We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Lovely welcome & great antiques!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Lawrence House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joseph Lawrence House
Save
You added Joseph Lawrence House to your Saves list
492 Hurontario Street, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 2N1, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place. Lovely welcome & great antiques!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B recently in the Sarah Room . Very comfortable room. We had a friendly welcome from Janet & Darrell. They were both extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and information on the area's Darrell is a mine of information and we had long chats about the history of the house and about the area. Such care was taken with the breakfasts too - really gourmet! The blueberry muffins were delicious and so light - Janet packed us up a couple for our lunch which was very thoughtful.

The house is really interesting and furnished with lots of antiques. Even though it is on a busy road you couldnt hear the traffic - it was very quiet. Also within easy reach of everything. The guest parlour was very comfortable too with TV, DVD, etc. There was also an antique organ/harmonium which I was allowed to play which was a delight.

We visited two of the recommended restaurants - Beaver & Bulldog and the Harbour Fish Bar. We love our food and we found these extremely good with quick service.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay - thanks to Janet & Darrell. We would have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

You'd feel like you've known Darrell & Janet for a long time, even if it's just your first time at their B&B. Anything you need, they have something to offer or suggest and it always comes with a smile. Janet prepared a delightful fresh-cooked breakfast and Darrell, a walking 'Wikipedia', enlivened the conversation among us guests at the breakfast table. Our room and the rest of the house are well-furnished, spotless, and very elegant. If I may suggest, a TV in the room and a few extra electrical outlets would further enhance the experience for geeky-couples like us, who bring a ton of electronics whenever we leave home. A great relaxing stay nonetheless, courtesy of our fabulous hosts.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My friend and I always do a girls getaway jaunt to Collingwood in the fall. By chance we came about on the internet the Joseph Lawrence House. We decided to try this historic home as a bed and breakfast for our Saturday night. They were so gracious and kind to us like, we were one of their family members. I learned so much about Collingwood in the short time that we were there in all of the 10 years that we had been coming up. It is by far one of the best in the region. Number 1 in our books.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a great stay at the Joseph Lawrence House. Janet and Darrell were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and restaurants to enjoy - wonderful ambassadors for the Collingwood area. The house was beautiful, quiet and within walking distance to the downtown and local historic sites. Breakfast was beautifully presented and very delicious with fresh local ingredients. We would definately recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Collingwood and area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I took a mini vacation in Collingwood to attend the spa. We stayed at the Joseph Lawrence house: The house and hosts were amazing. The house is beautiful and spotless as well.. Our hosts were very friendly and breakfast was not only delicious but the conversation was wonderful. Will stay there again whenever we go to Collingwood. I give this bed and breakfast a five out of five for everything!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I am a weary traveller of 30 years on the road. I had the opportunity of staying with Janet and Darrell Reeder in their exquisite B&B. If passion and purpose of the proprietors were the measurement for chosing one B&B from another I have no hesitation in stating that Joseph Lawrence House is No 1 on any travellers list of Collingwood locations.

Whilst the house if it could speak clearly has a few tales to tell, the attention to detail for the weary traveller is the highest quality and very peaceful. Janet and Darrell provide you the personal space you need, invisible or quite interactive, your choice to engage them. I would recommend with no hesitation Joseph Lawrence House. Well Done - Janet and Darrell.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Old Victorian house exquisitely restored and appropriately decorated.
Ample, tasty, breakfasts -- more than we expected.
Mild, fresh-roasted house-blend coffee.
Pleasant, knowledgeable conversation and informed recommendations.
Relaxed, unhurried atmosphere.
Easy walk to historic downtown, maybe 5 blocks away.
Beautiful, peaceful, carefully tended gardens.
Best B&B we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms. 1 is a big private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joseph Lawrence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Lawrence House

Address: 492 Hurontario Street, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 2N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star rated Joseph Lawrence House B&B is a Designated Heritage Building where you can enjoy Victorian elegance from the early days of old Collingwood. From our ample free off-street parking, we are an easy walking distance from the shops, and fine restaurants of Collingwood's Heritage District. We are close to ski runs, the Bruce Trail, other trails for hiking and biking, the Scenic Caves, Scandinave Spa, Wasaga Beach and the natural beauty of Southern Georgian Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joseph Lawrence House Collingwood, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Lawrence House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.