We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelled with grandchildren” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Birches Restaurant

The Birches Restaurant
1755 Valley Rd. | Hidden Valley Resort Muskoka, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
705-789-2301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 65 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sudbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Travelled with grandchildren”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrived late in the afternoon with grandchildren after visiting Santa's Village. Looked forward to swimming in both pools and using the hot tub (at least the pictures made it look like there was a hot). Hotel was nice. Kids were anxious to go for a swim before supper. Indoor pool was nice. Outdoor pool was disgusting! Did not go in it and neither did the other guests. Hot tub turned out to be a wooden staircase to the outdoor pool!!!
After a nice swim and sauna, we decided to go for supper, which lasted longer than anticipated. We promised the kids to rise early and go for another swim in the morning. Check out was 11:00 AM, which gave us plenty of time to shower afterwards and the pool opened at 6:00 AM.
Imagine our dissapoitment at 8:00 AM when we reached the pool area, only to find that the pool had been shocked and would not be ready for use until almost 10:00. I spoke to the manager, who agreed with me when I suggested that the pool be maintained in the middle of the night when guests would not be using it. He said he would speak to the maintenance man about it, but it was already too late. We showered and left with 2 very dissapointed children. I tried several times to get a refund, or at least a partial refund, but was unsuccessful.
Also, it was very difficult to find this hotel as there are no markings on the road.
Should you book here, make sure to ask if both pools are cleaned and ready for use.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dinner was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Dinner was just ok. Lukewarm and not all that good. Breakfast on the other hand was very good and lots of it. We would recommend their breakfast and hope their dinners improve.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Advertised as upscale with an "executive chef". The food was good, but certainly not gourmet. More like a pub menu with lots of pizza, nachos, burgers, and about 5 standard entrees.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food and considerate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The restaurant in the resort is excellent with high quality of food, considerate service and beautiful lake view. Our package includes two breakfast buffets and kids under 12 eat at half price around $5.99.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Double tipping ? Includes 15% gratuity on bill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We had dinner here in August 2010. There was no mention of a gratuity being added to the bill ahead of time. 15% was entered into the price in very small print. Then there was a line for you to enter your tip amount before totalling the bill. Wonder how many people double tip.

We definitely would not have tipped the waiter 15%. The service was so incredibly slow and they were not very busy. Waited 15 minutes for our drink order to be taken, another 15 minutes later he came back for the food order (no drinks delivered - they were coming he said) then the waiter did not appear again for at least 30 minutes when he delivered our food order. Still no drinks - they followed about 10 minutes later. Then we had to go looking for him to get our bill. When the waiter gets an automatic 15% tip I guess the service doesn't matter. We stayed at the hotel 4 nights but only ate there the first night due to the slow service. Never again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birches Restaurant also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to The Birches Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Birches Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.