We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff - upstairs at the Upper Crust” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Pizza

Boston Pizza
223 Main St S, Kenora, Ontario P9N 1T3, Canada
807.468.5597
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Kenora
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great food and staff - upstairs at the Upper Crust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After leaving Boreli's for lack of service we ended up here. The upstairs is more like a sports bar. We sat at the bar, had a super delicious pizza and chatted with the young waitstaff. Very nice and clean. Be sure to find out when you actually have to pay for parking. We had already been paying for several hours when we didn't need to. There are no signs and nothing on the meters. City must make a killing from tourists. Also, we were told a blinking green light means you can go anywhere (right, left, forward). Had not seen this before in other Ontario cities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am really hoping that we caught this restaurant on a off night, otherwise they will be out of business very soon. I have eaten at dozens of BP's in the past and this place was by far the worst. When we arrived we requested a booth, the employee told us that there were no booths available, although there was a booth that sat empty for 20 minutes after we arrived. After being seated it took 10 minutes for our server to arrive. Our food did not arrive until 30 minutes later. Not once did our server drop by our table to refill my wife's coffee or ask how the meal was. The food was actually quite good, but, the combination of noise and poor service ruined our dining experience and we will not be frequenting Boston Pizza in Kenora again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow night = Rude Hostess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of travel, my husband, mother, 18 mth old daughter and myself were happy to see that Kenora had a BP ;) Always good food and service in every Boston Pizza we had frequented in Alberta so we expected the same. Sadly and frustratingly we were wrong. We had walked into the front entrance where two employees stood behind the desk, one turned and looked at us and then they both went back to looking at a map on the wall. After literally two minutes of no greeting or response, I grabbed three minutes off the edge of the counter and walked in to the closest table. As we were in the process of finding our own high chair we turned around to two employees who I learned after are actually being paid to be hostesses, staring at us. Hi I say, mind if we get a table?... Silent stares...Are you open I ask? Yes one says, and stands there. Hmmm, long day, tired hungry family, it took everything for us not to get rude when it was blatantly obvious that either two were in no way cut out to be working with the general public. Finally after another 30 seconds of dumbfounded stare we were brought into their dining room and seated. If wasn't for the awesome waitress we had and the good food, we would have been out of there with the gms number but both were great. However would we return? Not a chance. The first 10 sec, 5 feet you enter into an establishment you should be greeted and treated like a paying customer. Hope they find some good help with even passable customer service skills.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant Experience, EVER.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Myself and 2 other people decided to go for a drink after the movies. We arrived at BP and had our drink order taken at 11:00 pm. By 11:37 pm, our drinks had just been placed on the table after our server had apparently not known how to make them, then dropped them before they finally arrived. We had ordered 2 cesars and a bellini. We were offered 2 pizza bread apps as "compensation," which also took forever to arrive. We never saw or interected with a manager that whole time. This is not the first time I have had bad service at this location. I still go back just because there really is nowhere else you can go for a drink later on in the night in Kenora. This location needs a lesson in service and hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great, as all boston pizza's are!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great service, great food, great people! As always at BP's! Nice little restaurant with new upstairs lounge.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Pizza also viewed

Kenora, Kenora District
 

Been to Boston Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.