We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delivery of food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer's Tall Trees Restaurant

Spencer's Tall Trees Restaurant
87 Main St W, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1X1, Canada
(705) 789-9769
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“delivery of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Overall was excellent, top notch if you don't mind your reservation getting messed up, waiting a bit for a table then waiting an hour and forty five minutes for your appetizers to get to the table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    31
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Plesant Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We attended for lunch recently. Ate in the Muskoka Room. Nice environment for late spring warm day. Service was very attentive and professional. Food was great. Chef managed to make an old staple, calamari both unique and scrumptious. The onion slivers were a great compliment. My "better half" had not had liver in a while but is very particular about this dish given our Waterloo Region roots. She was very complimentary. I chose the pickerel. The glaze was the best I have had anywhere. Fish itself done just right.
We cottage about 30 minutes away but will be making the trip to Spencer's again. The combination of very dedicated service with great food will make up for the required "jaunt" even in the off season.
P.S. great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my firt time dining at Tall Trees and I will definitely go back. the service was excellent, the view fantastic, and the food delicious.

I had the duck confit poutine and the veal oscar. They were both fabulous. I was too full for dessert, but everything sounded amazing.

There were some nice touches that I think are important to note. They brought out olive oil and balsamic vinegar instead of butter, had pink Himalayan sea salt on the tables, and they had a peppercorn blend on all of the tables.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huntsville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Six of us went for dinner one night. The service is excellent and the food is very good. I made the mistake of ordering the strip loin steak, which was on special. It was not good. Very tough. Everyone else's food was very good. Although I did not eat my steak, nothing was done about it. Will choose prime rib next time. Will go back again for sure.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Been many times over the years since the Spencer's bought Tall Trees, but never felt compelled to write a review. The staff does not turn over like at many other places. This means that they get to know you and your likes and dislikes. We usually have one of the Table d'Hote offerings (usually a selection between fish, prime rib, chicken, or pasta) with appetizer and dessert. Menu items are also very good.

The atmosphere, being an old home, is truly warm no matter what time of year you attend. Tall Trees in Huntsville is truly a four season establishment that provides great food at a fair price.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencer's Tall Trees Restaurant also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Spencer's Tall Trees Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer's Tall Trees Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.