We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunk like Cigarette Smoke!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Court Motel

Highland Court Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Court Motel
Save
You added Highland Court Motel to your Saves list
208 Main Street West, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Y1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stunk like Cigarette Smoke!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was going to stay there but upon viewing the 1 bedroom suite, stunk so bad of cigarette's is was discusting, i thought there was a NO Smoking Law in Ontario, the manager forgot to read up on that law. When i said something about the cigarette smell she said she charged the guy $150 because of it, well usually when you charge you clean it up, not happening in this motel, the rooms where cute but Management didn't clean much!!! The price was outrageous as well, I'm not sure how this place got rated so high, because the rooms smell really bad.

Room Tip: No restaurant or swimming pool, but lots of restaurants in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englehart, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The owner was friendly. However the room was very dated, and not in very good repair. The light beside the beds had no knob to turn it on or off, the curtain was falling apart at the seams, and the bar of soap that was supplied for the shower looked like it had gotten wet. The air conditioner was very noisy. It looked fairly clean, however through the night, I had an earwig crawl on me. The location of this hotel is very nice, however it needs a major over haul to bring it up to par.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here overnight, were looking of a reasonably priced hotel as a stopover when dropping off our kids at a local camp. The owner was friendly and helpful but the room we had was very dated, the bed uncomfortable, the air conditioner and bathroom fan were extremely noisy. The bathroom is in serious need of updating, the enamel was peeling off the toilet seat and the bathtub faucet handle falling off, among other things. When we came back the following week we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This motel is nothing fancy but our room was clean and the owners friendly and helpful. I would return again as it was a good price and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed at this motel for one night in May. We stayed there as a stopover on our way to visit Algonquin Provincial Park which is only a 40 minute drive from Huntsville.
We checked in very late and the owner was very helpful and friendly to us even at midnight!
The rooms were very clean and recently refinished. Standard amenities including two double beds, TV, coffee maker, and fridge.
Great little motel room for an outstanding price. We paid $55 for one night with four people in the room.
I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Court Motel

Address: 208 Main Street West, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Y1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Highland Court Motel Huntsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.