We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestWay Motel

WestWay Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cochrane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WestWay Motel
Save
You added WestWay Motel to your Saves list
83 Highway 11 West, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cochrane
1 review
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during xmas with our sleds, was clean and we parked our sleds right outside our door. Restaurants close by, staff was friendly and accomodating, will stay always at this hotel, worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ontario
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The rooms are outdated and the bathrooms are very small. Heating systems were noisy during the night and made it hard to sleep. The only good thing is that the motel is situated next to Tim Horton's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsford, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Wow what a nice surprise... nice new beautiful furniture, flat screen tv,,,fast internet, fridge and love seat too !! Came from Red Lake heading back to Lindsay ontario ,,and stayed in a lot of hotels this one beats them all including Best western and holiday Inn...exceeded any expectations!! good job!

Room Tip: Right beside Tim Hortons.....need I say anymore????
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanv
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We were looking for a place to stop in Cochrane on our way home from Thunder Bay. We stoped at the Chimo Motel because it advertised "clean rooms." Well their idea of clean and my idea are two very different things so I went across the street to the Westway and found them very helpful and the rooms very clean and nice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I spent a night at the WestWay Motel after the highway in Cochrane closed. At first, we were put into a very small single room but the owners, (who were extremely apologetic and very nice) quickly moved us to a bigger room. Though the decor is a bit dated the owners were extremely helpful in directing us to a warm meal after a long, wintery drive. They also helped dig our car out after a raging blizzard when it got stuck, (twice), trying to get out of the parking lot, (it wasn't their fault - the snow was ridiculous and the plows were all working overtime all over town).
Anyway, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's not an ultra-fancy chain hotel but it certainly was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

If you have extra cash in your wallet and no real plans for it, then the Westway Motel in Cochrane is just the place for you. For about $40 more than it is worth, the Westway provides you with a lovely 1970s decor and TV for that nostalgic night on the road. What would cost maybe $49 a night anywhere else, you can have for $89 at the Westway. Don't hesitate. Book today.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Every time I've been to Cochrane, I'm always drawn to the Westway, whether for a night or a few days. Being family own definitely has advantages. Well maintained, very clean rooms, relaxing atmosphere and always welcomed with friendly smiles. Easy access with ample parking, amenities are very close by, only a few minutes away from the train station, or downtown.
The best way for a quiet, relaxing night is the Westway.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestWay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestWay Motel

Address: 83 Highway 11 West, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westway Motel located in Cochrane Ontario Canada offers 42 comfortable rooms, whether on business, sports trips, taking the polar bear express, visiting the polar bears, on a snowmobile trip, hunting vacation, or fishing holiday. The Best Way Is The Westway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westway Hotel Cochrane
WestWay Motel Cochrane, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestWay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.