We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Valley Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1755 Valley Road, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Huntsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs a renovation!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and thankfully it was just one night. The pool was discusting, we felt slimy when we got out and the pool deck was moldy and tiles were coming off and the fake roll in decking over the tiles was bubbling and peeling off!? The out door pool was just opening for the season and it was dirty. The hallways had buckets in them catching a leak in two spots!?!? Really. It was gross. The room was adequate and bedding was fine but EVERYTHING needed an update. The service was ok but slow at the restaurant and the waitress spilled a drink on my friend. The bartender was great. We had a nice time as the view was nice but we were really disappointed with the condition of the hotel. They use the word "resort" loosely.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel even though it was a negative experience for you and for that I apologize.
I am sorry that you found our some facilities such As the pool deck
In need of repair , yes we have had difficulty resurfacing our pool deck this will be resolved soon

You also mentioned a staff member spilling a drink on your friend ,I assume this was an accident and I am sure the server apologized for this incident .I am glad the bartender provide you with good service .
As for the buckets in the hallway , yes sometimes a leak can occur quite unexpectedly , but normally our maintenance department keep our hotel in good repair for our guests.
I do not know what room you were staying in but more than 75 percent of our guest rooms have been renovated and rooms that haven't are on our renovation schedule , I am sorry that your accommodation was not up to your expectations.
I am pleased you found our beds clean and comfortable
Guest reviews allow us to continually improve our property.
Hopefully you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    92
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
101
87
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a lovely little mini vacation and actually decided to stay an extra day. Wonderful view from our room . Beds were extremely comfortable and room was clean and cozy. Front staff were very approachable and helpful. We had a couple of meals at the Birches restaurant where we found the food delicious and reasonably priced. Will probably make this an annual get away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the compliments in your review of Hidden Valley Resort , all the employees work extremely hard to provide clean, comfortable and courteous service to our visitors but actually seeing it in a review provides feedback that shows us that we are doing a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were clean, well maintained, and great value. The only complaint was that the water was too cold so they wouldn't let us use the canoes. Continental breakfast included, value added!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Trip advisorDear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hidden Valley Resort on Trip Advisor.
I am sincerely sorry that you were not able to enjoy a canoe trip in beautiful Peninsula Lake, guest safety is of primary importance and maintenance on the canoes had not been performed for the summer season
I hope if you return you will be able to use all our facilities to your satisfaction.
Our employees work hard to maintain and keep our rooms and facilities clean for our guests and I am glad you found this part of your stay excellent.
I hope you will return to Hidden Valley Resort very soon to enjoy the beautiful summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hidden Valley Resort really exceeded our expectations. My family loved it! The service was amazing and the staff really went out of their way to be accommodating. The rooms were spacious and clean, the grounds were beautiful. The indoor saltwater pool was refreshing and well maintained, and the beach area was so much fun. We can't wait to go back, I would highly recommend a stay at Hidden Valley Resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor and for such a stellar review of Hidden Valley Resort .
Customer service is very important to our employees and we are always trying to improve ways for our guests to feel very special during their stay here.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

we booked in on our way across canada with a discounted price - cheapest apparent in huntsville this day. very nice, very comfortable, very clean. only point was that room, 206, though having a great view of lake must have had thin adjoining doors. noisy neighbours made this a problem. oh well, could have happened anywhere. supper, though not cheap, was very good and greatly enjoyed. and thanks chris for your play-list. we'd be back without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank-you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We would love to have you stay with us again. We are happy that you found value in our pricing and that you had the opportunity to find us here in beautiful Huntsville, on the shores of Lake Peninsula.
Thank-you for your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

There have been many up grades to the Lobby and grounds since our last visit. We enjoyed a wonderful Dinner starting with an amazing bowl of Cream of Carrot & Tomato Soup. Followed with a well presented plate of NY Strip Lion Served with a Mushroom &Cognac Peppercorn Cream Sauce on a bed of Vegetables. Amazing. Desert was the choice of NY Style Cheesecake, Bumbleberry or Peacan Pie.

Another choice was Penne Seafood Medley with Baby Clams, Tiger Shrimp, Calamari & Seared Scallops served in a White Wine & Butter Sauce with Cherry Tomatoes, Chives & Peppers.

After dinner we went for a walk around the grounds. Work in progress to repair the dock, but beautiful evening to walk and look at the lake.

There is an indoor and outdoor pool. A lounge with a big beautiful deck to enjoy your drink with a view of the lake. Plenty of table and chairs for everyone.

We had a nice room, Room 303, with a little balcony to sit and watch people come and go. Free internet and free parking.

For me, my only complaint would be the mattress and pillows. This room has a very hard bed and flat pillows. I love a firm, but not to hard, bed with fluffy pillows. So for some this would be the perfect room.

The staff were great. From the Reception, to the servers, even though we didn't see the maids, garden keepers, chefs, etc. they to were obviously doing a great job.

Would I stay again. Yes. Beautiful location, wonderful staff, good value. Kudos Hidden Valley Resort.

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy a meal at Birches Restaurant. Bring a bathing suit and most important, bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you enjoyed everything that we have to offer. Well perhaps our new beds were a little firm for your liking and for that I am sorry. That was great feedback regarding our dining room. I think we offer excellent food at fair prices with a wonderful selection and view. I think you would agree with me based on your review. When you return you will see the dock repairs completed.( what a terrible flood) Our team continues the commitment to exceeding guest expectations. We hope that you agree!
Thank-you for your feedback and for your business. I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again.
Scptt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel before the ownership changed and my ring was stolen out of the room. When we contacted management they said that what we were told by the desk staff didn't even make sense. Fast forward to now ... I gave it a second chance cause I figured new owners maybe new experiences... although the beds were comfortable beyond belief, the internet was good and the hotel is in a peaceful surrounding we overheard a staff member making fun of us to another guest. We advised the front desk and they said they would handle it and then just kinda stared at us. Sorry but I have worked in hotels something more should have been done. Also when we checked into our room there was a container of salad in the fridge... we opened it just wondering if one of us maybe left it there... nope .. almost gagged.
Like I say they had done some things well but these two soured it for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for your review.
I am not sure about previous owners or operators or stolen rings. I am not really sure how that fits as a review of our business but however, I guess you have a bad feeling from a previous time.
We attempt to employ professional staff and we call on them to remain professional at all times as well as friendly and helpful. Perhaps we failed in the area of courtesy on this. Perhaps you did not hear everything that was said. All of that should go without saying but a salad left behind is not acceptable from a guest room cleanliness position. I am very sorry that happened to you and I hope you will forgive our shortcoming in the housekeeping department.
Thank-you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
0.5 mi away
Pow Wow Point Lodge
Pow Wow Point Lodge
#9 of 20 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#10 of 20 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#12 of 20 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#5 of 20 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort

Address: 1755 Valley Road, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#4 Family Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Huntsville
Hv Hidden Valley Hotel
Hv Hidden Valley Huntsville
Hidden Valley Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.