen staff and inquire about the breakfast! We would love to have you back with us the next time you are in Cobourg!

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Inn

Address: 420 Division Street | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlawn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cobourg's Historic District and close to the waterfront, the historic Woodlawn Inn opened its doors in 1988 and today has twenty generously appointed guest rooms. The Woodlawn Inn is perfect for romantic retreats, girl’s getaways, small weddings and business meetings. The highly regarded Woodlawn Inn dining room is open to the public for intimate dinners or for large weddings of up to 100 guests. Within walking distance, there are day-spas, historic homes, shops and one of the most picturesque downtowns in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Hotel Cobourg
The Woodlawn Inn Cobourg, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlawn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.