We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Bay Cottage Resort

Save Saved
You added Colonial Bay Cottage Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   2218 Route # 60, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent 3 days at Colonial Bay for some much-needed time away from the city, and were quite happy we chose this resort. The motel room was very comfortable and suited our needs nicely. The swimming was great, and just sitting in the Adirondacks at the water's edge was enough to wash away the stress of every day life. There is a restaurant right across the street, which was convenient, and there was a little kitchenette in our room for when we just wanted to stay in for the night. Nicolle and Bruce were friendly and accommodating hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. Next time we're in Huntsville we'll be sure to stop by!
~Sarah and Charlie

Room Tip: Great for families with little kids; good swimming; great hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were there this weekend and it was fantastic. Was the first weekend outside the city since we arrived and we feel like in the Paradise. The motel is so good and Natalie and Bruce are amazing people, very kind and friendly. They have canoes, kayaks and bbq for the hostages so it's perfect to have a relax and funny vacations.
We 'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Repeat visitor here. Colonial Bay and its hosts never disappoint. The cabin is clean and has everything you need, including a nice view and a bbq. Tons of property for the children to run. The Howells are friendly hosts. A peaceful, simple family vacation. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We did a fly drive around Ontario for our honeymoon last October and Huntsville was one of our stops. This place is stunning. The view from the lake is amazing. We should have stayed in the motel part of colonial bay but as it was our honeymoon the owner very kindly moved us to a cottage. The cottage was superb, very clean and the facilities are fab. You get a BBQ on your terrace which we used. Overall a lovely stay. We will definitely be going back sometime.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Colonial Bay and we loved it!
We arrived late on the Friday night and felt bad for turning up after dark, however, we were greeted with a really warm welcome and made to feel right at home! We were sharing a 2 bedroom cottage with our friends and although it was quite small, it was clean and comfortable and it had everything we could need and we were really happy with it! These cottages are located right on the lake and it's simply stunning, I could sit and look at the view all day long!! It's about a 20 min drive to Algonquin park and 10 mins to Huntsville which was perfect for us.

I would 100% stay here again, the owners are lovely, the cabins are clean and the view is amazing. Can't recommend highly enough!

The only tiny note I'd make is that, although there's free wifi, it's not easy to get connected and will very often kick you out if you are successful BUT you're more than likely on holiday so shouldn't be on the Internet anyway :) but just in case you were planning on using the Internet to plan walks (like we were) maybe try and plan before you arrive. In fairness, the owner did say we could use the office if we were stuck.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialBay, Owner at Colonial Bay Cottage Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your great review. Somehow the chance to sit on a cottage deck with a view of the lake just captures the soul…

Since your visit we have had a company review the internet connectivity problem we were all experiencing and happy to report it is fixed. It turned out to be a software problem in the router.


Bruce and Nicolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from quebec
The owners were very welcoming
Beautiful spot on the lake
Great pleasant stay being by the lake there was a lot of mosquito ,so be prepared.
Breakfast provided was presented in a basket delivered to the door.
And different for each day we stayed.
There is a pub restaurant across the road and a convenience store also.
You need to drive into Huntsville to do shopping which is about 6km away. A most enjoyable relaxing stay after visiting some of Canada's major cities .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked to take my Mum to see the fall colours in Algonquin.
The owner was very kind and helpful at check-in, and showed us to our cabin. The cabin was clean, spacious and very well equiped. TV was great, the kitchen had everything you could want and the beds were comfortable and warm.
It was too cold to swim in the lake, but it was crystal clear and looked very inviting. There are boats and kids toys to play with, plus a fire pit with Muskoka chairs for evenings.
I would go back and I would recommend this resort. It was very handy for Algonquin and there is a pub opposite if you can't be bothered to cook!
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for one of the deluxe cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonial Bay Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Bay Cottage Resort

Address: 2218 Route # 60, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Bay Cottage Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to Algonquin Park and Huntsville on the shore of Peninsula Lake. Individual year round lakeside Cottages and Suites. Family friendly atmosphere. Summer activities; boating, swimming, canoeing, hiking, campfires & waterskiing. Winter activities; ski, snowmobile, skate, snowboard. Cottage amenities; fireplace, kitchen, air jet tub, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Colonial Bay Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Bay Cottage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.