We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept little secret in Huntsville- Algonquin Moon B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algonquin Moon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Algonquin Moon
Save
You added Algonquin Moon to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Swallowdale Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
North Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best kept little secret in Huntsville- Algonquin Moon B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the weekend of July 8 , 2012 I surprised by husband with a little weekend getaway to celebrate his birthday.
Steve and Janet owners of Algonquin moon were great hosts, serving not only nutritious and eye appealing breaksfasts, but excellent tasting and enough to keep you full till dinner time. The room we stayed at was the Log cabin room and it was just perfect. Furnishing beautiful, exceptionally clean and wonderfully sized.
Steve and Janet were aware that this was a surprise and were greeted with a nice bottle of wine and even a birthday card for my husband.! Where else do you get such attention to detail. We have travelled extensively throughout Canada and the Europe and by far this is the best place we have stayed at. It it a 5 star plus !
Thank you Steve and Janet and Spence for the wonderful accommodations and excellent conversations. We will be back !
A/J

Room Tip: Try the Log cabin room, You have your own entrance and it is beautifully furnished and quiet and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgonquinMoon, Owner at Algonquin Moon, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
It was great fun helping you plan the birthday surprise. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Amazing authentic atmosphere, very relaxing and homey. Excellent mix of authenticity with modern amenities. Steve and Janet are very welcoming and do a wonderful job of making you feel like you're home away from home, not to mention the food is amazing too!
I can't wait to visit again.
Thank you so much for the wonderful experience! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgonquinMoon, Owner at Algonquin Moon, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On arrival, we were greeted by a field of deer, a flock of geese and the warm welcome of our hosts. We stayed in the Log cabin room -quiet, clean and well stocked with coffee, fruit and cookies. Breakfast was fabulous. It was pleasure to meet and talk with Steve and Janet. We were on the Muskoka Studio Tour so only stayed the one night, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Algonquin Moon felt less like a B&B and more like home. Everything about my experience was amazing; the room and hosts, Janet and Steve, were so inviting it was hard to leave. Breakfast, my favourite meal, was nothing short of perfection! I can't wait to go back.
Thanks again for your hospitality! :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgonquinMoon, Owner at Algonquin Moon, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are so glad you felt at home during your stay. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 Nights in the Algonquin Moon Suite. The Room as well as the whole House is very nice and beautiful decorated. From a very warm Welcome to superb homemade Breakfasts and Talks in the Mornings and in the Evenings icluding Travel Suggestion we felt like visiting good Friends. B&B as it should be :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed at Algonquin Moon twice this summer and it is an excellent getaway. A cross between your home away from home and a five star inn. The setting is in a beautifully wooded area with deer roaming nearby, horses grazing in the fields and a spectacular view of Fairy lake and the Muskoka scenery from their enormous deck. Comfortable exquisitely decorated rooms with every detail special. Delicious breakfasts and locally sourced coffee, make you want to linger and relax before starting the day. And to keep you fuelled through the day, a cookie jar with homemade chocolate chip cookies is a real treat. Janet and Steve are perfect hosts and helpful with suggestions for everything from local dining to best trails to hike in Algonquin. I will definitely be returning again in the future.
Barb

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butOn123, Owner at Algonquin Moon, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
It was a pleasure having you. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you Janet and Steve for being such gracious hosts. And such good cooks! I can still smell the coffee and taste those glorious blueberry pancakes. We loved our Log Cabin room and will always remember the beauty and peace of Canoe Lake. Til the next time ... Janice and Dave

Room Tip: Try the Log Cabin room for a true Canadian experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butOn123, Owner at Algonquin Moon, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algonquin Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Moon

Address: 32 Swallowdale Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Algonquin Moon 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Algonquin Moon Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonquin Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.