We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bacchus House
Save
You added Bacchus House to your Saves list
142 Hume Street, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1V5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Bacchus House for our anniversary before going to the Scandinave Spa. Annette was a lovely, friendly hostess, chatting with us about the history of the house and Collingwood. It is conveniently located just a few blocks to the downtown core. The breakfast was delicious and tastefully presented. We stayed in the Merlot room, which was well-appointed and very clean, with a comfortable bed. However, it did face the road, so there was a bit of noise. We would definitely recommend the Bacchus House in Collingwood!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

we stayed for 2 nights over the new year.we had 2 rooms.we really enjoyed cabernet room.it was absolutely gorgeous and spotless clean.we recommend this place for anyone with hi expectations.the breakfast was amazing also.a whole house had a beautiful Christmas spirit and décor. we liked that you have 5 star accommodations in Victorian style house.thank you Annette and Andy.We are definitely going back again sometime this year

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bacchus house around the holidays for a Blue Mountain snowboard trip and our stay was absolutely amazing. Annette and Andy were great hosts and super friendly and inviting. Great personalities and great people overall. The rooms were clean, cozy with really nice decor and furniture. All the rooms were unique in their own way but nonetheless all very spectacular. The breakfast was amazing as well. The living room is also cozy (and they did a very good job with their Christmas tree decorations!), and the dining area was nicely set up. Overall, I was absolutely amazed with Bacchus House and it would definitely be my go-to place when I return!

Room Tip: The Merlot Suite has a nice fireplace, and the Cabernet Sauvignon Suite has very rich colours and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Bacchus House last summer and had an incredible experience .

Andy & Annette Lee are absolutely incredible hosts in their Victorian Boutique bed and breakfast close to Blue Mountain, Wasaga Beach and 3 blocks to Collingwood.

The home has been perfectly restored and we enjoyed the Chardonnay Suite last summer and found the room to be lovely for our needs.

Gourmet breakfast served for us in the morning before heading out for the day. Do not skip the breakfast and the dinners are incredible too.

There is a beautiful outdoor space with a hot tub and fireplace to warm by. It is no wonder this is the best place in Collingwood to stay. We are definitely going back again next summer.

Room Tip: Chardonnay Suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The six of us stayed at the the Bacchus House on the night of December 15th 2013. We booked three rooms, and everyone was very impressed by the hospitality of the owners and the unique room designs. Bacchus House is like no other place any of us have been to. it feels like home, but at the same time provides an interesting hotel-like experience.

Andy and Annette made us feel very welcome. We met their awesome dogs and even took pictures with them. The breakfast was *delicious* and enough to last a whole day of skiing.

We would recommend this place to anyone, and will definitely be returning for a repeat stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bacchus House for 2 nights (October 25 & 26, 2013) in the Pinot Noir Suite. It was our very first experience with a B&B and it definitely exceeded our expectations! Andy & Annettee fabulous hosts and even better chefs! The breakfast they provided was more than I ever expected and tasted fabulous...my husband especially loved the Eggs Benedict :)

We felt like we were in our own home it was such a comfortable B&B and they made us feel so comfortable.

Highly recommend this B&B for anyone going to the Collingwood area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed at Bacchus House on Oct. 24-25, 2013 in the Merlot room. It was our first time staying in a B&B and Annette definitely made us feel welcome from the time we checked in!

The Merlot room is the smallest of all the rooms, but it didn't feel cramped at all. Unfortunately the satellite signal was weak in our room (because of the rainy weather), so the TV kept cutting out and there were many channels that couldn't be accessed (maybe they should be taken out of the guide somehow?). If the temperature in the room is too cold or too hot, we could tell Annette to adjust it accordingly. The two nights we stayed, it was a little warm in the room so we only used the top comforter. That was more than enough!

We visited Collingwood for the Scandinave Spa, which is where we went on our first day. It rained the whole time we were there, so we couldn't do many activities outside.

Despite the weather, Annette made plenty of suggestions for things to do. On the first night, Annette recommended that we have dinner at Tesoro's for a more casual dining experience. The food was amazing! The second night, we wanted a more romantic, and intimate setting (to celebrate our anniversary) and Annette knew exactly which restaurant to recommend (Brunello's - Thanks Mario!). Bacchus House had a great selection for breakfast, tasted great, and the portions were huge! We were stuffed every morning.

Overall, this experience has changed our perception of B&Bs and we will definitely stay in others in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacchus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus House

Address: 142 Hume Street, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1V5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacchus House offers a variety of Five Star accommodation packages that include gourmet breakfast, concierge service, cooking classes & wine seminars. Unwind after your day in our 8 person hot tub or relax next to either our outdoor gas fire pit or our gas fireplace in our formal living room. Bacchus House can accommodate small parties for private dining or business meetings in our boardroom that features a custom bar and fireplace. Each bedroom suite in our luxurious Victorian B&B is unique and different in design. They all are elegantly appointed with grand European style bedroom furniture, queen size beds, en suite bathrooms TV's/DVD players, IPOD docking stations and first class amenities. We are open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bacchus House Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.