We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Briars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Briars to your Saves list
The Briars
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Hedge Road, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited with our team from work. The location is beautiful right across from Lake Simcoe. Rooms were Very clean, although somewhat dated. Spa is located in the tower and is small and quaint. Lake Simcoe facial was awesome. Grounds are well kept and lots of walking areas. Private beach had quite a bit of goose droppings - not very enjoyable having to clean it out of my shoes afterwards. We had a bonfire on the beach at night which was lovely. Food was good. Service was somewhat lacking in the dining area which was disappointing given how much we enjoyed everything else. All in all a lovely spot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Miabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

13 coworkers went for an overnight and had a great time. The included meals were excellent, the rooms comfortable, the water's edge not well developed, the cleanliness of the lounges lacking, no effort to do upkeep with respect to spider webs and bugs around room doors and verandas, but providing us a hospitality suite made for a great social environment. We will return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just attended the most fun wedding on a great property. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable, The property made for stunning photos, The Summer House was a blast and the BBQ was awesome,
Thanks Briars.

Room Tip: The Mayfair cottage for big groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Overall a pretty nice place. Wonderful view on lake Simcoe and the property is well kept and spacious. Rooms are a bit dated but they are comfortable and clean (very important factor). Staff is very friendly, courteous and efficient. Probably one of the best things at this place is the food! It is nothing short of spectacular! All three meals are excellent and worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our stay was wonderful and the food was amazing. The room had a fireplace, huge windows (one can open them to let in fresh air), the personnel is really thoughtful and caring. This is a luxury resort at its best.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NKS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Briars Resort and Spa was the most peaceful, tranquile, and restful week that I have ever experienced. It is a family resort and getaway from the city. Great rooms, amazing food, and friendly staff members contributed to my stay.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms to choose from within the main house or rent a cottage overlooking Lake Simcoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire0720132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

For the past 6 year several of our graduating class have gathered at The Briars to reconnect and build upon our friendship Once again we found the Briars the perfect venue for such an occasion Great food , comfy environment physically and aesthetically, super service all went together allowing us to put our feet up, wander the trails, swim,(inside or out) golf, explore the local history, indulge in a massage,etc all at our own pace ! Will be back next year. Thankyou to all the staff

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judieb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
22.1 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
21.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 15 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
17.4 mi away
Knights Inn Lagoon Harbour Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briars

Address: 55 Hedge Road, RR 1, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jackson's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
The Briars Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing