We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget - but interesting and unique!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Motor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mariner Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Mariner Motor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 Hume St., Collingwood, Ontario L9Y1W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book direct and save
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Collingwood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget - but interesting and unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a real authentic '60s motor inn which has a unique history and pedigree. All the design details are still there, a bit time worn, but it's clean and quiet. It's handy to downtown Collingwood and about 15 minutes to Blue Mountain. Highly recommended as a local alternative to the stucco discount
boxes on the highway.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
13
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days over Christmas, to go skiing at Blue Mountain. Though we booked it a good two weeks in advance and arrived exactly when we said we would, the room temperature was 14°C - the electricity bill was more important to the owner to the owner than customer satisfaction. He assured us that it'd get hot fast, so we set the thermostat to 30°C and went skiing. When we returned the temperature was 17°C and it didn't go up much overnight.

We also got a room that shared a (locked) door with the owners' apartment, so we could hear everything as if it was happening in our room - including a constantly screaming child, phones ringing, and an alarm that would go off every time someone walked into the hotel. This went on until about half past midnight and resumed at around 7 AM.

The bed was uncomfortable, but the room relatively clean. At least there was free wifi.

Room Tip: If you have to go there, make sure you do NOT get room 21. It's gonna be very noisy and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in August during the tall ships festival. Here is what we liked about our stay:

-Check-in was fast, man at front desk was friendly and helpful
-Fairly close to downtown, only about a 10-15 walk from where we wanted to go
-Decent value- everything else was sold out and they could have charged much more
-We liked that continental breakfast was offered

Here are some things we did not like:

-Front desk was not 24 hours- it closed around 10:30pm which we found a little odd.
-Noisy; the fan was extremely loud and you could here through the walls
-First thing we found when we entered our room was a large black bug crawling across the floor
-The rooms are in need of some TLC; we understand that it's 50s decor but some of the furniture needs some upkeep
-We went to check out around 9:30am; no one was at the front desk to hand our key in to and no one answered when we rang the bell. We weren't sure what to do so we just left our key on the front desk.

It was an OK stay. I probably won't stay there again, but if you're on a budget and you just need a place to sleep and nothing else this would be a good place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is VERY clean. It looks like a perfect little slice of 1950ish resort. It is a Frank Lloyd Wright building and will be a great find if you want to make your stay memorable. The owners are great and the breakfast in the morning is nice - eggs, yogurt, milk, coffee, OJ, etc.

Live you life and stay here. I loved it. It has air and wifi. That was a deal sealer for me.

Great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

the architecture and furnishings are classic 50's with great elegance. the chair in my room was wonderful; lots of wood and mirrors. could do with money to restore the finishes.

clean, simple but not modern; breakfast over at 9h30

the staff are friendly but shy; we did get dinner recommendations which were out of date as one place had closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're just passing thru Collingwood, you could do worse. You could also do better.

I was lured to reserve here by the promise of Frank Lloyd Wright architecture. And you do get a nice Wright exterior and a view of a Wright-ish garden area. But the interior was more "old" than authentic.

It's not very efficiently run, with no one at the front desk to greet arriving visitor, a breakfast that was gone by the time we got to it, and a variety of things that didn't work....including the air conditioner in our room. Staff and cleanliness were so-so.

It's very best asset is its location adjacent to the town's hiking trail that will take you down to the museum and the waterfront for a nice piece of morning exercise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheguiandah, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

• On New Years Eve we arrived after 6 hours of travel expecting two rooms/four beds which I had reserved with my credit card and with confirmation # in hand only to be told that they had made a mistake and there were no rooms for us. They ended up finding one room with 1 bed. I was left to scramble for another room in busy Collingwood ski town on New Years Eve.
• When I made original booking, I explained allergy to air fresheners and they said no air fresheners were in use. There were Glade Air Fresheners in every plug in.
• I witnessed the proprietor listening at the door in the room next to us. We also felt as if they were monitoring our comings and goings as well. The "proprietor family" appears to live there in a suite at the end of the hall.
• the Continental breakfast was awesome, but when my son-in-law took a tray to the room for my breastfeeding daughter who was n the room with her tiny infant, a negative comment was made by staff.

Room Tip: I would not advise this motel or stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariner Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Hotel

Address: 305 Hume St., Collingwood, Ontario L9Y1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mariner Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mariner Motor
Mariner Motor Collingwood
Mariner Motor Hotel Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.