We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Deerhurst Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good and Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family and I came here for the weekend. We have never stayed at this resort and our standards were set fairly high for what we got. I can't say it was bad, but there were many aspects that were just O.K. We arrived 2 hours early for check-in but the room was ready which was great! We had a room right on the beach with a waterfront view. What I liked about our particular building was that (on our floor at least) there was no room that didn't have a waterfront view. That space was made a conference area. The rooms are nicely renovated too. However seeing as we payed close to $300 bucks for the room per night it was not nearly as dressed up as it should have been. The things that came with that $300 bucks a night was the room, 2 persons breakfasts, pool, a part of the beach, and 3 complimentary Tassimo pods in your room (with machines in the lobby of our building). We payed $20 extra to go to the part of the beach that had the water toys (trampoline, slide pad, iceberg, etc.) and for canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards. Being a family fun resort I think these things should have been covered in the $300. There was a ton more to do there, we just didn't have that kind of money. Moving on, the resort is a HUGE place. When my family and I went walking we almost got lost looking for a path to the main lodge. We ended up having to backtrack because we ended up on the main road. I blame the map that we were given for this as it wasn't terrifically marked. The resort land is very steep too. The beach and the main lodge (with the dining area) are at opposite ends of the land which means it is a very long walk to get from one place to the next. Too much climbing for a family resort. On the bright side, there are 4 pools around the resort. At least 1 is not far from each room. The food was great! We had a choice between buffet and a menu selection. The Eclipse restaurant provided dinner and breakfast for my family and I and both were super good. We had lunch at Maples grill and that was fantastic too. On another note, when we accidently left our room key in our room the staff were great about providing us with a new on after just a show of ID. The resort at night is extremely dark at night and could definitely benefit from adding more lights. Overall I thought the resort was O.K but not great. I may stay here again but it depends on my alternatives. Any more questions, ask below. There is a lot more to say but too much to say for everyone.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, request the Bayshore building. If you want to be close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments. I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate you earlier in the day in one of our newly renovated Lakeside Rooms which are conveniently located close to the beach and offer a stunning view of Peninsula Lake

As you note, Deerhurst is a very comprehensive resort with numerous facilities and amenities on site compared to many hotels in this area. In addition, our resort destination offers a variety of other tourist attractions, scenic and historic sites along with a full range of recreational areas and restaurants.

Our guest service team does provide a resort map to each guest upon check in. This map also outlines our current offerings, restaurant hours, activity schedules and descriptions and our team is always here to assist, provide directions and/or recommendations. Just ask!

Also want you to know that we do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and offer value added packages and specials throughout the year to cater to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    327
    269
    162
    88
See reviews for
443
363
6
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at Deerhurst for 5 nights. One person in our family has medication that needs to be refrigerated. A few days before arriving I called to make sure they could accomodate us by either keeping the meds in one of their fridges for us to retrieve daily or pay for a higher priced room to get a fridge. I was very quickly told the resort was full and that they definitely could not keep meds in their fridge.............end of story, no other suggestions. We have stayed at several classes of hotels and NEVER have we been shunned over a simple request. I promptly asked to speak with a manager and after waiting several minutes was told they would put a fridge in our room. NO apology for being so uncooperative. Also, the housekeeping services are terrible. Twice, housekeeping had not arrived to freshen up our room by 4:30 in the afternoon. We had a busy day out and about and wanted to shower before heading out for dinner only to find NO clean towels. Had to retrieve them myself from the linen room on our floor and again NO apology when reported to the front desk. Lastly, I am a Skylife rewards VIP and having never stayed at the Deerhurst before was not completely aware of where I could use the card to redeem discounts. On Day 5 of our stay I inquired about whether or not we could have used to card in one their dining rooms. I was told yes, but they could not adjust the meals we had already charged to the room. Maybe next time. We had Spent almost $300 on meals. I once again asked to speak to the Manager and Blake at the front desk returned saying that they would do it this time as a good will gesture on their part. NO apologies for the inconvenience to us. If you are looking for a beautiful resort with no expectations of customer service, Deerhurst is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that you experienced service inconsistencies and apologize genuinely for your dissatisfaction.

We do have a variety of different loyalty programs available at the resort and in order to apply the appropriate discount and/or billing instructions, guests are advised to present their membership card to the dining room server and/or venue at point of sale, as discounts cannot be added retroactively. I am sorry that you were unaware of this policy, as it should be been noted in the terms & conditions of the membership program.

Housekeeping Service is available daily from 9am to 5pm. We encourage guests who are staying multiples nights and would prefer their room serviced at a particular time, to let our housekeeping team know by calling them directly or filling out the Housekeeping card located in each guestroom, as we will make every effort to accommodate your requests and preferences.

I do hope this one experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. Should we have another chance to welcome you, please contact us directly at info@deerhurstresort.com, so we can facilitate your reservation. We remain hopeful that we will hear back from you to assist in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had to detour on our way home so we arranged two nights at Deerhurst. It is the best place in Muskoka to stay (if you don't want to have to bring your whole house with you like some "resorts"). Got the best room ever, spacious, clean AND affordable. The front desk staff were more than happy to see that we had what we needed at check in. Stayed in the main building which is where my wife likes to be.

We have stayed many times, so much so that the front desk staff knows us by name when we come in.

