We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay in Collingwood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Balsam St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3J4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Collingwood
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Stay in Collingwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights 4 days at this hotel. Picked because it had an indoor pool as the weather was hot during our stay. Hotel had handicapped parking and was close to all restaurants, shopping, the Blue mountain village and Wasaga Beach. A full breakfast was available and refilled as the morning wore on. Room was clean and comfortable. Air conditioning works well, sometimes had to be turned off, Towels were available in the pool area no need to bring own.
Would have been nice to have a small fridge to help keep cold drinks as humidex was reaching 44 degrees. Staff was friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Stayed in room 129 on a short wing of hotel. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    41
    17
    12
See reviews for
61
43
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed one night this past weekend for a wedding. Hotel was in a great location close to restaurants and walking & biking trails to Georgian Bay. Front desk staff were very friendly. Room was clean and bright. Breakfast was included with the room. It was better than expected. The only negative thing is that when I called ahead of time to ask if we could check in earlier than 3pm they said absolutely no due to the fact that they were booked solid. They offered up no alternatives such as holding our luggage for us or saying that they can't guarantee the room will be ready but if we wanted to come by to check if it is etc. I guess we've been spoiled by other hotels letting us check in earlier than what is posted on their website. In any event I would definately stay here again (knowing the check in time restraints).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. We planned a two day overnight stay with 3 of our grandchildren, ages 4, 5, and 6, and wanted a hotel near Wasaga Beach and Collingwood. We searched for hotels that offered complimentary breakfast and an indoor pool, and we were not disappointed with this hotel. The front desk staff were excellent at check in, and out and during our stay. The breakfast area was very clean, offered a good variety of foods, scrambled eggs, sausages, various breakfast breads and muffins, cereals, and the kids favourite - a pancake machine that the kids could operate themselves. The breakfast 'ladies' were great with the kids, and very friendly. The breakfast area was replenished constantly, and was immaculate! Our room had a pull out couch, and two queen beds, as well as a mini fridge and sink and microwave oven, perfect for 5. The beds were very comfy, and the room very clean. We were a little crowded, but we were only in the room at night, so we managed fine. The pool was smaller than we expected, and the room very warm, but the pool is heated, once we were in the water, we were fine. The kids loved the pool, and spent an hour and half in the water, each night after dinner, and before check out on Saturday. I would recommend this hotel, it is kid friendly and it seemed all the staff (from front desk, breakfast 'ladies' and the cleaning staff) had smiles on their faces and were extremely friendly, great service at this hotel, great area (visit the Village in Collingwood, and Wasaga Beach if you have children with you)! The kids were sad to leave, but when asked what they would like to do next year with 'Oma and Nonno", said they want to come back to this same hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, so much easier considering the ages of the children we had with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The wife and I returned to this hotel this year. There have been some improvements, most notably an expanded breakfast area that includes more seating. However, the pool needs to be upgraded - water was cloudy, there were some missing and cracked tiles on the perimeter and the shower head needs to be completely replaced. Hotel room was very nice...beds very comfortable and the bathroom was in good shape. Clock radio was broken and we mentioned this to the front desk in addition to the pool issues. As I understand, more improvements will be made to the hotel in the next year or so. You can't beat the location. Right at the base of Mountain Road. Blue Mountain Village is a 5 min. drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came back to Collingwood and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express again which is very close to Blue Mountain. When we checked in we stayed in the room right next to the one we stayed at last time. We had a king size bed and this time we had a fridge. The fridge was a major bonus for us as we brought our own food for a picnic. The hotel has done some renovations which is nice but it needs some more work. They have enlarged the breakfast area adding more seating. They are replacing mirrors and carpets in the off season. One area where they really need to do some major work is the swimming pool. The water was cloudy, the shower was broken and the tiles around the pool are broken and one is missing. The railing where you enter the pool is loose and the pool area is extremely hot and humid.

All in all this hotel is ok if you want to stay near Blue Mountain without paying through the nose. It was near all of the activities we liked to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Debbie K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to have you back at our property and that you appreciated our convenient location. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the condition of our facilities. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed one night, it was the only Collingwood hotel that could accommodate the 6 of us in one room. it was at a good location, close to everything I would say. the room was average but comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good, service was good. the pool was ok, but I noticed the emergency phone in the pool was missing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear tonynsof,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The rooms are made for ski bunnies. Lots of space for everything. The beds were comfortable and no bugs.The morning breakfast was great. I loved making my own hotcakes.The location of the hotel is close to everything. Great value when booking online rates. We would stay hear again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain

Address: 4 Balsam St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood Blue Mountain Hotel. We are a smoke free property. Our hotel features Complimentary Deluxe Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy our heated indoor pool, FREE high-speed Internet connection. Access to walking trails such as The Georgian Trail, Bruce Trail, Niagara Escarpment and Scenic Caves. The Holiday Inn Express in Collingwood/Blue Mountain is conveniently located 10 minutes from Wasaga Beach the worlds longest fresh water beach, Le Scandinave Spa, and only minutes away from the Village at Blue Mountain where you can experience the unique atmosphere year round.We are Close to industries including Pilkington Glass, Zellers, Home Depot, Rona, WalMart, Loblaw s and Zehrs Markets, Our large parking lot has room for RV's or trailers. WE ARE 100% SMOKE FREE .Holiday Inn Express with Sinton Bus Lines offers a weekly FREE trip to Casino Rama including a FREE dinner buffet at the casino. Holliday Inn Exress Collingwood/BlueMountain is two stories with an elevator and an indoor heated pool.A credit card is required upon arrival with photo identification. The cardholder must be 21 years of age and reside in the registered room. Cash or cheques will not be accepted as deposits or as an alternative to a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Collingwood
Holiday Inn Collingwood
Collingwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.