We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Salad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Louis's II

Louis's II
24 Main Street E, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2C8, Canada
+1 705-789-5704
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Greek, Family Fare, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Casual Family Restaurant - Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The largest part of our menu is Homemade.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Horrible Salad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stopped here for lunch, on the way to Algonquin. I thought this was a Greek restaurant, since they have a picture of Santorini on the sign, and quite a few Greek items on the menu. I ordered the "authentic" Greek salad with chicken, and when it came out, it was anything but. Authentic Greek salad doesn't have lettuce, and is packed full of veggies and cubes of feta. This salad was full of soggy lettuce and store-bought dressing. By far, the worst thing was the chicken! Microwaved, not to completion, still pink, and kind of slimy? Yuck. Needless to say, we did not stop here on the way back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P, Owner at Louis's II, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest

First and foremost I must apologize for the bad experience you had in our restaurant. It is unfortunate that you were mislead by the wording on our menu. At one time we did indeed offer an "Authentic" Greek Salad but as it was not a big seller we removed it from the menu and returned to the more popular Canadian version. Again, I apologize and I have to admit, when we redid the menu I did not even notice the word "Authentic" was still on the menu and could mislead a diner. As for the chicken, it is pre-cooked daily in the oven and should never be sent out in the pre-cooked state, the cooks are suppose to finish the cooking process on the grill before adding it to the salad. It sounds to me as though this did not happen in your case. The salad dressing also is our own and not bottled, again it sounds as if the dressing was not shaken properly before being added to the salad, which leaves only the oil with very little in the way of flavor on the salad.
We thank you for your review, your input has been extremely valuable to our restaurant. It is difficult to improve service both in the kitchen and on the floor without customer advice.
I can only apologize again and assure you that the kitchen will be advised of your complaint and changes will be implimented. We will in the near future also be redoing our menu's and the word "Authentic" will be removed so as not to mislead future customers.

Again, our thanks, and if you should ever decide to visit our establishment again we will do our best to improve your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    48
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went for breakfast and it was really good. Food was excellent and the prices were cheap. Staff was helpful and friendly, would definitely recommend!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nonexistent service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is only the second time I have ever walked out on a restaurant. We stopped in for breakfast. We seated ourselves and it took a while before one of the two waitresses dropped off menus. Then we waited. Waited and waited. We were ready to order and after some time we mentioned this to our waitress as she passed by. The response was a curt and snippy "I know you are ready!" So we waited some more. She was bringing out food for other tables which is fine. But then she went off to bus a table and disappeared to deal with some people coming in the door. At no point were we even offered some coffee while we waited. After 20 minutes of being ignored, we walked out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lasagna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Some friends told us to go for dinner. We went for dinner and the lasagna is homemade and very delicious. My husband had the gnocchi with rose sauce it was very good. We did go for lunch and the pizza are very good too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is rated as greek in many places but it is more like international, we both went Italian. and it was very good.
Veal Parmigiana and Spaghetti Carbonara were a good choice.
Desert portions are huge!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louis's II also viewed

 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Louis's II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis's II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.