We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Hotel in Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Howland Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2P9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Hotel in Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

New hotel with good quality modern fixtures, furnishing. Very Good value, circa $80 CAD + TAX for a large room with 2 kingsize beds, fridge, TV, WIFI access. Breakfast was included but very basic continental we chose to drive into town and get breakfast at "That Little place between the lights" - good food / coffee and very reasonable
The hotel was located on the West side Huntsville on the main road a 5-10 min walk from the main town of Huntsville but in our opinion the right side of town away from the fast food chains, many chain hotels and chain business on the East side of Huntsville
We stayed 2 nights 13/14 May 09 originally it was going to be 1 as it was to be a stop over on the way through Alogonquin park but due to rain we stayed another night. As the weather was not great for hiking the park we drove around the Muskoka area exploring the towns instead the hotel had a lot of information about what to do in the area (even on a rainy day). The Algonquin park was around 45 min drive with plenty of options for canoing/hiking we spotted 2 Moose one close to the west entrance and one at the east entrance

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    68
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
82
65
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

This was our 3rd stay over the last two years at the property, and like the previous two, an expected great value and choice in the Huntsville area. We actually (twice now) have stayed in this hotel while attending a function next door (at the Best Western).

We find the hotel, clean, service attentative and pleasant, the rooms (and proprty as a whole) well maintained - cookie cutter HIE and great value. It has a small pool, fitness room, and two interent stations (free) along with free high speed in the rooms. Morning breakfast is HIE common in a large lounge area. Across the street are several chain restaurants, a large grocery store, and a WalMart. It is easy accessaible from the highway and a short drive to the main street of the town.

This time while there, power in the area went out (with 100kph winds blowing throught the area) for about 1 hour in the morning. We just walked downstairs and had breakfast (that was still being served). The staff downstairs offered guests flashlights if wanting (though light out by then) and advice on what to do / not to do until the power was restored to the area.

Having stayed here now three times since the proprty opened, the Motel 6 two doors down once previous, and at functions at the Best Western twice, think the HIE the best choice of the three. The Motel 6 is marginally cheaper, with a same size pool and rooms noticeably smaller with a cheaper feel. The Best Western has the same size pool and a small hot tub, with the lobby / breakfast and common areas being very clean but having a more economy feel (and when looking at the cost of the rooms, was slightly more expensive than the HIE). Have as well stayed at the Comfort Inn and numerous other properties in the town over the years. If needing / looking for accomodation in the Huntsville area, would recommend this hotel with hesitation - it is our choice every time now.

  • Liked — Location, value, and quality of the property.
  • Disliked — If looking to walk the main street, this property is a 5 miniute drive to "downtown".
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We have been coming to Huntsville for the past few years and stayed at the Best Western which has been mediocre, but within expectations for this level hotel. The Holiday Inn was new and so we tried it based on the very good reviews the hotel had, and we were not disappointed.

We paid a rate of $161 plus tax, but we were four and had a nice room with two queen sized beds, our children spent a lot of time in the pool and we found the breakfast to be the best we've ever had where they were free with the stay. There was a good assortment of food, some warm food, and some more healthy choices as well. The scrambled eggs were actually quite good.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Not much choice of hotels in Huntsville. A couple of nice, big resorts, but for hotels, it's more the motel/Comfort Inn type. This is probably the best, barring the resorts, and is very nice. It's quite new and I think that makes a difference. Good sized room, large bed with duvet and sheets. Bathroom with granite.

Breakfast is ok, scrambled eggs and bacon and sausage, some bagels and muffins and yogurt; nothing amazing, no fresh fruit or granola or anything like that, but adequate. Pool and exercise room looked nice, though we didn't use it. The location.... could be anywhere and it overlooks a Walmart (yuk!), and not really walkable to the nice part of Huntsville - well, it would be a decent walk I guess, or a quick drive. We were only there for one night and had toured the nice part of Huntsville before booking into the hotel. If it were in a prettier location, it would be certainly be nicer, but likely more expensive then. The price was pretty good.

  • Liked — new, clean
  • Disliked — overlooking a Walmart
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

I stayed here while passing through town as I was heading back to Toronto after dropping my daughter off at a camp much further north. I didn't book in advance so just walked up and got a decent $99 rate -- not bad for a holiday weekend. And exceptionally friendly at the front desk. What a difference that makes, especially after a 600 km drive!

Very clean, new rooms, flat screen TV, coffee maker, and a great overall feel to the place. Way better than most 3-stars and some 4-stars. Other than the food for breakfast (very decent), there's no restaurant on site for lunches and dinners, but you can order in from a number of local places.

A great stay for a really decent price.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable, with free internet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed here for two nights while my husband was doing a triathlon in town. The hotel looks practically brand-new. Our room was impeccably clean and very fresh, with lovely soft duvets. Our room was a little dark but otherwise great.

The hotel staff were very friendly. They spoke to us every time we passed the front desk and were helpful with directions and suggestions for points of interest.

The pool is small but clean and pleasant. The exercise room was well-equipped. It looks out on the bank of elevators, so if you're self-conscious when you work out, it might not be for you.

The hotel actually started their continental breakfast early for all the athletes, which was very impressive. The food is nothing remarkable, but fine - the usual bagels, toast, cereal, eggs, bacon, yogurt. The coffee is probably my only complaint - it's terrible!

The hotel is located across from a big "box mall" with a grocery store, a few restaurants, a Wal-Mart and a few other stores. It's a decent hike from downtown Huntsville (maybe 5 km, but hilly), but it's only a 5 minute drive.

We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and were very impressed. The hotel is clearly very new and is in excellent condition. We had a king room which was extremely spacious and well equipped with a comfy bed, big LCD tv and a luxurious bathroom.

The breakfast was also good with a decent selection, including warm things like cinnamon rolls and eggs, sausage etc.

  • Liked — Luxurious and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Location is not really downtown Huntsville, it's on a retail park about 5/10 minutes drive away
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville

Address: 100 Howland Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in Muskoka, ON Offers Guests a Pleasant and Peaceful Escape Conveniently located where Highways 11 and 60 meet, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Huntsville is situated in the heart of Ontario's most breathtaking landscape. Within walking distance of stores & restaurants, our hotel provides guests with plenty to experience throughout their stay. Less than two kilometers from our Huntsville accommodations, guests can re-visit history at the Muskoka Heritage Place, enjoy an arts performance at the Algonquin Theatre or go boating at Hutcheson or Avery Beach. Perfect for a day trip, Algonquin Provincial Park and the Trans-Canada Trail are also within a short distance of the hotel. Business travelers can appreciate that Kimberly Clark, Hydro One, KWH Pipe and Tembec are less than three kilometers from our convenient Huntsville hotel. Canada Post and Wal-mart are also located nearby. During your stay, feel free to take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access and complimentary breakfast. We invite you to relax by a warm fire in the hotel's great room and bird-watch on our outdoor patio. A heated, indoor pool, a fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, a convenience store and pet-friendly rooms are also available for your convenience. Be sure to explore our Huntsville hotel's excellent rates and plan your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntsville
Holiday Inn Huntsville
Holiday Inn Express Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.