We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Days at The Briars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Briars

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson's Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Briars
55 Hedge Road, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jackson's Point
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two Days at The Briars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Briars is a sprawling historic estate with old world charm. The property is spacious with lovely old style gardens, patios and garden chairs. All of the food fits in with the best I’ve ever had. Our room was apparently one of the nicest in the old house…. a mix of antiques with an updated bathroom, TV and a new comfy bed and bedding. We felt very relaxed and at home here and it was very clean. If you like modern, state of the art, fast paced resorts this won’t be the resort for you. The beach area was lovely as well. We thoroughly enjoyed 2 wonderful days absorbing all the beautiful surroundings, waterfront and charm. We brought our bikes and loved biking along all the gorgeous waterfront roads, to town and to the old church and historic cemetery. We have a few complaints. I don’t mind paying $178 for a room when we have the use of a beautiful, well maintained, lake front resort, but they charge a 15% resort fee on top of the room price which seems like double dipping in my opinion. And if you charge your meals to your room you pay a 15% resort fee on your meals too…… doesn’t seem right to me. Why don’t The Briars charge $205 for the room, as that is what we are paying anyway with a 15% resort fee? The 15% resort fee on the expensive room and meals feels like manipulative marketing. The front desk staff said the resort fee partially goes to the waitresses, and the waitresses say they don’t see any of it. As guests we don’t want to hear any of these problems and it gives us the impression that the management aren’t treating their staff fairly. And when I see a 15% resort fee on my dinner bill I assume it is a tip so I don’t tip. And I resent the fact that dinner guests who are not staying at the resort pay 15% less….. not right. These are all issues that I feel need to be fixed so the customers and staff feel treated fairly and are not being manipulated. We stopped going to the Taboo resort for these very issues.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    71
    30
    18
    18
See reviews for
61
125
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely Ontario resort! Set on beautiful Lake Simcoe, The Briars is a great place for a quick weekend getaway or a more extended vacation. Lots of activities for kids but also a great place for romance, a girls spa weekend or even business. I was there for a week and there were 2 weddings during that time. The food was superb and great also if you need gluten free options. Golf course is beautiful too. 3 pools (1 indoor), water activities at the lake (kayak, paddle boats, canoes, cruise around the lake. On the one rainy day there was ping pong, billiards, darts, shuffleboard table, fooseball, puzzles, board games. Extra activities like yoga & zumba, exotic animals, drum circle & ice cream making depending on the day! Lots of fun for my 11 & 13 yr old, they loved the campfire each night & made s'mores! Above all else, there was impeccable & friendly service by all staff including the Sibbald family owners!!

Room Tip: Stayed in Governor Simcoe Suite - 2 bedrooms, sofa bed, large living room. Comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first visit to The Briars. We were attracted by the prospect of a "luxury" resort so close to home, and after seeing it was a member of Ontario's Finest Resorts and reading the reviews posted here thought we would give it a try. What a mistake.

We were billed nearly $700 for only two days on their bed & breakfast only package - no lunch or dinner. While we normally have no problem spending that or more when we travel, the room was honestly worthy at best $120 a night with breakfast. That's being generous.

We requested a lakefront room with a king; the room was just that, a small room within an old cabin type structure; the bed was simply two twins pushed together and accompanied by the cheapest foam fill pillows available for sale. Terribly uncomfortable.

The room was not well cleaned; there were spider webs everywhere and the entry carpet had clearly not been cleaned at all. The shower/tub combo is equipped with an old yellowed shower head and the tub was stained from water and whatever non-slip materials they previously had applied. The handle to the bathroom blind fell off on first use. The air conditioning, an old faux wood unit affixed to the interior wall, was beyond disgusting; the filter had clearly not been cleaned or replaced in years.

The room's outdoor area was only large enough to accommodate two chairs and offered zero privacy. It lead down a set of crumbling stairs, overgrown with weeds to a small grassy area.

The resort itself is likewise in need of a desperate makeover. Very, very dated. Not charming, just in disrepair;

The restaurant has no ambience and the service was consistently slow, and worse it was simply rude one morning. The breakfast "buffet", and I use the word in the loosest sense, was an anemic display and we would for the money spent expect at least an omelet station. The dinner menu is limited and the food was just competently prepared, and like everything else at the resort at least twice as expensive as it should be for what they offer; as an example, the weekly BBQ buffet is $45p/p, though we couldn't try it because the service was rained out.

As for "amenities", the golf course looks nice, but we didn't play. The pools, like the room itself, look like what you might find at an old motel; the available watersports were not available throughout our stay despite one day offering the calmest water we'd seen on a lake that size, because we were told by the attending staff that the management is very concerned with liability.

Speaking of management, the highlight of the service we received was our introduction to the matronly owner, Barbara, who was kind and charming and full of intriguing stories from days past. Unfortunately, the service was otherwise like the resort, in desperate need of a makeover and a far, far cry from being one of the finest resorts in Ontario or anywhere.

Bottom line, the expectation set by the resort and the rates commanded are simply not aligned to the reality of the amenities and service they offer; either drastically reduce prices to align, or invest heavily in significant updates to the resort and staff training.

If you're well travelled and have any expectations at all, this resort will not appeal to you. Feel free to view the few pics we posted to help visualize our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited with our team from work. The location is beautiful right across from Lake Simcoe. Rooms were Very clean, although somewhat dated. Spa is located in the tower and is small and quaint. Lake Simcoe facial was awesome. Grounds are well kept and lots of walking areas. Private beach had quite a bit of goose droppings - not very enjoyable having to clean it out of my shoes afterwards. We had a bonfire on the beach at night which was lovely. Food was good. Service was somewhat lacking in the dining area which was disappointing given how much we enjoyed everything else. All in all a lovely spot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

13 coworkers went for an overnight and had a great time. The included meals were excellent, the rooms comfortable, the water's edge not well developed, the cleanliness of the lounges lacking, no effort to do upkeep with respect to spider webs and bugs around room doors and verandas, but providing us a hospitality suite made for a great social environment. We will return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just attended the most fun wedding on a great property. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable, The property made for stunning photos, The Summer House was a blast and the BBQ was awesome,
Thanks Briars.

Room Tip: The Mayfair cottage for big groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Overall a pretty nice place. Wonderful view on lake Simcoe and the property is well kept and spacious. Rooms are a bit dated but they are comfortable and clean (very important factor). Staff is very friendly, courteous and efficient. Probably one of the best things at this place is the food! It is nothing short of spectacular! All three meals are excellent and worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
Free Parking, B...
Show More
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 15 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket
Free Breakfast...
Show More
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 18 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
19.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
19.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars

Address: 55 Hedge Road, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Briars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Briars to your Saves list