We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and charming old manor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Briars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Briars to your Saves list
The Briars
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Hedge Road, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIALS AT BRIARS
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Waterford, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy and charming old manor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our week-end stay. We had a mini cousins reunion, 3 couples - one from Detroit, one from Montreal and one from Ottawa, so geographically the Briars was sort of in the middle. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. This is an older historic resort but mostly well kept. Don't expect spacious modern rooms, they are a little small and dated, but well kept and quaint (reminds me of some of the Bed and Breakfast places I have experienced). Charming is the description for the entire experience. There are lots of outdoor activities, including a one hour narrated motor boat trip on the lake, an outdoor pool, kayaking and paddle boats, golf, tennis, biking, walking, and, instructed exercise classes (zumba was one). There are also indoor activities such as billiards, ping pong and an indoor pool. We played cards for a while in the bar. We all agreed that the food was excellent, and the meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were included in the price. Speaking of price, I have a few complaints; the price was a little high for the week-end, around $800 U.S. Plus you pay for drinks, even soda's. And, they charge a service fee of 15% which you'd think includes a tip for the waitresses, but it doesn't and we didn't know that until the last meal - meaning the poor wait staff didn't get any tips from us except for lunch on Sunday. That issue needs to be addressed my management. But overall the place is very charming and well worth the experience. Take a walk through the old historic part of the manor and the adjacent tower - very interesting. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    99
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
79
150
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Old but but enjoyed the week there. One week was to long though. I think two to three days would be enough. The food was excellent the room are nice. Staff is excellent. Not enough to do for a week and too expensive. If you want to relax and chill it's great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A beautiful quaint retreat just north of the city. Staff were so helpful and a nice note and bottle of wine was left in our room upon our arrival. If you're a history buff, you'll enjoy exploring the library and other rooms. The facilities are fading somewhat, and need some updating. But charming, nonetheless. We enjoyed using the bikes for a nice ride and had a quiet, leisurely day. The spa was wonderful, but the food was just average...the menu could use some freshening up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsResort, Manager at The Briars, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for passing on your kind comments about the
staff, we're glad you had a chance to explore the history
of our Resort in Manor House. I'm sorry the food did not
meet your expectations, we get mostly rave reviews, and
I would be happy to get more feed back from you at your
convenience>

Bob Law
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed over for the romance package including dinner, breakfast and a couples massage. The property is very nice with a beach and a dock over the road. There is a trail to walk and is a nice setting, overall there is not a lot to do. The room was average and the spa was average as the building is quite old it doesn't allow for a space for a normal spa.
The food was good but the service was rather slow as there didn't seem to be much interest in getting to us, about 15 min before we spoke to a server.
One thing that bothered us is that when you order from the pub area and put it on your room they charge a 15% service fee that doesn't go to the server so you have to bring cash around with you or the server doesn't get the tip...really dumb move. The night costs us around $700 because they charge an automatic 15% service charge ($65) that goes to the staff plus taxes and whatever else. We felt that the cost was far above the value... nice resort but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I don't know how a resort with this reputation could so massively screw up a much needed retreat - but it happened. We arrived at 10:30am and departed at 9:30pm after booking a 2 night stay. We didn't pay a dime.

Front desk staff were nice on the phone but then they were struck by lightening or something. Our reservation came in at $900+ even though $560 was quoted on the phone - no biggie, it was resolved quickly.

When we arrived (way too early) our room wasn't ready so we went to enjoy the facilities. First an art festival that was off the charts good - then the beach (Alex is one of those great employees). When we finally got to the Underhill cottage it was nice - certainly not puppyproof with wires all over the place - but we took care of that. The cleaner that assisted was also quite helpfull.

It took us a while to find the place - it was on a street that doesn't exist on my brand new GPS. That's okay. We then hung by the pool and Rachel the lifeguard was awesome. Always a smile.

Then things got really weird. Not a single local could suggest a place to go to dinner. After doing some research we learned that the golf course is completely unaffiliated with the resort - and that's a good thing. Alex and our server (she will kill me for not remembering her name) were great and I can't wait to return.

The Briar Resort? I will never return, and urge you to do the same. May I suggest the Little Inn in Bayfield, Ontario or Pinestone in Haliburton. That's where we are now - and it was 33% less expensive.

Go figure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarsResort, Manager at The Briars, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Basher22,

We are sorry that your stay did not start out as well as it could have, and as we discussed I appreciate your feedback on your experience before you departed., it was most helpful.
I'm glad that you did get to enjoy our lake front and pool areas, and do wish that we had a smoother start to your visit.

Bob Law
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Briars is a sprawling historic estate with old world charm. The property is spacious with lovely old style gardens, patios and garden chairs. All of the food fits in with the best I’ve ever had. Our room was apparently one of the nicest in the old house…. a mix of antiques with an updated bathroom, TV and a new comfy bed and bedding. We felt very relaxed and at home here and it was very clean. If you like modern, state of the art, fast paced resorts this won’t be the resort for you. The beach area was lovely as well. We thoroughly enjoyed 2 wonderful days absorbing all the beautiful surroundings, waterfront and charm. We brought our bikes and loved biking along all the gorgeous waterfront roads, to town and to the old church and historic cemetery. We have a few complaints. I don’t mind paying $178 for a room when we have the use of a beautiful, well maintained, lake front resort, but they charge a 15% resort fee on top of the room price which seems like double dipping in my opinion. And if you charge your meals to your room you pay a 15% resort fee on your meals too…… doesn’t seem right to me. Why don’t The Briars charge $205 for the room, as that is what we are paying anyway with a 15% resort fee? The 15% resort fee on the expensive room and meals feels like manipulative marketing. The front desk staff said the resort fee partially goes to the waitresses, and the waitresses say they don’t see any of it. As guests we don’t want to hear any of these problems and it gives us the impression that the management aren’t treating their staff fairly. And when I see a 15% resort fee on my dinner bill I assume it is a tip so I don’t tip. And I resent the fact that dinner guests who are not staying at the resort pay 15% less….. not right. These are all issues that I feel need to be fixed so the customers and staff feel treated fairly and are not being manipulated. We stopped going to the Taboo resort for these very issues.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a lovely Ontario resort! Set on beautiful Lake Simcoe, The Briars is a great place for a quick weekend getaway or a more extended vacation. Lots of activities for kids but also a great place for romance, a girls spa weekend or even business. I was there for a week and there were 2 weddings during that time. The food was superb and great also if you need gluten free options. Golf course is beautiful too. 3 pools (1 indoor), water activities at the lake (kayak, paddle boats, canoes, cruise around the lake. On the one rainy day there was ping pong, billiards, darts, shuffleboard table, fooseball, puzzles, board games. Extra activities like yoga & zumba, exotic animals, drum circle & ice cream making depending on the day! Lots of fun for my 11 & 13 yr old, they loved the campfire each night & made s'mores! Above all else, there was impeccable & friendly service by all staff including the Sibbald family owners!!

Room Tip: Stayed in Governor Simcoe Suite - 2 bedrooms, sofa bed, large living room. Comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
22.1 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 15 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
19.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars

Address: 55 Hedge Road, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Briars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.