We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast Choices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Chartreuse

Cafe Chartreuse
Hurontario Street, Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
(705) 444-0909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 90 Restaurants in Collingwood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My daughter, my sitter, my niece and myself decided to have a all girls day at the scandinave Spa in Blue Mountain. Since we were leaving Toronto very early at 6:30am my daughter searched and found Cafe Chartreuse which was on our way to the spa. The place was pretty quiet when we arrived and the food looked great. They had specials of the day 1)Spinach and cheese Omelette, Eggs with Bacon or sages all served with home fries and French Toast and freshly based pastries.
The breakfast was pretty ordinary - not flavours that stood out in our omelette. The pastures were fresh. The coffee was disappointedly cool and we had to asked have them replaced. There was one person behind deli counter and she was not in a pleasant frame of mind. We all felt empathy for her and did not complain. But we were in a very good frame of mind as we were about to set onto a relaxing, soothing and nurturing Girls Day Spa-ing. I think we would have been very elated had she appeared cheerful to see us and enjoying serving up the delicious pastries.

Good Food but service could be improved considerably.
Dorothy

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast but pricy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a typical spot we go to when the kids crave "pain au chocolat". I always order the egg white omelette.
Big size and great taste and real baguette to go with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Breakfast to remember”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

But for all the wrong reasons. The staff is badly trained and rather than managing the owner spends his time in the kitchen oblivious to what's going (or not going) on. Would suggest giving the place, at least for breakfast, a pass. Too bad because the Heritgage Building the restaurant occupies is superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went for lunch. They have only 3 sandwiches on their menu, none of which is served hot. I got the salmon sandwich, which was very small and cost $6.10 + tax. That's ridiculous for a small cold sandwich in a tiny country town. My wife wanted a slice of apple pie, which they served cold despite her requesting it heated. It was not great, but cost $4.75 + tax!! I do not recommend this place. The only reason I'm giving it more than 1 star is because the sandwich tasted decent, and the servers were okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and grandson joined us for lunch at Café Chartreuse and we had a very good meal. The salads were fresh and delicious. The sandwich was also very fresh and enjoyable. The young staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chartreuse also viewed

Collingwood, Ontario
Collingwood, Ontario
 
Collingwood, Ontario
Collingwood, Ontario
 

Been to Cafe Chartreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Chartreuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.