We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as high class as you would expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Deerhurst Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay and Save
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as high class as you would expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

let me start off by saying that this resort is in an absolutely gorgeous part of Ontario! it is breathtaking in the winter !!! as im sure it is in the summer as well!!
The resort is massive I couldnt believe how big it is! We stayed in the main building the first night, we expected a little more considering the price. There was no bar fridge in the room which surprised me because even smaller hotels have them. Anyways it was still a nice suite, until we realized the heat wasnt working. Because we didnt realize this until 1 in the morning we slept in hoodies and track pants. We called down the next morning and a guy came an looked at it and said there was nothing he could do and he would send another guy! So we asked to be moved from the suite. They upgraded us for free to a bigger room. It was in the buildings which have real suites, bar fridge, kithnette with stovetop, microwave etc, they dont have elevators in the buildings(heads up)
We had breakfast Saturday morning, it was a buffet, just basic stuff nothing that exciting and it was $20 each! When we asked about sunday brunch it was $31.50 each, at the eclipse. We also had dinner at the Maples, we each had a burger and fries which was delicious!! and great value! Definitely try the desserts we had the lava cake it was to die for!!!
They have lots of activites there as well! Skating , snowshoeing cross country skiing and snowmobiling just to name a few. We enjoyed snowmobiling for a few hours on Sunday. It was fun, thankfully my husband has driven 4wheers etc before because they dont give you a lesson. There are amazing trails up there and it is easy to get lost if you dont know where to go or you arent paying attention. If you get cold easily like me buy some toe and hand warmers at the store or bring some with you. My toes were freezing the whole time even though I had heavy boots. They provide you with all gear which is great! The helmets didnt take long to frost up though which is dangerous!
Overall it was ok. If you are planning a getaway to be outside and enjoy the winter this is the place ! But If you want to relax I would go with another resort. I did not think that it had a good value though. Rooms and food priced to high! Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We agree that Winter in Muskoka is breathtaking and glad you were able to enjoy so many activities in the pristine white forests! Sorry to read that you experienced an issue with heat but glad that we able to accommodate you in another room. Deerhurst is a very comprehensive resort with numerous facilities and amenities on site compared to many hotels in this area. In addition, we have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building, Lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos. Should guests have a preference in room features like a fridge, view or extra living space, we do request they let us know in advance so we can recommend the right type of accommodation. We want you to know that we do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and appreciate your feedback as we continue to evaluate this. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope that we have the chance to welcome you to our resort in the future.

For guests wishing to snowmobile, please visit our website or contact us directly to learn more about our new official snowmobile provider, Back Country Tours, now located right at our Winter Sports Shop. Each rider will receive pre-ride training which includes a test track so will know how to operate the equipment safely and enjoy the ride. Pre-book your snowmobile rentals or guided tours in advance and save even more on accommodation and rentals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    319
    266
    160
    85
See reviews for
438
353
6
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at Deerhurst weekend of Jan 18th and loved it.
Right from the beginning once you drive in at night you see the "man made" Ice Rink, lights guiding you to entrance of resort and lobby with the fire place truly welcoming!

Stayed in a beautiful once bedroom Condo Suite that was renovated with all the amenities. The view of the lake was breath taking. (Condo 18-03) Very clean!!

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Snowed over the 2days and the roads were always maintained for walking or driving.

Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Condo 18, 3rd floor. (18-03) Renovated suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you've taken to highlight your experience at our resort. I will share your feedback with our team as this means a great deal to us all. We look forward to your return visit and recommend you check out our website where you find all our packages, savings and best available rates online. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having recently stayed at Deerhurst Resort I wanted to commend their front desk staff. With a family of 6, travelling up to the Resort in peak winter was difficult in itself. We were greeted by Lindsay on front desk who went above and beyond to make our stay as best as possible. Informative, efficient and well spoken she assisted in suggesting a fantastic itinerary planned to suit our needs for all ages.
This level of customer service was evident throughout the whole resort and I look forward to staying at this property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are pleased to read that your family enjoyed their Winter Getaway in Muskoka. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of colleagues we have as you noted in your message (especially Lindsay). It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to our team as this kind of feedback means a great deal to us all. We truly appreciate your review and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajax
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hi Chris, Jody and Rory, staff at Deerhurst

Would just like to share some wonderful news with you.

I have been coming up to Deerhurst for quite some time now, inviting friends as the staff are really great and the accommodations and activities are also awesome!

I got a group of friends together and convinced them to come up for the weekend, selling your $ 99.00 special
Well they all could not resist the offer.

