We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party of 40 including 15 kids.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Deerhurst Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
ajax
1 review
“Party of 40 including 15 kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hi Chris, Jody and Rory, staff at Deerhurst

Would just like to share some wonderful news with you.

I have been coming up to Deerhurst for quite some time now, inviting friends as the staff are really great and the accommodations and activities are also awesome!

I got a group of friends together and convinced them to come up for the weekend, selling your $ 99.00 special
Well they all could not resist the offer.

I contacted Rory , for special meals. We as Muslims are required to eat “HALAL” meat, very similar to the Jewish faith.
We brought up our own steak and Chicken

He was more than willing to accommodate us in every way possible.
Food was well cooked and presented, chefs were great!
Staff serving on both nights were amazing
Managers on duty both nights were amazing
We had a private room to seat 40 plus

The Staff at check in were also very accomodating and pleasant at all times
there was not a minute that we did not notice great service
we also enjoyed the rock climbing and again she was a pleasure for our kids and helping them out

Overall the entire experience was just over the top, all my guests have vowed to return to Deerhurst
We definitely look forward to returning and having a great time again
Sincerely would like to thank Rory and his team and all the staff at Deerhurst
Our hats off to the entire staff at Deerhurst, there are just too many names to mention

Asif Sidik Karatella

Room Tip: if you do have any special needs talk to the team there, they are more than accomodating main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Sincere appreciation for posting a review. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our team to ensure our colleagues and Executive Chef receive the recognition for their abilities to make your stay memorable. We look forward to your return and thank you again for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    328
    272
    162
    88
See reviews for
445
365
6
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just finished a day at Deerhurst mid-week in the dead of winter. I stayed at a 2-bedroom condo with my family. I found the accommodations clean and well-maintained. Mind you, I did find 3 tvs for the unit a bit much, but they were all working well. Wifi was a bit slow, but I didn't need much for my stay. We skied cross-country for 2 days and found the rentals reasonable and in good condition. We used the pool and the games room - both well maintained and nicely done. The snow tubing was not operational yet (ETA for the following weekend), so we did some tobogganing instead. Excellent scenery. All-in-all, was very satisfied and would recommend the resort to other potential travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed our Winter Wonderland and were able to participate and enjoy our facilities and amenities. We look forward to your return one day soon!

For guests who love the outdoors, Deerhurst Resort offers an abundance of onsite activities ranging from cross country skiing, snowshoeing, trail rides, dog sledding, skating, snowmobiling and more. Our guests also have the option to downhill ski, snowboard and snow-tube at nearby parks. Please visit our website to learn more about the resort or contact us directly to make advance reservations for activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've known for several years that this resort existed but never stayed there until now. We had the impression that this was an upscale resort - their website/prices seem to reinforce this image. But the reality is much less impressive. We booked a junior one bedroom suite for 2 nights at a special rate of $149 + tax per night - a winter getaway for my wife's birthday. We were "upgraded" to a one bedroom lakeside condo unit (Birchcliffe "timeshare") because, according to front desk clerk, they weren't busy.

The good: very comfortable king size bed with down duvet; nice view overlooking the lake; woodburning fireplace we actually used; fully equiped kitchen with infrared cooktop/other newish appliances and lots of good quality cookware/dishes etc.; carpet was clean; lots of towels/soap in unit; quiet at night; all sidewalks around the resort were kept clear of snow/ice.

The main negative: this unit is getting quite old/dated looking, dark tiles in the bathroom; dark wood kitchen cabinets; older furniture; sunken living room area...reminded us of some of the ski hotels we stayed at in the 70's. Maybe some of the other buildings at Deerhurst are newer...who knows, but we wouldn't be back.

When I made this reservation online, I asked if there was anything special the hotel could do for us since our first night there was my wife's birthday. They didn't respond so I asked again when we checked in and they advised that "something" was being delivered to the room later in the afternoon. After shopping for some groceries we returned to our room and, some time later, we discovered a very small box containing 4 funny little chocolates and a handwritten note from the reception clerk wishing my wife a happy birthday. Not sure what I expected but that wasn't it.

Other issues: we saw several old cottages in various stages of decay on the property (?); they do have a nice pool/jacuzzi area in the Pavilion building but the afternoon we wanted to go for a swim, that area was overrun with several families with young kids...we couldn't swim, couldn't get near the jacuzzi, and there are many lockers for that area but there are no keys available for the locks; the main restaurant is not open due to rennovations and the only restaurant that was open had a very limited menu and a coffee shop atmosphere. We did all meals ourselves in the condo or in town, which was our plan anyway.

