We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously People you don't go for the food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alphorn Swiss Restaurant

Alphorn Swiss Restaurant
Rt 26, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
705.445.8882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 97 Restaurants in Collingwood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Collingwood, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously People you don't go for the food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

You only go back because of tradition, you don't go for the food.
The veggies are all frozen, the bread is white sliced bag bread, the schnitzel (most likely frozen also) is mediocre at best. But it's been open forever and no one gets sick...so that's a positive?!

The decor is dusty, all from the 70's & 80's (so don't go putting your lips on the horn if you know what I mean).

But the beer is cold and varied, the atmosphere is lively and fun. It's close to the mountain and it's better than cooking after a long day of skiing (I guess).

Just order what they are know for....don't go ordering anything different as you will be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been to the Alphorn many times, we just love everything about it!, from the food, atmoshpere, staff - big shout out to Wanda!
I don't think there is anything on the menu that you wouldn't like!
Of coarse they are very famous for their Alphorn Cut Snitzel & potato pancake, which is two pieces of snitzel, most of the time, you will take one piece home and can make a sandwich with it - great leftover sandwhich!
It is certainly worth the wait if you get there and the restaurant if full, but you can get a drink while you wait in the bar. If you really can't wait, or just don't feel like making dinner, they have take-out!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Bizarre restaurant, overpriced and bland food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

this place is apparently so popular with skiers. We heard it was so great and it is a small crowded and tacky restaurant. I had ceasar salad , plain, and the chicken dish. which was overcooked. my husband had the schnitzel which is what they are famous for and it was dry and bland. we had wine and with the two of us, it was well over $100. Should have ordered a pizza instead. Will never go again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

It is a lot of fun to visit especially with a big group but the food was not reflective of the prices and the hype.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great People, Great Prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The Alphorn is by far my favourite restaurant in the blue mountain area. If you go here you must try their pork schnitzel! Best I've ever had! As well as their raclette. I cannot stress enough how tasty their food is! The atmosphere is fun and although the decorations may be cheesy they add to the casual surrounding. Be careful though! If you blow the big horn (which most people do without knowing the consequences, because it looks like fun) then be prepared to buy everyone in the restaurant a round of shots!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alphorn Swiss Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alphorn Swiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alphorn Swiss Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.