We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Muskoka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Deerhurst Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 Holiday Escape
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Muskoka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful seven day family vacation at Deerhurst Resort. We have made this our annual summer family fun destination. What a beautiful spot in the Muskokas! The property is meticulously groomed and one can certainly see the pride of ownership. The beach is safe, sandy and gently wraps around the edge of the resort. There are new comfy lounge chairs, guest towels and so much to do on the water. We enjoyed a fun filled boat tour of Lake Peninsula as well as canoeing, other water activities and the Electric Bikes. There was golfing every day on gorgeous greens! We even saw deer grazing!

Our accommodations was a lovely and tastefully decorated clean two bedroom condo. All stainless steel appliances, fireplace, and this year we were pleasantly surprised with the addition of a large new deck overlooking the back nine of Lakeside Golf Course. We once again enjoyed a fun filled evening of musical entertainment of "Decades" at the on site theatre.

There were many places to dine or just have a drink. Maples is an excellent restaurant and has well priced meals.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we made arrived at the front desk. Everyone seemed to be very happy, courteous and helpful.

Once again this year we had the pleasure of having an out-standing staff member, Louis Philippe Tremblay, assist us with our reservation! If you are looking for a beautiful, up-scale spot, that is affordable to go to enjoy life and make memories with your family, we highly recommend Deerhurst!

Room Tip: Tennis view condos are very nice. They are centrally located close to the beach, yet sit by the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the 5 star rating! Glad you enjoyed your annual vacation at our Resort and thank you for including us in your experiences and memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    324
    268
    161
    86
See reviews for
440
360
6
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just recently, my husband and I stayed at Deerhurtst Resort for a few nights. While we appreciate the fact the people vacation with their children, we felt that some consideration should be given to people that don't have children or are travelling without them. There are three outdoor pools on the property...surely one of these pools could be designated an "adult only" pool. The pools were literally filled with screaming children and we could never find a quiet moment. Also, while the rooms were air conditioned, the hallways were suffocating with heat. We literally felt sick by the time we reached our floor.

Room Tip: Some Advice....when choosing a room, please note that many of the buildings are three floors and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry to read that your stay was affected by others. We realize our guests choose their vacation spots for many different reasons, the popularity of our resort with families during the summer season and peak weekends throughout the year would have affected your expectations, if you preferred a more quiet and private experience. In future, I would recommend visiting in the late spring or early fall when the resort is not as busy and many of the activities that you would enjoy would still be available. Our reservations team would be more than happy to review available options with you, as we make every effort to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank goodness for the beach because that is all this place had to offer us. Sub-standard rooms with no amenities in them, so I'm not sure what justifies the prices. You have to either stay in main building and drive to the beach every time or stay by the beach and drive to the lobby when needed. We were also not impressed with the extra charges added that we were not aware about. We opted to not have the sheets changed everyday but I didn't know they wouldn't even empty our garbage or give more towels. This place needs a flag.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Deerhurst is a very comprehensive resort with numerous facilities and amenities on site compared to many other hotels in this area.

The resort does have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building, Lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos. Should guests have a preference in room features like a fridge, king bed, view or extra living space; we encourage them to let us know in advance so we can recommend the right type of accommodation.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future and recommend you contact us directly at info@deerhurstresort.com so we can provide a comprehensive overview of our resort services and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Is getting a little dated here and there but is a very nice place for families to visit. I loved the bar area - the staff are great and helpful. There are activities to participate in and a lovely golf course.
Rooms are spacious.
Negative is the noise you hear from stairs and upper floors. We were in building 51 on the first floor and could hear many kids running the hallways above.
Was disappointed that it cost $20 per person to use the water toys (trampoline, climbing waterslides, etc) in the lake. Shouldn't anything in the lake be free???

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your family vacation at our Resort. Our genuine regrets to learn of the noise disturbance caused by neighboring rooms. The splash pass is available per guest per stay and not only gives you access to Canada’s largest inflatable water park, but also use of our canoes, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards and life jackets.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are just back from another family mini break at the Deerhurst Resort and are looking back to returning again soon. We have had the opportunity to travel a lot, cruises, packaged vacations at international resorts as well as independent travel. What we love about the Deerhurst is that its massive size and spaciousness allows us the privacy that we seek. There is ample opportunity to interact with other guests if you choose, but also ample opportunity to be anonymous and come and go as you please. The staff are all very attentive and respectful. The rooms and facilities are clean and in good repair. The food is excellent! If you are like us and don't like to cook during your vacation or go to greasy spoons you will love the restaurant choices at the Deerhurst and if you opt for a preferred membership plan, you can have up to 50% off your bill every time you eat. We also love the Eclipse art Gallery, the Spa and the Decades show. There are all kinds of activities available for the athletic and adventurous. You cannot put a price on peace and privacy and the Deerhurst has this and more. Be sure to drive into the town of Huntsville and Algonquin Park. Don't forget to check out preferred membership to make the delicious meals on site even more affordable. Sign up to receive newsletters and e-mails from Deerhurst to hear all about the latest specials and discounts. A repeat, happy and loyal visiter.

