Originally, we had booked a two night stay at Blue Mountain Inn. Upon arrival, however, we were informed that the only rooms in the entire inn were rooms with two double beds. You apparently cannot reserve a room with a specific type of bed configuration. Given that I am 6'4, there was no way we could comfortably fit on one of those and sleeping in separate beds would just be weird, given that it was my wife's birthday. The reception desk offered to upgrade us to the Village for a higher cost, so we just went with that.
The suite we had at Weider lodge was amazing! It was spotless, had a nice big comfy king bed, balcony, and fireplace. Not to mention the fully loaded kitchenette with every kitchen dish and gadget you could want. It would ideal for a lengthier stay. The underground parking was extremely convenient and would be great in the winter. The only gripe about the room was the old/uncomfortable (pullout) couch and chair in the living area.
I had purchased a "B&B" package to include breakfast at The Pottery each morning. On Saturday, the place was empty and we had no problem getting a table. The buffet breakfast was fine and featured your typical breakfast fare (eggs, hash browns, cereal etc.). On Sunday morning, however, we arrived at The Pottery to find the place completely full, with a line-up of people waiting to get in. This was at about 10:15am and we had to check out of the hotel by 11. We also saw people bypassing the line because apparently they were with some conference and "had a reservation". I wasn't aware you could reserve a table, nor were the people in line (members of a different conference).
Upon arrival we were told the wait would be 20 mins. Ok, so we waited. At 10:35, we were once again told the wait would be 20 mins. Fed up with the situation, we proceeded to checkout and had our breakfast voucher refunded. We picked up some food on the way home. I couldn't believe that at a resort so big, and so expensive, something like this could happen. How can you only have one breakfast place open? How can you allow a conference to "reserve" that entire breakfast place? It would make more sense to either expand The Pottery or have the option of having breakfast at one of the other overpriced restaurants. And yes, everything in the village is overpriced and we even heard Blue Mountain employees admit that the village prices are a rip-off (for example - $2.55 for a can of pop? $7.50 for a pint of beer? really?). I understand that prices in the village are driven by demand and convenience, but this is the off-season!
So to sum up, Wieder Lodge itself was wonderful, but as a resort Blue Mountain could still improve.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
We sincerely regret that you did not fully enjoy your stay and experienced some challenges within the resort property. The Blue Mountain Inn offers hotel style rooms the bulk of which are made up of two double beds, there is a limited number of King rooms as well as Queen accessible rooms. We are very sorry we did not have a King room available when you were here, thankfully the Village units offer much greater variety in bed configurations and inventory and we were able to assign a suitable unit.
We’re pleased to hear the Weider Lodge unit met with your approval and that you were so impressed with the kitchen provisions. The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and the added convenience of underground parking and ease of access to the Village, make them an ideal location.
The Pottery Restaurant offers superb dining and the service team is top notch, you will see this reflected in a number of previous reviews. The breakfast offering receives favorable feedback; we’re glad you enjoyed the buffet.
With respect to the source of your dissatisfaction, we did experience a higher than normal volume on the day in question, including large groups that had made reservations in advance. We are so sorry that we were unable to seat you and apologize for the misleading timelines offered by our associates. We will share your comments with the team and coach for improved communications during peak dining times. On a positive note, we are pleased to advise you that we are undertaking renovations to the Pottery which will result in improved seating capacity. Finally, we are always pleased to accept reservations for groups or individuals and will encourage our associates to make this recommendation in the future to avoid disappointments such as yours.
Yours in Hospitality,
Vice President of Lodging
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.