We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan House Hotel

Jordan House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan House Hotel to your Saves list
Jordan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 Main Street, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were excited about our trip to Jordan. First we went to the very charming inn but were told our reservations were at a different location.. The Jordan House, at a package price of $500(includes 2 breakfasts and one dinner) has been a total disappointment. I don't find the rooms to be updated, as advertised and not terribly clean. The pillow coveting is yellowed and smells oily. The handle on the toilet has to be lifted after every flushing. This for $500? And where's the staff?

The tavern next door is charming and our dinner was great. The townspeople and shops are lovely. Just don't stay here. Our hotel room in Newark was much nicer for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The village of Jordan is right in the middle of wine country and is a wonderful place to stay. Easy distance from St Catherines and Hamilton, by far the best place to stay while in those areas. The modern blue and brown rooms are located above the historic Jordan House Tavern which is a great place to relax with a brew, wine or food. Not an extensive menu but the food is good and the atmosphere is fantastic. Overall, the place is clean, well decorated, unique and the bathrobes are to live for!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here well attending a wedding at the Twenty restaurant. The hotel is small only 14 rooms on 2 floors. It is well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The village of Jordan is quite small and the hotel was in walking distance of the restaurant. We had a very pleasant stay. If you are looking for a small hotel in Wine Country we recommend the Jordan House.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here for my cousin's wedding. The hotel is in a good location and only a short distance from the shops and my cousin's wedding venue - Inn on the Twenty. It was also nice to have the bar right downstairs. The rooms are average, however I felt they were overpriced. Especially since they didn't have any double rooms - we had 4 people in a room with 1 bed and a pull out couch. To make it worse, they charged extra per person to sleep on a pull-out (I believe it was $30/person/night)... I'm sorry, but we would've been better off sleeping on the floor! The mattress on the pull out was worn and super uncomfortable. I woke up sore each morning. Not to mention, there were no extra blankets, so we froze under the thin sheets and little blanket that was on the pull-out. We opted out of having breakfast included, and good thing we did - I heard from another guest they charge $20/person to include it with your room, however, if you go down to the restaurant and pay yourself, it's only $15/person... Which the front desk told us we wouldn't be able to purchase breakfast at the restaurant, but when we went to the restaurant they told us otherwise... Also, we had the room closest to the bar, and you could hear the band playing all night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_on_the_Twenty, Manager at Jordan House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We are sorry that this guest did not fully enjoy their stay with us. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify a few points that the guest had, in order to help all future guests be as informed as possible when it comes to the offering that we have at the Jordan House Hotel.

As per industry standards, there is typically an upcharge for adding more than two guests to a suite, to compensate for the extra cleaning, extra linen, towels, and items of that nature. In this particular case we are slightly confused as to why the guest stated that they were charged, as the charge was refunded, in good faith, after the guest stated that only 2 guests stayed in that room, and did not use the pull out sofa.

Breakfast at the Jordan House Hotel is an additional upgrade of $20.00 per room, per night; equaling $10.00 per guest. There is truth to the $15.00 charge for breakfast, but it applies to non-guests. If someone joins us in our restaurant who just stepped in “off the street”, they would not be turned away, as any restaurant patron is always welcome, and they would be quoted the $15.00 for our Enhanced Continental Breakfast.

As to the statement “…the front desk told us we wouldn't be able to purchase breakfast at the restaurant…” we would like to apologize for any miscommunication, and trust us when we promise that any guest would be allowed to order breakfast at the $10.00 per person price. We have already addressed this amongst the staff, and clarified it again so that this type of mis-communication doesn’t occur again.

We do have live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights in our Jordan House Tavern, and we do notify guests, upon booking, that this is the case, as some guests are more sensitive to noise than others. We very rarely have anyone bring it to our attention as a disruption, and we would always encourage anyone who has an issue to contact Guest Services immediately so that we may have an opportunity to correct the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Visited here on a Wednesday night whilst passing through wine country. It is really close to the nice village of Jordan, and not hard to find from the highway at all. The front of house staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The rooms were (for the price) slightly bland and felt somewhat corporate. The beds were fine but the AC was a little noisy. The bar/restaurant downstairs is a nice place to eat and has live music and so forth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Jordan House Hotel provided good value for a weekend in Ontario's wine country. The hotel was clean, nicely appointed and well-priced - meaning more money for wine! The staff was accommodating and friendly. The window-mounted airconditioner was about as loud as any window-mounted air conditioner, and did not bother us at all. The only realy upgrade would be a small bar fridge. It would have been great to store a bottle or two of wine and some of the cheese, fresh fruit and vegetables we purchased in a fridge, and it would allow for real cream and milk with morning coffee, rather 'creamers'. There is even a space under the coffee maker that would be perfect for a small fridge. I would gladly pay $10 or so a night more for this convenience. However, I still highly recommend the Jordan House Hotel for a pleasant night or two in Jordan, Ontario.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Very clean, very nice, room was modern and fresh. I feel silly complaining because I would give it a 9/10...

HOWEVER... that 1/10 was far too important: TERRIBLE NIGHT'S SLEEP...the air conditioner cranked on and off all night long! Because it was hot (August in Ontario!) they have a "note" taped to the air conditioner saying that it will only run at high for 30 minutes. Then it shuts itself off!!! So we spent the whole night listening to it kick in, while we were sweating hot, then it would finally cool down and BOOM, shut off again. This scenario went on all night right beside our bed. We had the worst night's sleep.

If you are staying during weather that won't require air conditioning I would absolutely recommend it. I would consider going again in the fall when we like to do the wine tours. But I will NEVER stay here in the summer ever again.

Otherwise it's a great place to stay. Well worth our money... $149 Canadian, included breakfast for 2 down at the Restaurant on the Twenty.

Seems strange saying I would recommend it, but I would... just NOT in the heat of the summer when you will need the air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jordan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan House Hotel

Address: 3751 Main Street, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jordan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jordan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan House Hotel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.