Room Tip: With any hotel, ask to be located away from the elevator,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star rating and your continued patronage over the years. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

The Preferred Membership is a great value and is designed to provide perks and benefits for guests who visit us regularly throughout the year. The membership benefits include a discount on dining based on the number of guests in your party, savings on Spa services at Shizen Spa, Golf Green fees and admission to Decades, our latest live show. Also included is a one night stay (available in select accommodation and is subject to availability). For more information or to become a Preferred Member, please contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our second visit to Deerhurst, and I must admit the first was very pleasant. So pleasant that we considered it to be a possible wedding venue. This visit certainly left us reconsidering.

All reviews that state that the resort is filled with screaming children are VERY accurate. It is not a place to escape to thinking that it is going to be a romantic getaway. None of the restaurants are able to accommodate a romantic dinner as they allow children to run through this whole resort screaming. We requested take-out and hid in our room (they do not offer room service at this resort)... which leads me to the next issue...

Our A/C was broken in our room. After a call to the front desk we were advised that the technicians were not in until 8am the following morning and we were leaving at 11am!? Our sleep was terrible, to the point that I would had considered sleeping in my vehicle.

The Spa was mediocre. Our couples massage room was directly off of the women's change room. It is very difficult to relax when you can hear women laughing and enjoying themselves after their services.

Overall a $700 "Couples Get-A-Way" was a horrible birthday experience for my fiancé to remember for ever, something that I had planned to be so special for him was ruined for MANY different reasons by The Deerhurst Resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations or our standards and apologize for your dissatisfaction. I understand that you have been in touch with our Sales Manager who has extended an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back to ensure you have a more positive and seamless experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntsville hotels

Grimsby, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the 2 bedroom condo for the weekend and upon arrival we were told our room would be ready in 15 mins and were advised to take this time to obtain our towel card of which we did. When we came back 15 mins later we then told our room would be another hour. This didnt bother us to much so we went for walk by the lake and came back in a hour. We were assigned a condo in section 18 of the resort and upon us opening the door it was like we travelled back 40 years in time. To charge $1600 for 2 nights for these accommodations should be considered a crime. The appliances must have been good quality 40 years ago and apparenlty they still work in 2013. The decor is not something my grandmother would permit in her home.
We went back to the front desk to complain and stated that the pictures on the website do not match what the rooms actually looked like and we were advised this was the C class and would be moved to the B+ 2 bedroom condo. I find this very disturbing because when I booked the room I was not given the option with different price levels for the 2 bedroom condo with different classes of C, B+ or A. We went and looked at the next unit in section 22 and the only difference was they provided a LCD tv but everything else was 40 years old. We went back to the front desk again then we were provided another room in 21-203 and this unit had a nice view of the lack and modern appliances. However the room still needed a lot of work to be considered modern. The main living room fireplace didnt work, almost all the chandaliers had bulbs burnt out and the 40 year old carpet had disgusting stains. We decided to suck it up and stay and considered this a life lesson.
We went to dinner at the steamers restaurant that evening and we ordered our drinks and meal The appetizers came in a timely fashion but over a hour after we finished the appetizers we had to remind the waiter that we had not received our main course. Apparently they forgot about our order in the kitchen. To their credit the manager did remove the appetizers from the bill.
The following day we went for dinner at the Eclipse restaurant and we sat outside on the balcony which had a nice view of the golf course and lake. Unfortunately after sitting for 30 minutes without acknowledgement we had to request the waiter come and take our order for drinks and meals.
The total costs for the weekend was $1900 and our family feels this was the biggest vacation disappointment we have ever experienced and I must say we were expecting alot more from a resort that hosted the G8 (I feel ashamed as a Canadian if this is the accommodations the leaders of the world stayed).
Take you money elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Only book a room if can physically check it before hand. The pictures on the website are not represe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that the accommodation did not meet your expectations apologize genuinely for your dissatisfaction. Since joining Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. As of mid-May 2013, we now have over 300 newly or partially renovated rooms.

We apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced, which I assure you is not the level of service Deerhurst Resort is known to provide. Your comments have been shared with our Director of Food and Beverage & Executive Chef as we are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and your comments assist us in these efforts.

Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, as we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you receive one of the newly renovated rooms and leave with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.