And we will stay again. Truly a great place to stay and be as pampered and as spoiled as you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star rating and your continued patronage over the years. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I remember the Deerhurst in the 70's and 80's, at the time it was considered great in the Muskokas. Still has location, but as other destinations have grown around the area, it has not worked to keep up. Still a nice resort, and a good location, but not quite as luxurious as one might expect.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Your comments are important to us. Since joining Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. As of mid-May 2013, we now have over 300 newly or partially renovated rooms. In addition to improving our guestroom product many amenities and facility improvements have been made around the resort and will continue into this year.

As the resort evolves, expands offerings and make improvements, we encourage our guests to provide feedback and suggestions to ensure that those visiting us enjoy a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love Muskoka and we up being disappointed with the big resorts every time! Rooms in the Bay Shore apartments are large and the view is great but there are no balconies and the bathroom is tiny. Not keen on having to pay a fee per person to use the splash area or the non-motorized water sports. Speaking of which, it is a joke of a pond that you're allowed to canoe in! Restricted to a very small portion of the lake... Overall ok if you are out and about enjoying the wonderful scenery that is Huntsville.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Glad you had the opportunity to stay in one of our newly renovated Lakeside Rooms located in the Bayshore building. These rooms are very popular and conveniently located close to the beach/waterfront. Our guests may choose a room with a balcony and/or patio, as listed on our website, and I apologize you were not made aware of this.

Splash passes are available for a minimal fee and allow our guests to access our canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddle boards to explore the natural habitats of Sunset Bay, also included is access to one of Canada’s largest inflatable water parks on Peninsula Lake. There are alternatives for seasoned boaters or those who want a broader experience nearby. Our recreation team would be happy to provide.

Thank you for posting a review. We agree Muskoka is beautiful and glad you enjoyed our area and charming town of Huntsville. We do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first trip to the Muskoka region having recently relocated here from the UK. In general we were pretty underwhelmed by the whole experience. The area itself, whilst reasonably pretty, is certainly not spectacular. As for Deerhurst, the accommdation (a large two bedroom condo) was adequate but, considering the price, was certainly not "luxurious" or "high quality" as is suggested by their advertising. The resort itself is very "tired" and in much need of an upgrade. We have three young kids (ages 8, 5 and 2). And they were bored! No playground on the resort itself (we ended up going into Huntsville for playground). The lake was fine and beach area ok. But not a lot to do for young children. Older kids did the pony riding which was fine but considering the additional cost ($25 per child) was really not worth it. As for the Kritters Experience (which the two year old did) - this cost $20 and she saw a couple of chickens, rabbits and a pig and a couple of dogs (could have done the same sitting in our back yard at home!). The indoor rock climbing was good but again it cost $50 for two children for 20 mins each. For the total cost of our four day weekend we probably could have had a week in Orlando and our kids would certainly have enjoyed it a lot more. If you're a couple who want to "get away from it" for a week then Deerhurst is probably a good option but anyone with young kids should think again. Ridiculous amount of money, very poor value and customer service throughout the resort itself was really lacking! Won't be going back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Since joining Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. As of mid-May 2013, we now have over 300 newly or partially renovated rooms. In addition to improving our guestroom product many amenities and facility improvements have been made around the resort and will continue into this year.

We do have a children’s playground at the resort and regret that you were not aware of this amenity. Deerhurst offers a variety of indoor and outdoor activities to keep the young ones active and entertained and apologize that they did not meet your expectations.
Future Visitors: Please note, our new Indoor Rock Climbing Wall provide a great challenge for all. It is open all year round and is only $10 for a 30 minute session. We do recommend guests visit our website or contact us directly to learn about our facilities/amenities and offerings and make advance reservations to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed a few times here. Staff is always friendly and tries to please. Clean and many activities. This time we were told that they were booked solid and had only a "traveler's room" left. Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised to see we had been upgraded to a room overlooking the water. It was an absolutely lovely stay. The only disappointment being that there was no coffee machine in our rooms but instead we were given a disc of coffee and had to trudge down to the ground floor to insert it into the "new" Tassimo machines. (very very annoying and inconvenient) ...however, that was the only flaw. .....Until check out time and we were billed an additional $60 per night for our room. This would not have been a problem if it hadn't taken over a full 30 minutes and a visit from the "extremely RUDE" manager before it was straightened out. ....not even a word of apology, never mind an additional discount. WOW!! What had been a fantastic stay, left us with a bitter taste upon leaving. Very Disappointing!! Also, there was no room service at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I would like to extend our sincere apologizes that your stay was not seamless and that our staff were not more responsive to you at check out. I am pleased to read that our front office team was able to accommodate you on site in a room that had the features you preferred. In review of your comments and our follow up at the resort, I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication and understanding regarding the additional fees for an upgraded room. I am pleased to read that our Front Desk Manager did honor your original rate.

Future guests: For guests who wish to dine in their room, our guests have the option to place an order with any restaurant on property and pick the meal up themselves. This allows our guests a choice of the entire menu offering. In addition, our kitchen also has the ability to prepare special meals to accommodate our guest’s allergy and dietary restrictions. Our Deerhurst Resort General Store located in the Pavilion Building also offers a variety of ‘to go’ items such as steaks, soups, salads breads and other items so guests may prepare meals in the privacy of their condo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.