We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This bed and breakfast has wonderful hosts who take excellent care of you with their home & delicious, healthy breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Lawrence House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joseph Lawrence House
Save
You added Joseph Lawrence House to your Saves list
492 Hurontario Street, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 2N1, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Collingwood B&B and Inns
London, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This bed and breakfast has wonderful hosts who take excellent care of you with their home & delicious, healthy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My daughter chose this bed and breakfast for us and it was a wonderful experience. The location is excellent in Collingwood. The hosts are intelligent and welcoming. The home is extraordinary. Everything was completely excellent in every way. The break fast was carefully prepared with the freshest, healthiest of ingredients. I would recommend this highly to anyone. It was a lovely, peaceful stay and we are most grateful to our wonderful hosts Janet and Darryl. It's definitely a place you should stay at!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Markham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stumbled accross his b&b not wanting to stay in the box hotels in the area. They hosts were extremely gracious and the rooms were extremely well appointed. We have stayed in a lot of b&b's and would say this was one of the top ones we have stayed in.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stopped by the B & B on the off chance that maybe they would have a room available & to our surprise we had the pick of the suites. We chose the largest suite with the jacuzzi tub & separate sitting room. Darrell & Janet were most welcoming & a wealth of information. The breakfast was most delicious. We will definately recommend them to our friends & plan to drop by again. Thankyou for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

My wife and I visited Collingwood to go skiing and decided to look into B&B's as a hotel alternative. We were so impressed by the Joseph Lawrence House that we will definitely stay here from now on. The house is an absolutely gorgeous Victorian Heritage House that is very authentic to the era. We stayed in the Victoria room, which had a fireplace, big comfortable bed and huge bathroom complete with a beautiful antique bathtub. My wife was really pleased with the towels and linens. We also really liked that there was a large guest living room with fireplace, t.v. and couches that we were free to lounge and unwind in. The proprietors, Janet and Darrell, were very friendly and offered good advice on the area's restaurants. Probably the best feature was the breakfast. We awakened to the smell of boutique fair-trade coffee that was incredible! Homemade baked bread, muffins and scones, fruit salad, yogurt, choice of frittata or French toast, etc. etc. We met another couple who was staying in the suite and we all agreed that the breakfast alone was worth the stay. If you don't mind the 10 minute or so drive to Blue Mountain, it's tough to beat this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joseph Lawrence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Lawrence House

Address: 492 Hurontario Street, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 2N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star rated Joseph Lawrence House B&B is a Designated Heritage Building where you can enjoy Victorian elegance from the early days of old Collingwood. From our ample free off-street parking, we are an easy walking distance from the shops, and fine restaurants of Collingwood's Heritage District. We are close to ski runs, the Bruce Trail, other trails for hiking and biking, the Scenic Caves, Scandinave Spa, Wasaga Beach and the natural beauty of Southern Georgian Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joseph Lawrence House Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Lawrence House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.