We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't even pay for it - and it wasn't worth it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cranberry Resort to your Saves list
Cranberry Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19 Keith Avenue | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Collingwood
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I didn't even pay for it - and it wasn't worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The unit was a good size but very dirty. We were checked in and had to wait outside our room while they finished cleaning it. There was food left in the cupboards, the microwave smelled of over-cooked food which made the whole unit smell awful, there were bits of food still in the microwave, candy wrappers and garbage under the couch, food and crumbs on the couch, stains on the couch, crumbs on the floor of the living room area, found what we thought was an extra blanket in a drawer that had stains and garbage in it, no soap in the bathroom, dust around the tubs and everywhere else, and the continuous shuttle to the mountain they advertise is a lie.

Lori from VIP member services called 4 times, asked if everything was ok. When I mentioned the concerns she said she would have someone take care of it but nothing was done until I called the front desk two times and the staff took six hours to come and forgot to bring the soap. VIP services only cared to get me to the lobby to take a survey and look at the new units they were building.

We stayed in a two bedroom unit at the waterfront suites which are newer since all their timeshare viewings are done out of there, and although it was decent, it already looked run down. The carpet never made it all the way to the edge of the wall, the Windows didn't close all the way, the fireplace was coming off the wall, and the carpet was different colours. The walls are so thin we heard everything upstairs, in the halls, and even the traffic up and down the staircase. If you wanted to swim or use any of their facilities you had to drive to the main building. Because the rest of the unit was not clean we refrained from using anything in the kitchen. After calling in a late check out we received an unwelcomed wake up five separate times before the regular check out hour. The experience was horrible.

Good: WiFi in the room and plenty of parking.
Bad: Everything else.
Recommendation: I wouldn't unless it is as a last resort accommodation only to visit Blue Mountain, it's close enough to anything you'll need. But beware.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    112
    130
    101
    153
See reviews for
199
226
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bear Estate New Years Eve , They have to improve the Catering , for the price paid we should have a better quality New Years Eve Dinner . The Roast Beef was terrible , like rubber and not edible low quality , Raw , not cooked right , hastily done , tough , tasteless , chewy , everybody left it in their plates uneaten , potatoes ograten , passable , Ham , under cooked , vegetables , unappetising , little buns diner rolls , doughy , butter in small containers , reg garden salad , macaroni and cheese was the best , if you like that that is , Nice looking deserts but low in quality , cantaloup and pineapple fruit cut in a big plate , disappointed . The four girl band show act was nice to watch and was the highlight of the event . The D J was inconsistent and poor show with no New Years Party Dance Music . I had only 3 good dance for maybe 8 minutes in total . The rest was Video songs that you can watch on you tube , more visual than nice dancing music . Where is Tommy Dorcy's Big Band or similar . Who wants to dance to Brittany oops-I , or Rap Music on New Years Eve . We got a glass of bubbly at midnight , and there was a cash bar on the side , and coffee and tea in the lobby . Was not worth the money spent . The staff was very nice and friendly they tried to do their best . Conclusion , poor unqualified D.J. for the event , Poor Quality Catering , Nice and entertaining "Show " Naria .Paid 180.00 for a couple with taxes plus drinks consumed .

Room Tip: Go for the show and drinks but stay at home to eat .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I will ensure that the relevant departments receive your comments about the New Years Eve event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Club Cranberry condo suites which had very reasonable amenities with a full kitchen, utensils, dishwasher, etc for 4-6 people. The room was clean and had a nice fireplace with a moderate sized balcony.
Although the couches appeared old, everything was functional including the bathroom and kitchen appliances, very key. We prepared large meals everyday with visiting friends and had no issues.
The rec centre had snowshoeing as well as cross-country skis available for rent for a fairly low price, both of which was fun.
The resort is short distance to downtown Collingwood as well to the Blue Mountain ski hills and shopping Village.
Overall recommended if you want a moderate resort where you'll be spending most of your time away from the hotel room while still having great things to do on downtime-days.

