We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Boy Family Restaurant

Country Boy Family Restaurant
5 Manitou Dr, Kitchener, Ontario N2C 2J6, Canada
(519) 893-2120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 440 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Country Boy has been around a long time. It's big and can accommodate many customers at the same time. If you can get past the dark, run down look of the place, you can sometimes find a good meal awaits. They are famous for fast, inexpensive and large breakfast options. About average as far as flavour goes. Their greek found is good and the tzaziki is delicious. With the rest of the menu, it's hit and miss. Very kid friendly though.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    16
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“One of my all-time favourites in KW for breakfast, lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

You know the place in town where everyone knows you!
I love going to Country Boy...not only does Terry know his customers so does his staff.
For a great breakfast, lunch or dinner...always a great meal at Country Boy! Food is always tasty, fast and reasonable. I love it here! Thanks Terry and Country Boy for being in KW!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Country Boy - Please feel free to leave the 90's behind.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My oh my is this place ever outdated!

The set up of the restaurant is strange and I would not be caught there on a weekend where the line is ridiculous.

The food used to be good, but to be honest... I make a better breakfast at home. The "hashbrowns" are undercooked and slimy instead of crispy.

This place needs help but the staff is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had to wait for a bout 15 minutes on the line, but we were a big group ( 15 ) they try to sit us in the same section. Once they have the tablea and we were sit, there were the waitress with 2 jugs of coffe for each table, they give us time to look the manu and once the order war taken, in the next five minutes we had our breakfast all of us at once. food was hot, well prepared, good presentation, and delicius, the steak and eggs dish was done to a perfection, no one of us had a bad comment of hte service,food and prices !!
If you visit Kitchener, Ontario, you must go to this restaurant !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outdated and tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I can see how years ago this place must have been hopping. But it really needs a facelift and the food is not good at all. Even the breakfast that you cannot really screw up is laden with grease and salt to the point where it is tasteless. The staff are fairly friendly but it's the food I can't get my head around. Everyone raved on about going here and to me- big disappointment. I will not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Boy Family Restaurant also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Country Boy Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Boy Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.