We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect girls getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Givingtree Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Givingtree Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Givingtree Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
262 Batteaux Road RR2, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3Z1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Guelph, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect girls getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Givingtree for one night in June. It was everything we were hoping for and more. Chai and Andy are lovely hosts - we felt very welcome and relaxed. The whole property and location are beautiful. We took advantage of the trail running right beside the house and took a couple of long walks right from our door. The Karma cabin was more than enough space for two people but still felt cozy and comfortable. It felt very private and we came and went as we pleased, made our own dinner and stayed up late talking without feeling as if we were disturbing anyone. The breakfast was absolutely delicious - the best I've ever had at a B&B. The only regret we had was not staying another night! We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our one night stay with Chai and Andy was entirely positive. The Karma cabin was relaxing and spacious, the claw foot tub overlooking the garden was a little slice of heaven, and the hospitality went above and beyond our expectations. Chai and Andy even went out of their way to mail a forgotten item back to me which was VERY much appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fabulous experience at Givingtree after staying for two nights in the loft. Chai and Andy do a wonderful job of creating a warm, positive and relaxing space.

The grounds are beautiful, with lots of ways to enjoy them (benches in the gardens, hammock out front, trails for miles in either direction) and they produce the freshest veggies and other tasty things that end up in yummy breakfasts.

Breakfasts were stellar-- yogurt and fruit parfaits, fresh smoothies, great coffee plus a choice of savoury or sweet options for the main. I picked the mushroom, kale and feta frittata one day and a salsa-y twist on eggs florentine the next day, and both were outstanding. Mushrooms in the frittata were cultivated on a log out back behind the barn-- it doesn't get any more local than that.

The loft was most comfortable, decorated with an attractive and eco-friendly feel and real attention to detail (even the bathmat was luxurious!). A calm and laid-back space.

Andy and Chai are very sweet and helpful and wanted to make sure I had a great time, while maintaining a very chill vibe.

Givingtree is a great place to enjoy a bit of nature, a great meal and a really fantastic night's sleep with some great people to host and help when needed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in mid March and loved the quaint relaxed feel of the house and the wonderful hosts. The loft was so relaxing, the meals were tasty and Oscar was pretty cute. I'd recommend (I actually have already) my friends stay here when they travel to the area. If you are looking for a place to say that's accessible to Highland Nordic as well, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: This is an Eco conscious report so don't expect to find energy consuming appliances in the loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and his brother and fiancée spent the night in the Karma Cabin this weekend and we absolutely loved it. It was everything we were hoping for and more. Chai and Andy are lovely hosts and you can feel their dedication to this B&B in everything you come across. The food and breakfast presentation exceeded our high expectations and we are already talking about when we can go back. I promise, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just came back from a belated Anniversary weekend getaway at Givingtree B & B and what a wonderful experience! Havng stayed at many B&Bs and various accomodations around the world this was by far the best place that I have ever stayed in. From the delicous homemade breakfasts that awaits you in the morning to the cozy warmth of the Karma Cabin in the evening, everything was perfect! If our travels takes us back to this area, we would not hesitate to come back to the Givingtree B&B because we know there is nothing quite like it.

Room Tip: If available, book the Karma Cabin - it's cosy and private. Definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed on Feb 14 in Karma Cabin -- it has two rooms -- spacious kitchen sitting room and comfortable bedroom. A door off the kitchen opens to a large space used for yoga, and where the bathroom/tub are located. The tub sits on a platform with large windows to a side yard.

The cabin was clean and nicely outfitted with books, games, kitchen, etc. While rustic, it is very clean, was warm, and quite comfortable.

There was a choice of meals for breakfast - we had yogurt parfait (plain, lightly sweetened with maple syrup, layered with a bit of granola, local apple butter, and a few slices of straw-berries. Strong, dark roast, french press coffee. A smoothie of some sort -- can't recall what was in it but tasty. The main dish was Chai's take on eggs Florentine -- perfectly poached eggs but instead of spinach home grown pea sprouts, and instead of Hollandaise, salsa. Note the menu is vegetarian and emphasizes local produce.

If you are looking for a funky place without the Victorian bric-a-brac then give GivingTree a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Givingtree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Givingtree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 262 Batteaux Road RR2, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Givingtree is an eco-friendly Bed and Breakfast located only 8 minutes south of Collingwood Ontario. Cozy accommodations in a peaceful country setting allow you to unwind and enjoy the simple things in life. Surround yourself in an acre of organic gardens, old growth trees and reconnect with nature. Begin your day with a fresh fruit smoothie followed by a wholesome vegetarian breakfast featuring local, organic and fairtrade ingredients. Enjoy direct access to scenic nature trails that connect to downtown Collingwood. Borrow a bike or hike into town for lunch and take a swim in the bay! In the winter months bundle up join Free Spirit Tours for a snowshoe trek or head to the Scandinavian spa for an afternoon of pure relaxation. Private yoga classes and sustainable living workshops are offered year round by request. Givingtree Bed and Breakfast is a great fit for eco-conscious travelers and people looking for healthy vegetarian options & warm hospitality. Come for a meaningful getaway that will leave you feeling relaxed, refreshed and inspired. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Givingtree Bed And Breakfast Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Givingtree Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.