We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pow Wow Point Lodge

Save Saved
You added Pow Wow Point Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pow Wow Point Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 Grassmere Resort Road, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Huntsville
Ancaster ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great experience at Powwow Point Lodge. It was very quaint and relaxing. Lots of activities for the kids and the food was pretty good too, desserts were fantastic. Everything was very clean, we have 2 girls and didn't have to deal with any spiders or webs. The staff was very friendly and always eager to help if needed. We will probably book again next year.

Room Tip: We liked the cabin, it was nice for a change over a hotel room. It had a large commercial hotel air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went with my husband August 16-19 (3 nights, 2 days) and it was a romantic getaway for us. This resort is definitely geared toward young families, but that didn't bother us one bit- we were more than ecstatic to be there without our own three kids (the oldest is only 4!)

Definitely the one thing that we were most impressed with was the service and friendliness of the staff. A++++ for each one of them! We bought our weekend with a Wagjag Jaunt so we actually got a great price for the getaway (especially for Muskoka, we got a smoking price!)- I would never pay full price for any resort.

We stayed in a standard room, as opposed to a deluxe suite, room or cabin. All I can say about the room, while very clean, it was just "meh." Nothing amazing about it. Keeping with the traditional Muskoka lodge ambiance, there was no TV or telephone in the room, which was fine because our whole point of going was to connect with each other, not the remotes :P We had a king size bed, but it wasn't very comfortable because it was really two twin beds side by side, which easily could have been hidden by a mattress topper but it wasn't, so the "seams" in the middle where they came together kind of got in the way and was uncomfortable. The rest of the room was just dated- the lamps and quilt, and tile in the bathroom... all cosmetic stuff but definitely could use some freshening up. And we actually were right on top of another room, so you could hear them talking downstairs (not the actual conversation, just muffled sounds), and when they flushed and all that. That was kind of a bummer.

The resort is very close to Arrowhead Provincial Park, which we went to for the two beautiful bike trails. Took 10-15 minutes to get there and we were able to rent a day pass from Pow Wow for a few bucks less than getting one at Arrowhead. That was definitely a highlight, and we also tried the hiking trail at Pow Wow, which is 5.3km (1.5-2hrs), but we somehow missed some of the markers on the trail and cut it down to a thirty minute walk by taking some random shortcuts :S

The meals were not 5star quality, but they were included in our package and were still really good!! I'd say 3.5 out 5, especially because there was good variety on the menus and the portions were perfectly sized- for a woman! My husband was very disappointed with the portions because he easily could have had two. But then again, I can appreciate that food is not wasted and you have enough for a healthy, balanced meal. Totally enough when you have three meals a day. Just bring your own snacks! We had a mini fridge in our room which was a pleasant surprise so the night we got there we went into Huntsville to stock up at Walmart on water bottles and snacks.

A highlight from our weekend was Sunday afternoon, when we got the chance to go tubing and waterskiing!! Doug was super patient with me because I totally sucked and kept wiping out, but I finally got up! And then I fell again :P but it was really fun to try it, and we have no water toys of our own, and never get to do the fun stuff, so we really loved that. And there was a huge Iceberg (rock climbing of sorts, but much easier! If I can do it, you can do it!) and a water trampoline and a couple of big water slides which were all awesome! we are both 25 and had a blast- it's not just for the kids!... I don't recommend the hot tub/pool/sauna... it's very dated and could definitely use a makeover. But when it's nice outside you spend all your time in the lake anyways!

I wouldn't recommend this as a couples resort by any means- there is no spa, a very tiny beach geared to the kids, there are lots of kids and the cabins are not secluded, etc. But we have kids so we really didn't mind.

Overall, the "meh " room was totally overshadowed by how much fun we had and it was the perfect getaway for us! We could easily have stayed a few more days and enjoyed every last second there. We will definitely be coming back for a romantic escape (don't need much more than two people for that lol) plus we like to do all the stuff they have! tons of options for keeping active- kayaking, canoeing, swimming, ping pong, basketball, hiking, biking etc. and in the future we will be coming back with our kids! This is the kind of resort you want to bring your kids back to year after year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time to the Muskoka's The whole experience at Pow Wow was wonderful. Surrounded by breathtaking scenery. The staff and meals were great. A great place to escape and unwind. Lots of water sports for everyone. Thanks for the Muskoka experience :)

