We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Inn Collingwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relax Inn Collingwood to your Saves list
Relax Inn Collingwood
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9448 Beachwood Road, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 0X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Collingwood
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean basic motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

On a weekend when everything in Collingwood was booked, we got the last room at the Relax Inn. Owned by a young family, they gave us a warm welcome. Our room with two double beds was clean and warm, and had a tiny kitchenette and microwave. There were NO BUGS. $110 was steep for this room, but we had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just stayed there for one night and I can't really complain. For sure it was only a simple Inn and not a comfortable hotel but for one night it was sufficient. It was clean and we didn't see any bugs or other insects. It looks and smells a little bit old but still acceptable. There was no breakfast included but you could still grab some coffee. The owner/receptionist was nice. Therefore if you are just searching for a place to sleep for one night which is not too expensive I can recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Okay, I'll get this straight. Please, please don't choose this inn if you ever want a good night's rest and especially NOT room #10. Just.. no. I was with my family on vacation and we chose this randomly off the GPS because the name sounded pleasant (spent the whole night scoffing mockingly at the name) and it was, honestly, one of the stupidest things. I spent my stay sleeping in the sofa bed with the most terrible mattress I've ever slept on. Sure, there was a stove and a big fridge and a nice little TV on the side of the room, but. I wanted to bathe and guess what I found? Two spiders in the bathtub. There was a window where anyone could've easily watched you shower. The next morning a CENTIPEDE crawled out of the bathtub's hole and I woke up with bug bites on my skin. Owners were NICE but can't be bothered. And it was expensive for such a crappy place. So, basically, just don't. Sorry.

Room Tip: Please don't choose room #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed Friday, September 7th and Saturday, September 8th, 2013. The queen room we had was basic but clean and comfortable - no bugs as mentioned in another review and all linens pristine. The hotel is in our preferred format for traveling to races: all one floor in an L-shape, with separate entrances looking in toward the parking lot, making it easy to load gear from your car into your room. The owners went out of their way to make our stay wonderful: I needed to print a page from an email I'd received on my mobile and they happily obliged, plus provided us with a couple of rain ponchos when I asked for some garbage bags to make some makeshift ones as the weather suddenly turned poor. The microwave and fridge in the room were excellent - the only thing missing was a coffee maker. The bed was firm but comfortable (though extra pillows would have been appreciated), the shower was marvelous, muskoka chairs outside the rooms provided a nice place to relax, heating and cooling were efficient and the roof was undergoing replacement while we were there. It's easy walking distance from a convenience store/gas station (200m West) and Rockdell Steakhouse (400m East), and located on a lane that leads down to a beautiful view of Georgian Bay. While the price is a bit high for a basic hotel, it's quite good when compared to others in the area for the same weekend - Collingwood/Wasaga has a huge tourist trade, so accommodations are a bit more costly than other places. It was everything we needed for the weekend, and the kindness and dedication to customer service of the owners made it a very enjoyable stay - we were informed that the previous management had let things deteriorate, but the lovely couple who run the hotel now are making great efforts to improve the experience for their guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to work in Collingwood for the weekend, td booked me a room at this motel. Bugs everywhere including bed. Dead bug smears across the walls. I worked 15 hours and stayed up with my shoe for a half hour killing bugs. Paid for two nights and packed up at 5am and never returned. Better off sleeping in my car. Bed came to your shin, only thing new was the ceramic tile they put on the bathroom floor. Red carpet and dirty old bed spread (yuck) I don't know how these people could look a customer in the face in the morning. No coffee maker. I turned the light on in the night and bugs scurried behind the baseboard heater. Holes in the tub surround and more bugs.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we stayed at this motel for a week-end and have really no complaints. It is an older motel with very clean rooms especially the beds and bathrooms. The owners were very friendly ,most accommodating and just wanted to please their customers. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced well located accommodation then certainly stay at the Relax Inn. Do not expect 5 star accommodation. It is simply put a motel with the basics - an inviting bed to crash on at the end of a long day, a microwave, a mini fridge, a television with drawers, a desk and chair, a rack with hangers and a freestanding shower stall with face sink (no shelving in the bathroom) and a toilet. Wifi access is available in room which is a plus! Great speed!

This hotel is suited for the traveler who is either doing a road trip and has packed their necessities such as snacks, microwavable meals and has walked with their toiletries. Even if you haven't packed much to munch on in your room you can always pop out to Tim Horton's which is less than a 5-7 minute drive away.

It is a great motel for either a couple or family who is spending most of their time outside of their room doing outdoor activities such as heading to Blue Mountains, Scenic Caves, Wasaga Beach or to a vineyard in the rural part of town like Georgian Hills and Ravenna. Everything is within driving distance of this motel.
It is well located!

The owner Ak is very friendly and truly wishes for you to feel comfortable and have a nice stay. He showed us two rooms, one that was very spacious with a sitting area and the basic cozy one I described above. We chose the basic one with a single bed since we were only 2 people. We stayed in room #12. It was clean, had an okay bathroom and we never felt unsafe.

Overall it is great for the traveler looking for well located, affordable, inviting accommodation with the basics and wifi access.

Room Tip: Book directly by calling the hotel. Businesses open after 9am in Collingwood so do not arrival ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relax Inn Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Collingwood

Address: 9448 Beachwood Road, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 0X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Relax Inn Collingwood 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Relax Inn Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Inn Collingwood Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relax Inn Collingwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.