We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Howland Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2P9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. The only issue I had was with a large diesel vehicle parked under my window at back that started the engine idling at 6am and left it running for over half an hour (so I didn't get to sleep in a bit). Great location near Hwy 11, front desk staff were VERY accommodating, room was clean and spacious, bed was comfy. Breakfast was good. If you aren't wanting/needing a resort style property then this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Canadiantravellady;

Thank you for your glowing review of our location. I am sorry that the idling truck outside your window disturbed your sleep.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the plush amenities provided through out your stay; including the comfortable bed and the complimentary full hot breakfast.
It always brings a smile to my face to hear that the staff went above and beyond to accommodate your requests and needs through out your stay as well.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely;
Matthew Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    64
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
76
61
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel seemed to be fairly new. Very clean and comfortable place to stay. The rooms were very spacious and the bed was comfortable, just what I needed.
The staff is very friendly and was able to get me into a room even though I checked-in a little early. After a long drive, it was very appreciated.
The hotel is across the street from a few restaurants, a Walmart and Superstore and just off the highway making it a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Darth1Vader;

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a response on our property. I am pleased to see that, we were able to accommodate your request for an early arrival, and that you had a comfortable stay after your long drive to Huntsville.
We are very fortunate to be so conveniently located to many shops and restaurants, to make your stay even more relaxed.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely;
Matthew Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

To be honest, there really isn't anything to critique this hotel. Our arrival was smooth and quick. The rooms, esp. the suites, are definitely larger than usual. They are fully equipped with mini-fridge, microwave and wet-bar, and very clean. The breakfast was plentiful with scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals, yogurt, pancake machine, juices, oatmeal, and muffins. The morning attendant to the breakfast, was also on-top of things, that may have 'run low', over the time of service.
The pool was small, warm but, clean. No whirlpool. The fitness centre was clean as well as fairly updated.
It's location was ideally close to the main highways, as well as across the street from a SmartCentre, which included a Walmart, grocery store, and restaurants.
HI Expresses are definitely giving Fairfield Inn (by Marriott), some stiff competition .
Will happily return. A special thanks to Ashley, at reception , who was very helpful in getting us around town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Adrian Sly;

WOW! - Thank you for your detailed and graciously positive review of our hotel!
I am delighted to hear that not only were you happy with our amenities provided, but that our staff are going over and above to make those moments memorable to you.
I'm pleased to say we are among the best of ALL the Holiday Inn Express properties in the ENTIRE COUNTRY!!!
I enjoyed your comment about the stiff competition we are giving our competitors; we like to set the bar high and aim for the top in everything we do.

We look forward to your next trip to Huntsville. Please feel free to contact our Guest Service Manager directly at gsm@huntsville-hotel.com when considering your next trip and she will be happy to make sure your stay is everything you expect.

Sincerely;
Matthew Phillips
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the better Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Very clean and bright, perfect pillows and a most comfortable bed. Nice modern furniture and very nice breakfast room which is well stocked with delicious food. The staff were very hospitable and the location is quiet but convenient to downtown Huntsville. Good restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear DWGB;

I am delighted to read your fantastic review of our Hotel. We put a lot of emphasis on exceeding the expectations of our valued guests; and I see from the points you touched on, that we are achieving this goal :-)
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, I am confident that you will help many future guests in making their travel plans to Muskoka.

We await your return stay with us!

Sincerely,
Matthew Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Here's what we look for in a hotel when we travel:

1) Comfortable and spacious rooms;
2) Affordable prices;
3) Cleanliness (not only in our room, but the hotel in general);
4) Friendly/Courteous/Helpful Staff;
5) Any amenities we consider bonus.

The Holiday Inn in Huntsville met most of those criteria.

The room we stayed in was large though, in all honesty they're not all that size. There was another couple travelling with us and their room was smaller though still fine.

The room itself (and hotel) was very clean and that's always comforting.

As for the staff - everybody we met was fantastic. From offering tips on where to eat (and phoning the restaurants for us) to giving us directions to helping out with the breakfast, everybody was kind and smiling. Couldn't ask for more.

The price is a little much but take that with a grain of salt because I find the prices of all hotel rooms a little much. $355 for two nights is a king's ransom but I'm sure a lot of you are thinking that's a more than fair price. I guess it's a matter of perspective on that.

As for the amenities, didn't try the pool (though it was dirty) or the exercise room but appreciate the fact they do have them. Also appreciate the free wi-fi which I think is becoming a must.

All-in-all, solid stay and we'll likely return next year when we re-visit Huntsville.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Trevor and Trin....G;

I am pleased to hear that we were able to meet a lot of your criteria list of your travel expectations.
Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the hotel, our Housekeeping staff show true passion in their work to make sure to exceed your expectations.
I am glad that we could offer you assistance in making your dining plans, and directions to your desired activities. We put great emphasis on going that extra mile to ensure your stay is memorable.
You mentioned a slight concern with the rate; our rates do fluctuate both daily and seasonally, as do most other accommodation sites in a tourist community such as ours.
We look forward to your return next year when you are in Huntsville again. Please feel free to contact our Guest Service Manager directly when making those return plans and she will personally see that your entire criteria list is met to your satisfaction.

Sincerely;
Matthew Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

the suite is quite spacious. dairy queens, kelseys restaurant and wallmart just across the street. very convinience. front desk very accomodating even at first mistakenly gave us a regular room when we paid for suite, mistake was quickly ractify and we are giben a proper roos as we ordered.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Contributor;

Thank you for submitting a review of your most recent stay with us. I am happy that although a mistake was made in your reservation, it was able to be rectified to your satisfaction in such a timely manor. I appreciate your patients and understanding in the matter.
Thank you also for providing us with a few more pictures to share with future travelers, This really helps when people are making their travel decisions.

We hope to see you again,

Sincerely;
Matthew Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We got rained out on our camping trip in algonquin and the staff espically Kate at the front desk helped accommodate all of our needs to warm up and heal our mosquito bites. Overall this hotel is great and I would certainly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Phillips_GM2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Ken B;

We are so grateful for your Awesome review of our property.
Although your vacation plans got rained out, we are glad that our front desk agent (Kate) could comfort you and your family, and provide a warm place to escape the rain and the mosquitoes.
Staff that go above and beyond the call of duty to provide superb service are what we look for in our team members.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell us your story. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Matthew Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville

Address: 100 Howland Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in Muskoka, ON Offers Guests a Pleasant and Peaceful Escape Conveniently located where Highways 11 and 60 meet, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Huntsville is situated in the heart of Ontario's most breathtaking landscape. Within walking distance of stores & restaurants, our hotel provides guests with plenty to experience throughout their stay. Less than two kilometers from our Huntsville accommodations, guests can re-visit history at the Muskoka Heritage Place, enjoy an arts performance at the Algonquin Theatre or go boating at Hutcheson or Avery Beach. Perfect for a day trip, Algonquin Provincial Park and the Trans-Canada Trail are also within a short distance of the hotel. Business travelers can appreciate that Kimberly Clark, Hydro One, KWH Pipe and Tembec are less than three kilometers from our convenient Huntsville hotel. Canada Post and Wal-mart are also located nearby. During your stay, feel free to take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access and complimentary breakfast. We invite you to relax by a warm fire in the hotel's great room and bird-watch on our outdoor patio. A heated, indoor pool, a fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, a convenience store and pet-friendly rooms are also available for your convenience. Be sure to explore our Huntsville hotel's excellent rates and plan your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntsville
Holiday Inn Huntsville
Holiday Inn Express Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.