We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellison's Bistro

Ellison's Bistro
14 Charles St. W., Kitchener, Ontario, Canada (City Commercial Core)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 429 Restaurants in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Commercial Core
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The perfect spot for some quiet, family time. Elvis personalized the evening by coming out and chatting with us and making sure everything was just so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conestogo, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“delicious island style cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We rarely go downtown, but now we know what we were missing! We went on a Friday and the server was so friendly and attentive. We started with the shrimp damien which had just the right amount of heat and were cooked perfectly. He had the pepperpot soup and I had the jerk chicken salad. We were already satisfied with that, but when we got our mains, curried goat and escovitch fish,( it was whole snapper yum!) we couldn't have been happier. Everything was so fresh and the flavours were just like being back in the Caribbean. We also tried the sweet potato pudding which was very good. We will definitely be back. I think I might try the roti next time. Don't wait as long as we did to go to this hidden gem.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“We had a delightful Saturday night out with a fabulous meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Jill and I are having a challenge finding a place to eat with a restricted diet. I found Ellison's Bistro on Trip Advisor. It was rated number 5 out of 417. The online menu was very helpful in deciding to eat at Ellison's Bistro. It appeared to be the number one restaurant for us.The menu had lots of food to choose for our the restricted healthy diets.

We were warmly welcomed by the hostess/waitress. The atmosphere was quaint and comfortable. Jill ordered the Grilled Vegetable dish. It was prepared to perfection. The spices were amazing. The presentation was lovely. I ordered the Paupaiettes and Sole. The sole was stuffed with red pepper and spinach. On the side I had the roasted potatoes. The delicate sole was respected with the subtle splicing. The presentation again was lovely. The two meals were absolutely fantastic.

Elvis, the owner and the hostess/waitress were very friendly and helpful.

Jill and I will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Being from the Caribbean it is so hard to find a good place to eat. Not only is the food amazing but the staff is friendly and the chef personally came out and asked us how our food was. This is by far my favourite spot!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You'll love this place and remember it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Start with good prices and add excellent service. The attention paid to the meals and the entire experience make this place a must visit. After a couple visits with groups of friends and family I can say most anyone should walk away very satisfied. We all sampled bits from each others plates and everything was above average to say the least. Elvis will make you feel comfortable the moment you walk in and you will want to return whenever you're in Kitchener. Ellison's is billed as Caribbean yet it's more. Put this gem of a place on your list when in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellison's Bistro also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ellison's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellison's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.