The weather was very cold when we were there. Hiking/snowshoe trails were solid ice so our outdoor activities were limited to walks around the resort property. We did see a couple brave people on the cross-country trails after a bit of new snow and we noticed that the skating rink was being flooded.

Room Tip: Too many different types of rooms/buildings of different ages, sizes here and the resort website &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can actively address the details you noted and apologize to you in person. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com.

Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for the multi bedroom condos that we manage on behalf of private individual owners and are confident further renovations will be completed soon. In addition to improving our guestroom product, many amenities and facility improvements have been made around the resort and will continue into this year. We are pleased to advise that the Eclipse Restaurant has reopened with a fresh new look. The restaurant’s interior offers a warmer, cozier feel to the grand room and our culinary team will be introducing an updated menu shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Deerhurst has so much potential as they are on a great piece of property, but they need to significantly update, refresh and renovate to be up to par with other resorts that are competing for their business in that general area- eg. the Marriott on Lake Rousseau.
Room was tired and lacked amenities that I know expect in a room- a couple of bottles of water and robes are not alot to ask for.
The gym facility was so out of date and depressing that it took alot to even go in there and workout.
The highlight though was the New Years Eve show called Decades- top notch and thoroughly enjoyed it and the dinner. The concierge Nick was great to get us in last minute instead of eating at Eclipse. Had we not enjoyed this as much as we did, my stay would have been a wash and I would likely not ever go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and the compliments about Nick, our Resort Ambassador and the New Year’s Eve dinner/show. Decades Live Show is definitely a highlight for many of our guests. Our multi-talented show cast of dancers, singers and musicians create remarkable renditions of many chart-toppers from the 1950s to today. It is a must see!

Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for the multi bedroom condos that we manage on behalf of private individual owners and are confident further renovations will be completed soon. In addition to improving our guestroom product, many amenities and facility improvements have been made around the resort and will continue into this year.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity and recommend you contact us directly so we can provide a comprehensive overview of our accommodations and amenities available to suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Deerhurst, it was generally a nice place however the walls were very thin and it was possible to hear normal conversations from the rooms next door. Don't find this aspect particularily appealing and they have extremely obnoxious policies and handling of complaints. Beautiful town and area though

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We agree Muskoka is beautiful and glad you enjoyed our area and charming town of Huntsville. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can actively address the details you noted and apologize to you in person. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Deerhurst is central to winter's wonders. Our weekend with family
wasn't up to standard - weather and accommodation wise. While
we were warm, and the roof didn't leak, the new owner needs to
work with the owners in at least the Evergreen section, and ensure
that the expectatons of paying guests are being met before they arrive.
Interestingly, if something was missing or broken, it was the fault of the
suites' owners! We wondered if the sales staff were really in touch with
the product they were selling - "you'll enjoy this unit, it's been updated"
when it hadn't! Old furnishings, burned out lights, bent fixtures,
fireplaces that didn't work, missing cooking tools: pots, bowls, oven mits.
We made do, or called for the items. I am sure the housekeeping
and maintenance personnel were a bit frustrated at times with all the calls for help.
Some of them were indeed Saints. Front office mgt did respond when called.
Thank you. Perhaps next time, we won't have to ask! That being said,
Hotel amenities: restaurant, spa, store, pool, icerink were available and enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our winter wonderland and appreciate the compliments within your review. We are sorry that the accommodation did not meet your expectations or our standards as well. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience so that we can actively address the details you note. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Deerhust as a romantic getaway. We stayed in a one-bedroom condo (the Greens). We loved our visit but would offer the following advice to others: if you are planning to cook (rather than dine in restaurants), bring your essential tools (non-stick frypan, sharp knife, large pots) because the kitchens are equipped by the owners and are unreliable as a result. we planned to cook gourmet and were disappointed by the kitchen contents but i will say that the front desk was fantastic about helping us out with the basic needs.

re. resort activities: we loved the pool and hot tub. The skating rink was very small--half was devoted to hockey. I would suggest an hour a day be devoted to pleasure skating. We were disappointed re. the skating. Lots of activites for children (tobogganing down the hills, cross-country skiing) so would recommend this resort for families..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed your romantic getaway at our resort and would recommend us to others. We apologize that cookware did not meet your needs and pleased to read our front desk staff were able to assist you on site. These spacious condos come complete with a full kitchen with full size appliances, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, various size pots, pans, dishes and cutlery, a dining room and a living room with stereo, TV, DVD player, double sofa bed and fireplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.