We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cranberry Resort to your Saves list
Cranberry Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19 Keith Avenue | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Collingwood
hamilton, on
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed end of July for 2 nights. Had a newly renovated room with very comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom was large with hair dryer and ample counter space. There is no elevator in the area we stayed and had to carry suitcase up the stairs, this area would not be good for those with poor mobility. There is no bar fridge in the room. The only mirror in the room is in the bathroom, which is inconvenient when two women are trying to get ready to go out. We did use one of the pools, which was perfect as it was an adults only pool. Would stay here again if staying in the new part as the beds were comfortable and overall the hotel part we stayed in was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    114
    132
    103
    154
See reviews for
204
230
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

So, as RCI exchangers we had read the most recent reviews, and were aware that parts of this place had been recently refurbished ....and some parts were still in need! But honestly , we had no problems, none, not one at all. The staff were very friendly informative and professional . The rooms ( we had a double room, and a single ....so one room with one bedroom, kitchen and bath, and another with 2 adjoining, 2 beds 2bath and 2 kitchens ) they were spotlessly clean,tidy and our bed ( room430) was gloriously comfortable with new duvets and really good quality linens. We ate in Memories (fine dining) and Lounge 26- breakfast and lunches ) both exactly as described. The outdoor pool was quiet and clean, the indoor pool ,once open after refurb, just before we left ,( until then we were able to use the one across the street at Waterfront ) was really warm and clean, but beware !!! The floor in the changing room is lethal !! Super slippery !! We had a couple of thundery days so we borrowed DVDs. My only negative point would be that the " super water efficient" showers are infuriating. The deliver a 12inch Halo of water mist...soaking the wall and the curtain and the bath ....but not the human !! You have to wave yourself around in order to connect with the water halo of mist....as a 5ft female I could stand under it and stay dry !!! It took forrreeeevvvveeeeeeerrrrrr to wash long hair! And if it's all about protecting the planet then maybe they should look at removing the huge deep oval whirlpool baths!!! And just change to decent showers...! But seriously I would return in a heart beat .

Room Tip: Try to book over on the Waterfront Suites by the Marina as it's brand new and really smart .!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I chose this hotel after spending a lot of time researching the area on line. Upon lifting the toilet lid I found toilet paper and several long black hairs, ring around toilet bowl, sink is cracked, caulk is peeling around tub, cheap formica furniture, no headboard, very loud a/c, workers next door were smoking but concierge says they weren't, restaurant menu wasn't the same as on line and ridiculous prices ($34 for chicken ?). Wifi was very very slow. Meeting facility at the Bear Estate had soiled stained chairs and rugs. Will take a bath in bleach when I get home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I recently attended an out of town wedding and checked into the hotel that was recommended for the guests.
Things didn’t go well.
Our room wasn’t ready, and they didn’t have a Courtesy Suite for changing our clothes even though they had agreed to provide one for the guests, we used the washroom in lobby.
When we asked them for help with directions to church, they sent us in the wrong direction. Which caused us to be late for the service.
After the service we had a break of 3 hours before the Reception so we decided to return to the hotel to unpack and freshen up.
The following is a summary of what happen next:
• We picked up the keys to room 317 and went to unpack;
• After being in the room for about 10 minutes the door opened and a strange man walked in; the hotel had issued duplicate keys;
• We went to the front desk and they took our original set of keys and gave us new ones;
• So back to our room, the new keys didn’t work;
• Back to the Front Desk and explained the problem, again;
• At this point the Shuttle was boarding for the Reception so they gave us replacement keys and we went off to party;
• When we returned a little after midnight, went to our room, the keys didn’t work;
• At Reception desk the new Night Manager was reluctant to issue us another (fifth) set of keys; finally he relented, but checked the registration, just to be sure.
• At this point he discovered they had accidentally re-assigned us to room 314, and all along had been issuing keys to that room;
• Just before 1:00 am we got into our room.

The next morning, as we checked out, some of the staff from the day before where on duty again. They knew all about our problems with keys, changing clothes, missing the Wedding Service.
Not one person said they were sorry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel just recently. Very disappointed that the pool and hot tub were down for repairs. No one was working on it while we were there. The recreation pool is for kids, further walk is a salt pool for adults which parents brought their kids to. We could wallk down and across the busy road to the new phase with our towels,do not trust towels to be where needed..found that out...too much trouble. Cant drive if you had a few drinks!
Oh don't order the lamb..fatty,gamey and tough. No microwave or bar fridge. Wings way too salty! Simple breakfast was good.No activities to do in hotel during rainy weather.Noisy air conditioner. Elevator broken in new phase so walk up to see roof top view. So many disappointments after a long bike ride there,who wants to buy a time share. Not going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay. Yes we are in the process of many upgrades to the hotel which the indoor pool is one of those. Even though its never a pleasant experience to have the pool closed down we are fortunate to offer 3 other pools. We are applying a special type of paint which requires 7 days to cure before filling. We are excited to say the pool will be open this coming Monday. As well as part of our in room renovations we will be installing new fridges in each room creating a better experience for our guests. I hope you do come back and experience the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This timeshare and fractional ownership location also rents rooms. Stay in the 1st phase. The new phase is modern but has NO storage-you have to live out of your suitcase!! I had to remove small appliances from a cupboard in order to store dry foods away. The pool is AMAZING with a waterslide and indoor/outdoor hottubs! Hotel location is a 10 as it's in town and not in the mountains where you must drive to get everywhere. Try the Tapas restaurant but ask for a 2 for 1 coupon at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your positive feedback encourages us to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We recently spent the weekend at the Cranberry Resort. The room was neat and clean. It had a nice view of the grounds and a small waterfall. The staff was friendly and eager to help. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonBuckle, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will continue to stay at the Cranberry Golf Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Address: 19 Keith Avenue | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranberry Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.