We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a delightful Saturday night out with a fabulous meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellison's Bistro

Ellison's Bistro
14 Charles St. W., Kitchener, Ontario, Canada (City Commercial Core)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 426 restaurants in Kitchener
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Commercial Core
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We had a delightful Saturday night out with a fabulous meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Jill and I are having a challenge finding a place to eat with a restricted diet. I found Ellison's Bistro on Trip Advisor. It was rated number 5 out of 417. The online menu was very helpful in deciding to eat at Ellison's Bistro. It appeared to be the number one restaurant for us.The menu had lots of food to choose for our the restricted healthy diets.

We were warmly welcomed by the hostess/waitress. The atmosphere was quaint and comfortable. Jill ordered the Grilled Vegetable dish. It was prepared to perfection. The spices were amazing. The presentation was lovely. I ordered the Paupaiettes and Sole. The sole was stuffed with red pepper and spinach. On the side I had the roasted potatoes. The delicate sole was respected with the subtle splicing. The presentation again was lovely. The two meals were absolutely fantastic.

Elvis, the owner and the hostess/waitress were very friendly and helpful.

Jill and I will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    37
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Being from the Caribbean it is so hard to find a good place to eat. Not only is the food amazing but the staff is friendly and the chef personally came out and asked us how our food was. This is by far my favourite spot!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You'll love this place and remember it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Start with good prices and add excellent service. The attention paid to the meals and the entire experience make this place a must visit. After a couple visits with groups of friends and family I can say most anyone should walk away very satisfied. We all sampled bits from each others plates and everything was above average to say the least. Elvis will make you feel comfortable the moment you walk in and you will want to return whenever you're in Kitchener. Ellison's is billed as Caribbean yet it's more. Put this gem of a place on your list when in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, incredibly nice staff and a genuinely relaxing atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Delicious food, incredibly nice staff and a genuinely relaxing atmosphere.

The restaurant is unassuming and modest but serves really good quality food that is inexpensive and incredibly tasty.

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Loved the music, the friendly staff & best of all the food! The hot pepper soup lived up to it's name & more. The chicken roti was delicious & the curried goat was so tender. Def a hidden gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellison's Bistro also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ellison's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellison's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.