We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Hwy. 17 E., Kenora, Ontario P9N 1L9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Kenora
Estevan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Compared to other CI's this one is not good. The room needed a good cleaning, dust on the bathroom vanity, dirty floor in the bathroom, tub drain didn't hold water in the tub. Also the coffee pot had not be cleaned. For the quality of our stay it was priced about $30.00 above other hotel chains. I will definitely never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madsen
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very accommodating + friendly staff. We stayed at this hotel 6x this summer with no problems. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, + the halls quiet. The ground level rooms with outdoor access facing the bush are preferable but these book up quickly so phone in advance. Received a discount due to medical treatments being the purpose of our stay. Not close to the hospital but across the street from Walmart + Canadian Tire. It took about 45 minutes to walk from the hospital to the hotel. If we have to sleep over in Kenora this is our hotel choice.

Room Tip: Phone in advance for a ground level room in the back, facing the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I guess we lucked out when reading other recent reviews. We had no problems. It was a typical CI. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfy, the shower was good. There was a nice flatscreen and free in-room wifi. It was easy to find, right on the main highway. The staff was friendly. Book through eBates.com and get a rebate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Compared to other Choice hotels, this one misses the mark. Rooms did not seem clean, lots of smoke odor in the hallways, and breakfast area was impossible to even use due to crowds. Small rooms, but the patio doors are a good touch and make loading and unloading very easy. Don't have any other comparisons for Kenora, but I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Found a used sexual prophylactic (safe) in the room. Manager didn't return our call as requested. Filthy, dirty rooms if cleaning staff can't find a safe in plain view what else wasn't cleaned. We can't believe the Manager didn't have the courtesy to call us. We travel a lot and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were travelling from Calgary to Toronto by bus. We decided to break up the long bus trip by doing an overnight stay on the way out and back from Toronto. This particular motel was very close to the bus depot. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was included in the stay. Free coffee in the lobby was always available. The motel was close to several restaurants and a small shopping centre which had a Wal Mart ( in case you forgot anything). When we originally called to inquire about a stay the girl on the phone made a reservation without even requesting a credit card to hold the room. Prior to leaving on our way to Toronto we made a reservation for a room on our return trip. This room was even nicer than the first with sliding doors to the outside, a fridge and a microwave. But the best part was watching the deer on the front lawn of the motel! I cannot stress how friendly and helpful the staff were.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room. That way you have the sliding glass doors right outside and those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CI_Kenora, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Primarily, allow us to thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn as your preferred accommodation when you were in the Kenora area.

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will make sure that the staff is aware of your comments and that they are doing a good job.

The deer are very nice to see grazing on our lawn and I am happy that you were able to enjoy seeing them.

Thank you,

Alexandra Greig-Spak
General Manager
Comfort Inn Kenora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This Comfort Inn looks a lot newer compared to the other ones. Hallways and carpet is different.

No bad smells in the hallway or in the rooms. Very clean overall and nice staff. This one is above average from my experience there.

Internet was reliable and fast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CI_Kenora, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Primarily, allow us to thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn as your preferred accommodation when you were in the Kenora area.

Thank you for your wonderful comments, guest feedback is one way to help us make sure every guest’s stay is an enjoyable one.

Thank you,
Alexandra Greig-Spak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1230 Hwy. 17 E., Kenora, Ontario P9N 1L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Kenora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Kenora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Kenora
Comfort Inn Kenora, Ontario
Kenora Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.