Room Tip: Must be able to see the water. It's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My fiance and I spent a weekend here recently. For the amount of money we paid, we were expecting an exceptional experience. It was average to say the least. We felt like we were at a 3 star cuban resort. I would not recommend this resort for couples. Pow Wow is a family resort. A lot to do for children/families, but there isn't anything geared toward couples. There was nowhere to hang out at night aside from the main lounge area and basement games room; which both were filled with kids playing on their ipads or playing with each other. Not bad, just not the kind of scene we were looking for. Our room was a great size, nice and clean, but the bed was hard. We both had a difficult time sleeping. The food.... well, let me just say if any of you have ever worked in the Alberta Oil Sands, it is the exact same quality. They should definitely put more money into the meals they provide. Poor poor poor. The chicken was pink; not undercooked, just very low grade meat. Pink chicken is pumped full of sodium. The 'cheap meat' as referred to working in management in the Alberta Oil Sands. Our roasted potatoes were undercooked every time we ordered them and same goes for the breakfast potatoes. Biting into a raw potato....barf. Bacon wasn't grade F, (the cheapest of cheap) but pretty close. They should check their kitchen staff and check the quality of what they are ordering from the supplier. I am sure they order their meat from the same supplier we ordered from out in the sands. We skipped breakfast on the last day and opted to wait 2 hours to the nearest town to eat. The meals were NOT 'This is SO DELICIOUS'. More so just fuel to cure hunger pains. Every meal was poor except for the lunch BBQ. Thank goodness we brought snacks... we left dinner hungry every night.
One thing we loved were the staff. EVERYONE was so incredibly nice.I think if we had children, we would have had a better time. This weekend was about us and we were looking for a place that we could enjoy ourselves for the weekend. Every time we attempted an activity on the resort, the kids would interfere somehow. If we wanted to hang out with kids, we would've stayed home. There is no bar for a night time beverage and no TV to watch a movie in the rooms -- which would have been nice considering there was nothing to do. The place is pretty well shut down at 10pm. They did have a camp fire at night but again, it was overrun by children. Not couple-friendly. Only go here if you have kids and don't care about quality of food. Other than the food, this place has a lot of great features. Water activities, trails, indoor pool/sauna. We just don't feel it is worth $275/night. There is a couples resort close by that we wished we had gone to. Friends have gone there and LOVED the couple experience they offer. --- go there if you are a couple :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from my 2nd stay at Pow Wow Point Lodge and I could not have been more satisfied. The location is photo perfect, the food is delicious and plentiful, and the staff is bend-over-backwards helpful. We had 10 people in our party (which included 6 hungry children!) and we all had a terrific time. There is so much to do there with all the games and watersports. We couldn't believe how quickly the week went by.

We have already signed up for another week next year and cannot wait to be spoiled again. The PWP Lodge certainly lives up to their motto "Relaxed, Friendly, and Carefree."

We will be coming back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed August 2nd-5th and had an amazing time. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly, and the food was great. Doug and Dee (and Kim and Chrissy) are doing a great job running this place and its quite obvious that their staff are treated as family. The lodge is inclusive so my husband and I got to experience kayaking, paddle boating, tubing, and even water skiing behind Doug's boat at no added cost. To the person who complained about the water marks.. Muskoka suffered a devastating flood in April 2013 and they are doing their best to restore the property. I'm sure the water marks didn't affect your stay so shame on you for trying to use that against them. We ate the same food and not a single complaint from us or any of the tables around us. I would recommend this place a hundred times over and look forward to returning with my children in 2014 :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked with a 3-day Wag Jag deal and stayed in a lake-view Green Bough room. It is a family-run business so I didn't have high expectations, but the price was right. From the time we arrived until the time we left, Chrissy at the front desk made us feel so welcomed, I understood why some families return year after year. It is certainly not Deerhurst, it feels more like a fancy cottage/camp experience. My daughter loves the slides and trampoline on water. She water-skiied and fished for the first time and loved it. She even sang at the Thursday Talent Night, and we enjoyed surprisingly wonderful entertainment provided by other guests. The food is fairly good but not consistent. There is a kids menu but kids can also order a smaller portion from the regular menu. There are usually 3 choices for main course, meat or fish/seafood or vegetarian. Portions are just right for fine dining, we were never left hungry. We even brought a whole cooler full of snacks but ever needed them. Our room is small but cozy and very clean, I knew we wouldn't get the nicest room on that deal. The A/C was very loud but we were fine with leaving the windows open, you can hear the loons! We spent one day at Algonquin Park, which is 20 min away. We ordered a packed-lunch at breakfast and also paid for a discounted pass for the park. Truly carefree. Will definitely go back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pow Wow Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pow Wow Point Lodge

Address: 207 Grassmere Resort Road, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pow Wow Point Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pow Wow Point Lodge is a Traditional Muskoka Resort. We are Relaxed, Friendly and Carefree. Many of our packages include meals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pow Wow Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pow Wow Point Hotel Huntsville
Pow Wow Point Huntsville
Pow Wow Point Lodge Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pow Wow Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.