We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2793 Beacon Boulevard, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada (Formerly Beacon Harbourside Inn & Suites Conference Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Travelers Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a bad feeling about this place when we pulled up. Very remote location. Reception area was horribly dated. Checked in at around 10:30 pm and when we got up in the morning to leave, our vehichle was stolen. Needless to say this runied our vacation. This was day 2 of what was supposed to be a 9 day road trip. Not being from the country posed another set of issues that just made an already bad situation worse. Our cell service would not work in Canada and therefore we had no internet access. Tried to use the hotel computer but that was not working either, what a shocker. Ice machine... didnt work either.

So onto the room, if you don't mind bugs in your room, this is a great place to stay. On one side of the room there was bug splatter all on the ceiling and on the other there were just good old fashioned live ones. The wall was cracked from top to bottom in the corner by the AC unit. The furniture was very dated, and damaged. The bathroom however was nice. Looked to have been recently redone, so this was the only nice thing I can point out.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisatokuc, General Manager at Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We will be using your feedback to implement changes to improve our future guests experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    74
    59
    52
See reviews for
82
97
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I were married and had our reception at The Beacon Harbourside in 2006. At the time, this property had undergone some cosmetic improvements and the staff was most helpful. Our wedding was absolutely perfect from start to finish. We had worked with amazing coordinators, enjoyed an outdoor ceremony and delightful reception. Our guests raved about how good the food was and the convenience of staying at this hotel.

As a treat last weekend, my husband and I decided to go to The Beacon's Sunday buffet. Due to our history with this hotel, we normally enjoy visiting and reminiscing about our big day. Although, we were dismayed and upset by the current state of this property. We were seated at table that had dirt or something similar on a stained table cloth. The gorgeous marina view was tarnished by extensive cob-webs, bugs and filth that coated the exterior of the windows. This place needs a good power wash!
Although our server was pleasant, The Beacon has no “buzz” going. There were only a handful of elderly couples in the restaurant. Most of the staff seemed bored and uninterested. What a shame!

The management needs to take a good look around realize that The Beacon needs a serious polish inside and out. Providing some much needed TLC will not only make your staff proud to work there, but bring back some valuable customers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from July 22nd to 24th. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was friendly. Once we reached our room, we found that the air conditioner was issuing a throbbing sound, so we phoned and asked for another room. This was arranged quickly and efficiently and the desk clerk was friendly, polite and accomodating. The view of the harbour was quite impressive and the room was spacious and clean.
We chose to eat dinner at the onsite sports bar called, Don Cherry's Sports Grill. That was a mistake. We were seated quickly, but that was the last quick thing that took place here. We asked the server for details about the nightly special which on Sunday is a medium pizza and a pound of wings for $16.00. She explained that only one topping was included on the pizza, but she then added that if we wished, we could order two toppings, one on each half of the pizza. We elected to do that. A few minutes later, the server returned to report that we couldn't get two toppings after all unless we wanted to pay an additional 75 cents for the extra topping. We couldn't understand how one-half plus one-half equalled two, but didn't want to argue the point so we ordered one single topping for the entire pizza. Then the wait began. After a time, two couples who had walked in after us decided that they had waited long enough for their food and walked out. We had noticed four people sitting at another table when we walked in and they eventually asked the waitress what was taking so long with their order. We waited 45 minutes before our food finally arrived and we received it before the people at the table for four received theirs. The pizza was good, but the chicken wings were lukewarm. However, we didn't ask for them to be heated up because we figured that would take an additional half hour or more. We finished our meal and asked for our bill. When it arrived, we found an extra 75 cents added to the bill for the one topping on the pizza. What restaurant offers a pizza with zero toppings included? We didn't argue the point and simply deducted the extra charge from the tip. We will never go back there and we heard another couple with two children remark that they are locals and they will never return either.
The next night we dined at the picturesque onsite dining room called, The Beacon Harbourside Restaurant. The view, service, and food were all excellent.
We would be willing to stay at this hotel again. However, as I said above, there is no way that we will dine at Don Cherry's Sports Grill again unless we develop a fondness for long waits, lukewarm food, and extra charges added to our bill.

Room Tip: Breakfast is available down the street at Tim Horton's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were surprised and very pleased with the setting of this hotel. We had a balcony room overlooking the water where the boats were moored. The balcony had two very dirty chairs and the room didn't feel clean. Our friends had a room two doors down and found a bloodied band aid on their soap. The food in the restaurant was nothing exceptional. We will not use this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: While the setting of this hotel is great, it is very tired and old. The pool looked great although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went for Sunday buffet. 8 people in our group. Our server was clearly in a foul mood. My father commented that it hadn't changed in 40 years. The breakfast "buffet" ($12.95 + $1.95 for coffee) consisted of 5 items - all of which were cold. The bacon was undercooked, flavourless, and sitting in a pool of grease. The pancakes were cold and rubbery. Danish was good. The server was very inattentive even though there were very few people. 5 of the 8 people ordered their breakfast and all complained about it being cold and disappointing. Our server seemed annoyed when we pointed out that our bill for 8 people had 10 meals on it. Until today, I didn't think it was possible to screw up a breakfast buffet. It is possible. The Beacon proved that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were looking for an accommodation for one night, arrived late and asked for the corresponding rate. The first rate that was offered to us was quite expensive, but then we were offered a reasonable discount and a complimentary breakfast. We guess that they knew what room they had in mind for that.

The room in general was ok, we had a real beautiful view on the Ontario lake. The door lock was ok, but the door latch was broken. The room was located over the machine room for the pool, so that the floor was vibrating at least in half of the room. For myself the vibration had a real bad frequency so that I was feeling it in my whole body. For my friend it was ok. She did hardly realise the vibration. So after we switched the beds, it was ok.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we cannot remember the room number (was it 418?), but assure that you do not get the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in room 143 but there was no lift for my disabled wife to go in, and so we had to have her walk upstairs. Nice full window view of Lake Ontario (with a thunder storm) and the marina. No noise from anything whatsoever. Television could only get seven channels and we were told this was because of the thunder storm, but even when it had passed we still got seven, and only one had good reception.

Overall a good one nights stay, with clean rooms, decently priced, other areas clean and nicely kept.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort

Address: 2793 Beacon Boulevard, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada (Formerly Beacon Harbourside Inn & Suites Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Harbourside Inn And Conference Centre
Best Western Beacon Harbourside Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Jordan
Jordan Best Western
Best Western Jordan
Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.