We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations in a great city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at the Harbour to your Saves list
Inn at the Harbour
249 Harbour Street, Kincardine, Ontario N2Z 2X9, Canada (Formerly Harbour Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kincardine
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great accomodations in a great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a great part of town. It's off the main street but within walking distance of everything. The staff was very helpful and took very good care of our group. I had questions about local workout facilities so I emailed them in advance. They replied back they weren't sure but they'd let me know. They went and checked one out close by and sent me the contact info. and a description of the facility. This was a family trip and we occupied several rooms. One in the older part of the hotel, one in the newer part, and a suite in the newer part as well. All rooms were fine, but the suite was over the top. I'd highly recommend this hotel based on the service, quality of the room, and the location.

Room Tip: The suites is the way to go if you can afford it. If not, I would ask for a room in the newer part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I chose this hotel for the location near the harbor and in the middle of town. I was only there for 1 night, but wished I could have stayed longer. My room was in the older building of the hotel, which is an old-style motel with parking in front and exterior corridors. The building is older, so you don't have the same sound-proofing, large bathrooms, etc. that you would expect in a newer building. Still, the room was very comfortable and well-maintained. The bed was very comfortable. It appears that the rooms have been recently updated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Expensive for basic accommodation.
Rooms on the lower level have no harbour view.
Our room had ill fitting blinds on the window. Plumbing was noisy. We could hear other visitors showering and toilets flushing.
The coffee in the room was undrinkable.

Room Tip: I would imagine that rooms on the upper level are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just spent the long weekend at Inn at the Harbour in Kincardine, and had a great visit. We stayed in the cottage suite, and it is one-of-a-kind. Jen was welcoming, warm and helpful, and made us feel at home. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was amazing, as was the view. You can see the lighthouse, marina and harbour. It was a three minute walk to a beautiful beach. We would go back any time, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is such a quaint and lovely little Inn. The rooms are incredibly clean and so comfortable - from the pillows to the bedding! And the view is spectacular!!!!. The service is great too. I look forward to my next visit. PS - so comfy did not want to get out of bed! Bobbie

Room Tip: Top floor is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with work. The first room I was given when I arrived was leaking from the ceiling (It was raining) through the smoke detector. Apparently this had happened before in this room. They apologized and quickly moved me to an adjacent room. The room was very clean, and adequately appointed. The bathroom was average sized, and the beds were comfortable. One bonus item was that you got a free continental type breakfast delivered to your room each night for the following morning...on check in, you could choose what you would like in the breakfast package. Another bonus was that the room had free long distance calling. However, this bonus was more a negative for me because since the hotel was fully booked when I stayed there, the phone system got very busy, and I couldn't get through to successfully make a long distance call (in fact for the 4 nights I was there, I only got it to work once). One other complaint was the bathroom; although it was nice, there was only a pedestal sink to put things down on, and thus space for resting things on was limited. There was no pool at this hotel, and it was priced a bit high for what it was. It did have a very nice view of the lake though. I would stay here again if I had to, but it wouldn't be my first choice in Kincardine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

For a bed just steps from the lakefront, you could not get a better price. After some discussion, we paid $129.00 for a king size bed overlooking the water. There were chairs on the 2nd. floor balcony to enjoy the view, but it was rainy and cool.
The room was nothing out of the ordinary but clean. Bed was comfortable. If I was to nitpick, I would complain that the pillows were stuffed too much making for a lot of pillow punching to get a good spot.
We walked along the beach, very nicely laid out, then turned up to main street and found Tramonto restaurant, owned and operated by the same family as the Inn. Then just a short walk back to the Inn. Great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Harbour

Address: 249 Harbour Street, Kincardine, Ontario N2Z 2X9, Canada (Formerly Harbour Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Kincardine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kincardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Motor Inn is Kincardine's pre-eminent waterfront destination, right across from the Kincardine Lighthouse and the historic Walker House. We offer clean, beautifully furnished rooms with glorious views of Lake Huron sunsets and 2 minute walking access to the harbour, beaches, restaurants and Kincardine's main street. NEW ROOMS OPENING IN 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Motor Hotel Kincardine
Inn At The Harbour Kincardine, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.