We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service and Newly Renovated Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Deerhurst Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Super Service and Newly Renovated Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Deerhurst recently. My husband and myself have snowmobiled to the resort the past 3 years and have enjoyed it everytime. We were upgraded to a newly renovated Junior One Bedroom Suite with a fireplace....such a treat after a long day of snowmobiling. Along with the hottub, pool, and delicious meals in both restaurants, the Deerhurst delivered a very enjoyable weekend. We will certainly be back for a 4th year!

Room Tip: A view of the lake and Jr Suite for additional room and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
As a repeat guest of ours we appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Glad we have become your family’s winter getaway and that you enjoyed the newly renovated Junior One Bedroom Suite. We have just received another 8 inches of snow which has extended the snowmobile & ski season in Huntsville and look forward to welcoming more guests to enjoy our winter wonderland. We hope to see you soon and recommend the next time you visit to reserve a Lakeside room, which will be fully renovated as of mid-May 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    327
    269
    162
    88
See reviews for
443
363
6
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A great long weekend spent at deerhurst. Freezing cold, but the sun was out and after half hour on the lake playing hockey we had our jackets off. Tubing was closed so we went to arrowhead park, 10 mins. away - so easy and the kids loved it. Did a beautiful hike in algonquin park - Whiskey Rapids -- on snowshoes rented at the resort. Felt great to come back at the end of the day to the swimming pool and hot tub. Also a good climbing wall which my kids loved. Staff are outstanding, the restaurants are good. All in all a great few days away - the perfect way to enjoy a winter weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us this winter and were able to partake in the many activities and amenities available to our guests. Whatever the season – summer, fall, winter or spring – when it comes to things to do in Muskoka’s, you’re only limited by your imagination. Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed one night for my wife birthday in feb 2012. Booked the room online and thanks you the advise from fellow trip advisors, I booked the junior one bedroom golf view. Overall, the room and the view are not disappointing at all. You can tell the building is not new but they tried hard to make it better. The room and the building main area did had a make over. Unfortunately, everywhere else is showing some age. (Hallway or even the door).

We enjoy every single thing about the junior suite, the room is clean, modern, comfort and in decent size. we called ahead of time and let them know we are coming up to celebrate a birthday. Got a winter activity pass so we can go snow walk, skate, cross country for FREE. Also got a small gift from the reception desk.

We dine at the ECLIPSE but such a disappointment. We ordered the valentines menu. I had a steak and my wife had a seafood. Overall, it is not up to the standard. Steak is not medium rare as I ordered. The seafood dish is even worst. Lobster is way too salty. PEI mussels don't taste good. Dessert is not that much better. Unfortunately there are not much option for you during a mid week stay.

Room Tip: Room51-303 is pretty good other than the fact that the entrance door is not working properly. But go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased to read you had the opportunity to stay in one of the Junior One Bedroom Suites, which were renovated January 2012. We are disappointed to read that your dinner did not meet your expectations or our standards. Your feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef who will investigate your concerns with the colleagues working and personally contact you to apologize. We look forward to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Deerhurst with my husband, two children (ages 4 and 7) and extended family. Had a wonderful time. We usually go to Blue Mountain every year for a family weekend getaway, but now that we have discovered Deerhurst, I would choose this place in the future.
The activities are family friendly and relaxed - snowshoeing, cross country skiing, walking around the property, some families had toboggans to sled on the gentle hills, skating, pool, rock climbing, etc. If you want to snowshoe, pick them up early as there are no reservations, and people can keep them all day. There was also snowmobiling, which I would love to try one day. My kids loved it and we race around all day, trying everything. The weekend wasn't enough time!
If I had to suggest an improvement, it is in minor things - The sports desk itself isn't run as well as well as it could be - eg. towels for the pool are store up a flight of stairs and down the hall, instead of at the pool. When we were going on the horse drawn wagon ride, we were told to meet at the sports desk half an hour before, but where we got there, we were then told to drive to the stables (why not send us to the stables from the start?).