I contacted Rory , for special meals. We as Muslims are required to eat “HALAL” meat, very similar to the Jewish faith.
We brought up our own steak and Chicken

He was more than willing to accommodate us in every way possible.
Food was well cooked and presented, chefs were great!
Staff serving on both nights were amazing
Managers on duty both nights were amazing
We had a private room to seat 40 plus

The Staff at check in were also very accomodating and pleasant at all times
there was not a minute that we did not notice great service
we also enjoyed the rock climbing and again she was a pleasure for our kids and helping them out

Overall the entire experience was just over the top, all my guests have vowed to return to Deerhurst
We definitely look forward to returning and having a great time again
Sincerely would like to thank Rory and his team and all the staff at Deerhurst
Our hats off to the entire staff at Deerhurst, there are just too many names to mention

Asif Sidik Karatella

Room Tip: if you do have any special needs talk to the team there, they are more than accomodating main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Sincere appreciation for posting a review. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our team to ensure our colleagues and Executive Chef receive the recognition for their abilities to make your stay memorable. We look forward to your return and thank you again for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just finished a day at Deerhurst mid-week in the dead of winter. I stayed at a 2-bedroom condo with my family. I found the accommodations clean and well-maintained. Mind you, I did find 3 tvs for the unit a bit much, but they were all working well. Wifi was a bit slow, but I didn't need much for my stay. We skied cross-country for 2 days and found the rentals reasonable and in good condition. We used the pool and the games room - both well maintained and nicely done. The snow tubing was not operational yet (ETA for the following weekend), so we did some tobogganing instead. Excellent scenery. All-in-all, was very satisfied and would recommend the resort to other potential travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed our Winter Wonderland and were able to participate and enjoy our facilities and amenities. We look forward to your return one day soon!

For guests who love the outdoors, Deerhurst Resort offers an abundance of onsite activities ranging from cross country skiing, snowshoeing, trail rides, dog sledding, skating, snowmobiling and more. Our guests also have the option to downhill ski, snowboard and snow-tube at nearby parks. Please visit our website to learn more about the resort or contact us directly to make advance reservations for activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've known for several years that this resort existed but never stayed there until now. We had the impression that this was an upscale resort - their website/prices seem to reinforce this image. But the reality is much less impressive. We booked a junior one bedroom suite for 2 nights at a special rate of $149 + tax per night - a winter getaway for my wife's birthday. We were "upgraded" to a one bedroom lakeside condo unit (Birchcliffe "timeshare") because, according to front desk clerk, they weren't busy.

The good: very comfortable king size bed with down duvet; nice view overlooking the lake; woodburning fireplace we actually used; fully equiped kitchen with infrared cooktop/other newish appliances and lots of good quality cookware/dishes etc.; carpet was clean; lots of towels/soap in unit; quiet at night; all sidewalks around the resort were kept clear of snow/ice.

The main negative: this unit is getting quite old/dated looking, dark tiles in the bathroom; dark wood kitchen cabinets; older furniture; sunken living room area...reminded us of some of the ski hotels we stayed at in the 70's. Maybe some of the other buildings at Deerhurst are newer...who knows, but we wouldn't be back.

When I made this reservation online, I asked if there was anything special the hotel could do for us since our first night there was my wife's birthday. They didn't respond so I asked again when we checked in and they advised that "something" was being delivered to the room later in the afternoon. After shopping for some groceries we returned to our room and, some time later, we discovered a very small box containing 4 funny little chocolates and a handwritten note from the reception clerk wishing my wife a happy birthday. Not sure what I expected but that wasn't it.

Other issues: we saw several old cottages in various stages of decay on the property (?); they do have a nice pool/jacuzzi area in the Pavilion building but the afternoon we wanted to go for a swim, that area was overrun with several families with young kids...we couldn't swim, couldn't get near the jacuzzi, and there are many lockers for that area but there are no keys available for the locks; the main restaurant is not open due to rennovations and the only restaurant that was open had a very limited menu and a coffee shop atmosphere. We did all meals ourselves in the condo or in town, which was our plan anyway.

The weather was very cold when we were there. Hiking/snowshoe trails were solid ice so our outdoor activities were limited to walks around the resort property. We did see a couple brave people on the cross-country trails after a bit of new snow and we noticed that the skating rink was being flooded.

Room Tip: Too many different types of rooms/buildings of different ages, sizes here and the resort website &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can actively address the details you noted and apologize to you in person. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com.

Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for the multi bedroom condos that we manage on behalf of private individual owners and are confident further renovations will be completed soon. In addition to improving our guestroom product, many amenities and facility improvements have been made around the resort and will continue into this year. We are pleased to advise that the Eclipse Restaurant has reopened with a fresh new look. The restaurant’s interior offers a warmer, cozier feel to the grand room and our culinary team will be introducing an updated menu shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Deerhurst has so much potential as they are on a great piece of property, but they need to significantly update, refresh and renovate to be up to par with other resorts that are competing for their business in that general area- eg. the Marriott on Lake Rousseau.
Room was tired and lacked amenities that I know expect in a room- a couple of bottles of water and robes are not alot to ask for.
The gym facility was so out of date and depressing that it took alot to even go in there and workout.
The highlight though was the New Years Eve show called Decades- top notch and thoroughly enjoyed it and the dinner. The concierge Nick was great to get us in last minute instead of eating at Eclipse. Had we not enjoyed this as much as we did, my stay would have been a wash and I would likely not ever go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and the compliments about Nick, our Resort Ambassador and the New Year’s Eve dinner/show. Decades Live Show is definitely a highlight for many of our guests. Our multi-talented show cast of dancers, singers and musicians create remarkable renditions of many chart-toppers from the 1950s to today. It is a must see!

Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for the multi bedroom condos that we manage on behalf of private individual owners and are confident further renovations will be completed soon. In addition to improving our guestroom product, many amenities and facility improvements have been made around the resort and will continue into this year.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity and recommend you contact us directly so we can provide a comprehensive overview of our accommodations and amenities available to suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.