We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Service at Every Turn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Save Saved
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Deerhurst Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Huntsville
Gore Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Impressive Service at Every Turn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived for a 3 day stay at Deerhurst resort in Huntsville, I was impressed with the genuinely friendly and helpful service at every turn. Whether chatting with dining room, cleaning, boutique, front desk or spa staff, it was evident that each and every staff member was keenly invested in providing quality customer service as a priority. Given that we were here attending a conference whose focus was on meeting our clients' needs with our excellent product, my "consumer" radar was fully operational and even more aware of each and every little extra touch that made our stay more enjoyable. I was not disappointed. Our room was spacious and well appointed with views of lovely wintery vistas from large windows. The food was wonderful and members of the serving staff were very knowledgeable and happy to share information about ingredients etc. Even though three conferences were simultaneously enjoying the hospitality at Deerhurst during our stay, it was most pleasing to see that attention to detail did not suffer in any way. No line ups for food, elevators or front desk service in our experience. Given another opportunity, we would happily return.

Room Tip: When all of the bathrooms receive an upgrade, I would suggest higher toilets and grab bars. We boome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the high level of service our colleagues provided during your recent stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our team as the recognition is appreciated.

With only two easy hours and two turns from Toronto, many planners consider Deerhurst Resort the most complete Ontario meeting facility, especially with our refreshed facilities to include over 300 newly or partially renovated rooms by mid-May, newly created Legacy Hall function space at 11,000 sq. ft., and our new Executive Boardroom. Our team is here to assist whether it is a conference, tradeshow, special event or family getaway – we are an all in one, easy-access, lakeside location for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    260
    208
    118
    74
See reviews for
363
287
6
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A Great Getaway retreat with delicious food and lots of activities!
Enjoyed a wonderful winter wonderland weekend in February - and the hospitality and friendliness of all the staff was outstanding. Overall, a WOW experience!
Would definitely recommend this resort to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your time at Deerhurst Resort and that our team created a WOW experience for you. Our company culture statement is to create memories with passion and achieve unparalleled guest loyalty; which by the sounds of it we succeeded! Thank you for the recommendations and the 5 star review. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My family stayed at Deerhurst for a weekend getaway in Feb 2013. We found the property to be newly renovated and the staff was exceptional. Food service and quality of food was excellent.
We really enjoyed all the winter activities the property had to offer. The Decades show was outstanding! We found the accommodations to be very clean and well maintained with beautiful views. Definitely would go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us this winter and were able to partake in the many activities and amenities available to our guests. Whatever the season – summer, fall, winter or spring – when it comes to things to do in Muskoka’s, you’re only limited by your imagination. Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

we had a great stay for a 3 day date weekend,rooms were clean and food was fantastic!!stayed for the sunday brunch,wow!!loved it! we snowmobiled out from there,trails were rough up until getting on some main trunk trails
the only down side was the dated look of the place,needs an update,cant really call it 5 star
overall i would go back for the right price
hot tub was really nice after our ride

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Glad you had a great stay and enjoyed snowmobiling. Our guests appreciated having Back Country Tours, our new official snowmobile provider on site this year and took advantage of the guided tours to learn more about the area and 2,000 km trail system. We are glad that you will consider returning. To get the best and exclusive deals we do recommend you sign up for Deerhurst’s E-Club, right from our home page on our website. Also recommend you reserve a Junior One Bedroom Suite which was fully renovated last year or Lakeside Room, which will be receiving a full renovation this spring and reintroduced to our guests mid-May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Deerhurst recently. My husband and myself have snowmobiled to the resort the past 3 years and have enjoyed it everytime. We were upgraded to a newly renovated Junior One Bedroom Suite with a fireplace....such a treat after a long day of snowmobiling. Along with the hottub, pool, and delicious meals in both restaurants, the Deerhurst delivered a very enjoyable weekend. We will certainly be back for a 4th year!

Room Tip: A view of the lake and Jr Suite for additional room and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
As a repeat guest of ours we appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Glad we have become your family’s winter getaway and that you enjoyed the newly renovated Junior One Bedroom Suite. We have just received another 8 inches of snow which has extended the snowmobile & ski season in Huntsville and look forward to welcoming more guests to enjoy our winter wonderland. We hope to see you soon and recommend the next time you visit to reserve a Lakeside room, which will be fully renovated as of mid-May 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A great long weekend spent at deerhurst. Freezing cold, but the sun was out and after half hour on the lake playing hockey we had our jackets off. Tubing was closed so we went to arrowhead park, 10 mins. away - so easy and the kids loved it. Did a beautiful hike in algonquin park - Whiskey Rapids -- on snowshoes rented at the resort. Felt great to come back at the end of the day to the swimming pool and hot tub. Also a good climbing wall which my kids loved. Staff are outstanding, the restaurants are good. All in all a great few days away - the perfect way to enjoy a winter weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us this winter and were able to partake in the many activities and amenities available to our guests. Whatever the season – summer, fall, winter or spring – when it comes to things to do in Muskoka’s, you’re only limited by your imagination. Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed one night for my wife birthday in feb 2012. Booked the room online and thanks you the advise from fellow trip advisors, I booked the junior one bedroom golf view. Overall, the room and the view are not disappointing at all. You can tell the building is not new but they tried hard to make it better. The room and the building main area did had a make over. Unfortunately, everywhere else is showing some age. (Hallway or even the door).

We enjoy every single thing about the junior suite, the room is clean, modern, comfort and in decent size. we called ahead of time and let them know we are coming up to celebrate a birthday. Got a winter activity pass so we can go snow walk, skate, cross country for FREE. Also got a small gift from the reception desk.

We dine at the ECLIPSE but such a disappointment. We ordered the valentines menu. I had a steak and my wife had a seafood. Overall, it is not up to the standard. Steak is not medium rare as I ordered. The seafood dish is even worst. Lobster is way too salty. PEI mussels don't taste good. Dessert is not that much better. Unfortunately there are not much option for you during a mid week stay.

Room Tip: Room51-303 is pretty good other than the fact that the entrance door is not working properly. But go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased to read you had the opportunity to stay in one of the Junior One Bedroom Suites, which were renovated January 2012. We are disappointed to read that your dinner did not meet your expectations or our standards. Your feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef who will investigate your concerns with the colleagues working and personally contact you to apologize. We look forward to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Hotel
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.