We had a condo with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen - it was clean, spacious and quiet. We made our own meals and it was a short drive to the grocery store which was easy. My child has some allergies, and although the downstairs restaurant is peanut free, they were unable to accommodate my child's soy allergy as most of the food was pre-packaged. I'm used to making our own meals, so didn't check out the restaurants.

Amazing weekend, great scenery, wonderful memory. I will return in the summer if possible, to see another side of this place!

Room Tip: 2 Bedoom condos on the Green with kitchen are spacious and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are glad that you discovered Muskoka and Deerhurst Resort and appreciate the compliments and constructive comments. National Geographic Traveler magazine has chosen Muskoka as one of Best of The World - Must-see places for 2012! & Muskoka was also recognized by National Geographic as the #1 pick on their Ten Best Trips of Summer list.

We do look forward to welcoming your family back to our lakeside retreat this summer and recommend you speak to our Chef upon arrival as we do offer menu selections that would accommodate your special dietary requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice property, nice location and amenities, good food but if you book an adventure tour ( snowmobile, dogsleds, ziplining) dont expect to get a late checkout unless you pay for it! . I had stayed at this property previuosly and the policy has changed - be out of your room by 11am even if you have paid a large sum to book one of their adventure tours ending at noon, 1pm or 2pm. It really is a cashgrab!

Most staff are friendly and helpful. Checkin is 4pm so if you are only staying the one night and want to use the resorts many amenities, expect to be changing in a bathroom because they really mean 4pm checkin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. So glad you enjoyed our location, amenities and property. Our check out time for accommodation is 11am. Guests are encouraged and more than welcome to continue to use the resort facilities and amenities for the remainder of the day. We are pleased to accommodate late check-outs or arrange a day use hospitality suite upon request and availability. Requests are subject to a minimal fee as we need to adjust our resources in order to prepare the room for the next guest’s arrival. Based on your fondness of our setting we hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I'm a little surprised to see all of the bad reviews because that is not at all what we experienced during our stay.

We stayed in a junior one-bedroom suite in the newly renovated Summit Lodges. We requested that we be next door to our friends and that we get a room with two double beds rather than a king and neither was an issue.

The room was clean and the perfect size. Everything was in working order, except the coffee machine didn't have any filters and I had to borrow from the neighbour!

We ate dinner at the buffet both nights and although Saturday night was much better than Sunday night we had no complaints about the food or the staff. We also ate breakfast both mornings and the servers were very helpful and courteous. Lattes at the main bar could have had more coffee in them though!

We skiied at Hidden Valley Highlands twice and had the best time. The instructors were fantastic and the kids had a blast. It is a five minute drive from the resort so it was easy to go back and forth.

We requested to check out at 4pm on Monday and were charged $85. Everything was billed correctly, including our credits from the "winter your way package". Checkout staff was very knowledgeable and efficient.

We will definitely be visiting the Deerhurst Resort again for a family ski weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review and compliments on food, service and newly renovated Junior One Bedroom Suite. We are pleased to read you had a fun family weekend and already planning your return visit.

Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area, next door to Deerhurst takes pride in its friendly atmosphere and short line ups. With 12 slopes, three quad chair lifts and a handle bar tow, it is an ideal location for families. For guests visiting us this winter, we recommend you pick up your discounted lift tickets at our Winter Recreation Shop. See you on the slopes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We attended a beautiful twilight wedding ceremony at the resort on February 16, 2013. Every single detail was perfect!

Upon entering the hotel and our room, the first thing that struck me was how fresh and clean everything smelled and looked.

We had a lovely room in the main building. My husband and I were impressed with how spacious the room was and how comfortable the king size bed was.

We were also struck by how very, very pleasant every member of the staff was.

Congratulations to all for a job well done.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate your glowing review and glad you enjoyed your visit to our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again and encourage you to try us out in the summer, as it offers an equally vibrant natural setting as well as a full range of activities.

For other TripAdvisor Readers: Whether you envision an intimate wedding ceremony by the beach or an elegant evening in a grand ballroom, Deerhurst Resort has a variety of Muskoka wedding venues and banquet halls available for your special day at our majestic lakeside setting. If you are considering a wedding or special event, please submit a Request for Proposal on our website and we will reply with customized information for your event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.