Room Tip: Although it has numerous pots, pans, etc. included with the full kitchen, if you're an avid food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are please you enjoyed your stay, and amenities, and we hope to see you again at Cranberry Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a few days at the resort...hmm not a resort is it. It's a run down holiday inn. The staff at the desk are horrid. Zero people skills. The overuse of dollar store air freshener is disgustingly sweet ...instant headache and nausea. I have to say that the restaurant was okay for service and food quality. The hotel hallways had 7 foot ceilings and overall, the resort is dated. The room was bad...cheap construction, people constantly walking past our window and patio door looking in, hard pillows, the heater was not adjustable so it was either super hot or freezing. Neighbour room toilet was constantly whining. I woke every morning feeling unwell. Bottom line...you'd have to pay me to go back. I wanted to leave the moment I got there but we agreed to a presentation. The new resort is similar poor quality and filled with cheap furniture. Same thing but newer. You would think that the demo room would be flawless...not so much! Overall a one, location a three and the spa was not used.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and will ensure that he relevant departments receive your comments. We will be improving the hotel this year and take the reviews seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband is military and just came home from a 4 month military training course. So I thought this would be a great weekend getaway for us to enjoy while he was home, I was optimistic when we arrived and it just went down hill from there. Check in at four pm was disorganized our file was placed in the K pile when neither my husband or my names have a K in them anywhere, we arrived in our room to find that the doors are so thin you can hear the other guests conversation with out trying (word for word), we also found as we called to the front desk with questions our calls were not answered, the hotel seems to be understaffed, we also had the pleasure of being awakened to the sound of maids yelling and cursing up and down the hall ways. Our second evening we tried the food here at the cranberry resort only to find that the food arrived burned and tasted awful,we also found the Internet to be painfully slow and hard to connect to on our ipad/ iPhones. I have been all over the us and Canada and never have I been so disgusted by a "resort" as the cranberry deems its self. Also if you have any issues with stairs due to knee injuries or such there is no elevator here request the first floor if not you might have a problem. The only positive was that the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Township
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had two families with children booked into Cranberry Resort prior to New Years, planning on skiing at Blue Mountain. Both families had reserved separate rooms at the main Resort, specifically because the indoor pool was there and the children wanted to swim. Our reservations were not honoured and they overbooked the main resort, moving us down the road and across the street to their "waterfront" condos, the waterfront aspect being largely pointless in the middle of winter. Instead of two separate rooms, both families were crammed into a 2 bedroom condo unit that has seen better days. There are no facilities to speak of in that building, and we had to bundle the children up and drive back to the main resort to take them swimming. As a result of the room mix-up, we missed our dinner reservation and were forced to order out, to have dinner delivered. As it turns out, the official "address" registered to the unit telephones is the main hotel down the road, not the condos we were actually staying in, resulted in a failed dinner delivery which cost us money. We finally had to make a run to McDonalds at 9 pm in order to get the kids fed after multiple failed attempts to order in dinner. The pool was overcrowded and ran out of towels. So many people crammed into the change rooms that the clothing racks were torn out of the wall in the ladies washroom. No extra linen in the unit, so we had to find staff to get us extra blankets and pillows so that some of our party could sleep on the living room couch. All told, a generally unpleasant stay and would never go back to a hotel that gives away rooms reserved in advance, sending you to somewhere inferior that you never bargained for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at many timeshare resorts, my number one concern is a comfortable bed. Cranberry Resort has very comfortable beds. I believe most of the bedrooms have been updated. The mattress is soft on top and firm at the base. The comforter is snugly and the pillows are very soft. I always have a great sleep when I am there. I got to meet Daisy who is head of housekeeping, she was very accommodating to our needs.
The staff who manage the timeshare (RCI) are very helpful. They put together a nice package and are always friendly. Make sure you take advantage of the coupons.
There is always live music on Fridays and Saturdays which is nice if you don't feel like going out. I love the spa. It is ran by a separate company and is across the street. I recommend the body polish. There are also a couple of good restaurants in the plaza across the street.
Blue Mountain is about a ten minute drive. Fair skiing as it gets crowded. It is good for beginners to intermediates. There are many restaurants and some shops at the village. Theos is one of our favourites.
Now for the things which need improvement:
The fine dining restaurant on site needs to improve their quality. The menu is interesting but they need to be more consistent when it comes to quality. Number 2 the decor. I believe they are refreshing the units with new furniture. The look is dated but the units function well. There is plenty of room and I believe all units have a balcony. They do have updated units across the street if you prefer a modern look. I prefer being in the main building.
We will continue to come to Cranberry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I will ensure that the relevant departments receive your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, there are lots of improvements in the works this year, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Address: 19 Keith Avenue | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranberry Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.