We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extra star for convenience and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cobourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Cobourg to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Cobourg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Densmore Rd, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 4J9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An extra star for convenience and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stay every year at Christmas when visiting my elderly parents since they downsized their house. Clean, quiet, convenient for us, very plain (and I mean Very) - but - everything works, a good night's sleep on a comfortable bed, some stuff (don't ask me what) for breakfast and a friendly lady behind the front desk Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Exactly what we expected and paid for, what more can you ask? The Best Western in town is the other chain choice and our experience there has been, I'll say, more variable. The right room there on the right night is arguably better and they have a pool. The wrong room when there is a wedding going on and the guests are staying above you - well, look out below. I'll take the peace and quiet of the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad or good choice. They all seem the same to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOBOURG, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Cobourg, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Comfort Inn Cobourg on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you continue to visit us every Christmas. We are very excited as we do go under renovations next year, and we hope that next Christmas you come and check out the new changes. We are grateful for the positive feedback about our front desk staff and will definitely pass on the kind words. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely
April Boswell
Assistant Manager
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Room did the trick. Nice bed, clean enough. comfortable stay. Nothing really spectacular. No attached restaurant and you have to drive to go anywhere to eat.
Breakfast was okay.
Standard hotel right off the highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOBOURG, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Cobourg, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas that are in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. We hope to exceed expectations once our Renovations are done next year and we hope you come back to stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Comfort Inn has seen better days, but the staff's friendliness and helpfulness made up for the somewhat tired look of this motel. The complimentary breakfast, though handy, could use an upgrade...after two days we were ready for something else.

We chose a smoke-free room on the second floor, and we were glad we did as we could smell smoke in the hallway on the first floor as we headed toward the stairwell. The room was clean, but a little tired looking.

We appreciated being able to access the Internet on the hotel's guest computer near the reception desk and also being able to store our bicycles overnight in a secure room.

On the upside, all staff members we encountered were helpful and polite.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the second floor is better if you are looking for a smoke-free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOBOURG, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Cobourg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I am delighted to let you know that the hotel will be going under renovations next year. Both positive and negative feedback that you have provided us will allow us to make improvements to our business. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip-Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Standard 2 star. Older hotel but seems maintained well enough. Nothing to recommend it really other than extremely convenient location right near the main highway (401). I did find the linens to be sub-par, very thin/threadbare, and the comforter looked like it should be laundered (folded it down and didn't use it while sleeping). The couch also looked tired, and the chair had stains all over the seat, which we covered with a towel before using it. Otherwise the room was clean.
There was a microwave, fridge, big LCD TV, good towels, fairly comfy bed, and easy access through patio doors to car. Free continental breakfast was just the basics. Internet was slow to access with an ipad, might have been better for a PC.

Room Tip: drive up rooms give easy access for loading/unloading luggage into room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOBOURG, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Cobourg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Based on your feedback it appears we are doing some things well, and your comments will help us improve the other areas. Thank you for taking the time to write the constructive comments as it is important to us to make sure our guests our happy. We are pleased to let you know the hotel will be renovated next year and we hope to see you after the renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
van
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked 2 nights here to come to town to see the Tragically Hip concert. The lady checking us in was very slow but friendly enough.. when we told here we booked a drive up and we didn't get one she had offered us a drive up for the second night , unfortunately it was a smoking room and we don't smoke so we passed... We did our booking with booking.com so it was their mistake not the hotels....Upon check in our room was definitely not fully cleaned....crumbs on carpet, sticky pop on table, hair all over the bathroom, sink, floor & tub and mascara and lipstick marks on two of the towels, there was also toothpaste marks on sink counter and tap. When the lady came up to offer us the ground level for the second night we did mention the lack of housekeeping but nothing was ever done to correct it... again working in hotels for years I can tell you the housekeeper ran threw this room and it didn't get checked afterwards. The other two women working the front desk we endured during our stay there were very miserable and seemed very angry and annoyed at any question we asked. I have worked in hotels for years and the hospitality industry and this is not acceptable behaviour when working a front desk in a hotel... When asked for a later check out by 15-30 minutes as my aunt has a bad leg and there was no elevator and we had to do the stairs as we weren't in a drive up we were basically screamed at by the women working the front desk and she hung up the phone without a goodbye...I am a very friendly person there was no point in arguing just wont be going back when in Cobourg...

P.S: One of the younger housekeeping ladies did see us struggling a bit going up and down with our luggage and had helped us with our bags...Thank-You... she was very friendly and helpful and informed us we weren't the first tourist to complain about the front desk ladies being miserable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOBOURG, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Cobourg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
By reviewing your feedback regarding our hotel I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. I appreciate you bringing to my attention the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel and want to apologize on behalf of all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn, taking a Travelocity deal where we accepted a rate without knowing which hotel we'd get. We had trouble seeing the sign for the hotel, so missed it and had to turn around. The motel is just off the highway, but no noise in the room. The room was very comfortable and large, with good wifi and TV service. Staff gave a good recommendation for a restaurant for dinner. Very simple breakfast. A god bargain for us,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOBOURG, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Cobourg, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
First I would like to thank you for using TripAdvisor. It is guest feedback that encourages us to improve in areas that did not meet and exceed expectations. I am very happy to hear my staffs recommendation was something that you enjoyed. o We appreciate that you took the time to recommend our property on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return again soon. Thank-you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly service, adequate breakfast. We would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. We are on a road trip so just wanted clean and comfortable place to stop. This is it. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Cobourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cobourg

Address: 121 Densmore Rd, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 4J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Cobourg 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Comfort Inn Cobourg. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a refrigerator, microwave, wireless internet, 32 inch flat screen television, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. This hotel is 100% smoke free and pet friendly. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Cobourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cobourg Hotel Cobourg
Cobourg Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Cobourg Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cobourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.