We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Huntsville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King William Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added King William Inn to your Saves list
King William Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   23 King William Street, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1G4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location for Huntsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for only 1 night, and found the hotel very nice. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was a little dark (not much natural light and dark furniture) but we didn't spend long in there tbh.
It's located very close to the shops and restaurants in Huntsville, and a short drive to Arrowhead park. We ate at On the docks pub in the evening, and had really good food and excellent service.

The only small criticisms I had was on booking it said about free continental breakfast ( I expected a breakfast room and cooked food) in fact it's just a small room where you can help yourself to hot drinks, and make toast/bagels. No fruit, cereal etc.
And on booking the price didn't include tax, which admittedly it said that in the small print so I should hVe looked closer, but usually when I book places the price is inclusive of extras, so didn't really like the extra $20 tax I had to pay.

Room Tip: 24 was tucked in the corner so quieter, but dark inside as only 1 window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for reviewing the Rodeway Inn King William
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us all the way
from England.
Our complimentary breakfast is as stated continental
which is an uncooked breakfast.
Room rates in Canada are advertised before tax
whereas in England you will be used to prices being shown
with taxes included.
I do hope if you decide to visit Canada again
we can welcome you at The Rodeway Inn King William .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years and sadly this will be our last. We originally chose this hotel because we spend time with family on Harp Lake. All went relatively well until the last night (Friday). When we returned to the room in the evening, the room was not made up and the front desk could care less. Offered to change the towels for us, but I insisted that the room be made up properly. We had our grandson with us and had to wait outside for the room to be made up,making it rather late to go to bed. It was not so much about the room not ready when we arrived, but the management and staff could care less. At the start of the week we tipped the maid and we were about to do the same when we checked out - needless to say that didn't happen. The only reply from management - sorry, but can't do anything for you. "Poor Customer Service/Hospitality" to say the least. ElaineM

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, General Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest
I was dissappeared to read your recent review of your
last night at Rodeway Inn.
Upon investigation with housekeeping daily service
was denied and the gentlemen in the room stated you only required shampoo
Later on that evening housekeeping was then requested and when we
offered service you declined it again ,later in the evening service was requested
which we complied with happily.
I hope you will return to Rodeway Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked this hotel because of a corporate discount that we had and given the competitive prices in Muskoka during the summer, this was a deal we didn't want to pass. The price and location were the only excellent qualities of this establishment.

The room was clean and neat, but to our chagrin we discovered we were in an awkward "inner" corner unit with next to no windows so no natural light could enter the room. The bathroom in our room was also slightly awkward as only the toilet and bathtub/shower were closed off by door, and the vanity was open to the rest of the room with the plumbing very visible. The vanity counter did not seem very sturdy. The bathtub and fixtures were clearly dated and showed signs of wear, but this was not a deal breaker. The room was always humid even with the A/C running 24/7 and next to the bed, so it made for a very chilly sleep. All that said, it was still very clean and tidy.

The hotel advertises a free continental breakfast, and when we arrived we discovered it was a small room with no seating, albeit fresh coffee, there were individually packaged muffins, as well as some bagels and bread for toast. We got a lot of use out of the Tim Hortons and McDonald's which are both within walking distance.

The wifi was terrible, and often we had to tether our own devices to get a steady signal. This could be the result of the awkward corner room we had.

In the grand scheme of things none of the above issues raised were deal breakers, and we had a decent stay. If you care about updated electronics and expect a mint on your pillow, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Corner units have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, General Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear valued Guest Thank you for your review of our property , unfortunately there was obviously
issues which went unresolved and for that I apologise. I would like to offer you a complimentary room for your next stay in when in Huntsville, please contact the front desk for this offer so we can reserve this room . Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Three adults stayed one night in room 32 this week. One. Of the largest rooms we have ever been in. The jet bathtub did not work but we were told in advance. No stairs to climb. Nicely decorated. Cot and one bed was on the hard side but other bed was fine. The wifi works but slow. My credit card was rejected but after checking it with the bank there was no problem. Still confused over this. Once before in Huntsville there was a credit card problem with a perfectly good card ..there must be something in the air.

Make sure you have a second valid card for backup when in Huntsville. Seems odd to say but it did happen twice and only in Huntsville.

Nice town though..

Room Tip: Ask for lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, General Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your positive review of our property. The issue with the wifi is being attended to and hope that you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Easy to find on main street and within walking distance to downtown. A bargain hotel for those on a budget, like us! Friendly staff who genuinely cared about making guests happy! Comfy queen bed. In room coffee & tea. The continental breakfast... you know, better than no breakfast. We will return.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you choose a room near the office... connection at the far end is sketchy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, General Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear valued Guest Thank you for your kind review of our Inn and yes we do genuinely care about our guests and will always go that extra mile for anyone that stays with us.
I do hope we will see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The King William Inn is situated in a great little town that has all the big department stores, Canadian Tire, sports check, restaurants and more importantly LCBO.

The closer you get to Algonquin these amenities become scarce so stock up.

The Inn is nice and in a great location the rooms are spacious and have pretty much all you need. For an Inn it is nice the main reason I gave a 3 star is because it seemed a little pricey for an Inn which could have been because of Canada day weekend but $150/night still seemed a little pricey. The breakfast is basic and the wifi is very choppy so don't rely on that to much.

All in all it is still a good choice when staying up in Huntsville.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, General Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property during your recent stay at The Rodeway King William Inn, of condern was the choppy wifi for which I apologize and I am in the process of assessing why there was a problem.
Your concern over the price of your room is always valid in an economy such as ours but I can assure you my rates for that particular weekend and type of room are highly ccompetitive in Huntsville.
I do hope you will return to The Rodeway Inn and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our whole family travelled to Hunstville for the "Band on the Run" race. We needed a hotel which could accommodate all of us, some of us with animals.
We picked the King William Inn and it met all of our expectations. It was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and did a great job getting us settled in.
The location was perfect because you can walk easily into downtown to do some window shopping, go out to eat, and check out the town.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonBGMrodewayinn, General Manager at King William Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review
our property with such kind words .
We aim to provide excellent customer service ,
clean, comfortable and competitively priced guest rooms
and I am pleased we met all of your expectations.

I hope we can welcome you back in the very near
future and thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn
King William .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Inn

Address: 23 King William Street, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King William Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Canada, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Hotel Huntsville
King William Motel
King William Inn Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King William Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.